Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Video Card does not wake up monitor...

This is a discussion on Video Card does not wake up monitor... within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey All, I have been searching around the nets for an answer with this one. Maybe you guys have stumbled


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2009, 05:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Viabobed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit


Grin

Hey All,

I have been searching around the nets for an answer with this one. Maybe you guys have stumbled over this.

My video card does not wake up my monitor from sleep, standby, or from being shut off. In order to get video again I have to reset the computer. This is something that becomes really annoying when you leave the computer running a task and when you come back there is no video.

I have read a few articles on the matter and I haven't quite found anything in particular that could stop the issue. So far what I have seen is that it may be driver related. I am currently running the latest ATI legacy drivers.

The monitor works correctly when I uninstall all of the ATI drivers. It also worked fine when I downgraded to some old drivers for a while, but then the problem started again.

I have a pretty old system

DELL 2408WFP
XP Home Sp3
P4 2.4Ghz
1024MB DDR Memory
ATI Radeon 9600 128MB


Anything I can do other than restart my system to regain video?

__________________
Viabobed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 09:29 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



Turn off standby, and power saving. Just let it go to screensaver.
I never use sleep mode or standby.

__________________
manic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Viabobed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by manic View Post
Turn off standby, and power saving. Just let it go to screensaver.
I never use sleep mode or standby.
That is actually a good workaround, but I don't like the fact that I can't shut off my monitor. I might have to just stick to some old drivers or something.

Are there third party versions of the ATI's latest drivers?
__________________
Viabobed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:34 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,417
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


You should be able to turn off the monitor without it going into standby. I do that all the time, since my machines are running FAH when not in use. Monitor shuts off, program keeps on crunching. Set monitor power off to whatever time that you want, and standby to never.
__________________
grimx133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:10 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Viabobed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



I can't turn off the monitor, if I do that I will have to restart the computer to get video again. The video card will act as if the computer is in standby and send the monitor into power save mode.

After that happens the only way to get the monitor out of this mode would be by restarting the PC.

What is odd is that it works fine without the ATI drivers...
__________________
Viabobed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 06:28 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,417
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


Must be an ATI thing, works with the windows settings here, but I use nVidia cards.
__________________
grimx133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 08:25 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Viabobed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



Yeah I think it is an ATI thing, at least for the legacy (old) card support.

If I find a fix for it I guess I will update the thread and mark it as solved.

I refuse to let this one slide, lol. Thanks for the insight guys.
__________________
Viabobed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:08 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,417
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


Windows should overide the ccc settings, have you tried here for sure? http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...ips/sleep.mspx
I set the power schemes for "always on"
Turn off monitor for after 20 minutes.
Then the last 3 to "never".
__________________
grimx133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 06:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Viabobed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by grimx133 View Post
Windows should overide the ccc settings, have you tried here for sure? http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...ips/sleep.mspx
I set the power schemes for "always on"
Turn off monitor for after 20 minutes.
Then the last 3 to "never".
That is pretty much how I used to have it, but now the monitor is also set to "Never" as well since I can't let it shut down.

I am going to keep tinkering around to figure this one out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	53872  
__________________
Viabobed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:15 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,417
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


Well, you could try different drivers, could be that older or newer
drivers from ATI could do the trick.

Then there's always the option of trying modded drivers. I always
had decent luck with omega, though it's been a few years since
I've used them. He doesn't update like he used to, but still worth
a shot.
http://www.omegadrivers.net/ati_winxp.php
__________________
grimx133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:34 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Viabobed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



I am going to dry DNA drivers since he has Catalyst 8 with a hotfix for AGP cards. While Omega did it up to 7.3 without the hot fix.

I will let you know if it worked out. I am uninstalling the ATI stuff right now.
__________________
Viabobed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 09:12 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Viabobed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



Well here is an update, I finished removing the latest ATI Legacy drivers and I installed DNA's Catalyst 8.8 and voila!

I can now turn off my monitor when I no longer want to use it. I no longer have to have the fear that if I turn it off I will have to reset the computer to regain video.

Sweet. Lets see how these drivers behave.

Thanks again.
__________________
Viabobed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 09:42 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,417
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


Excellent news! Drivers can be such a pain at times.
__________________
grimx133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 04:21 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
OS: xp, ubuntu



I have similar issues with nvidia with an ion board running on a plasma tv, need the sleep for screen burn in prevention.
It's funny cause I can remote vnc and use the computer while the video card is still asleep, tried doing different things, like changing resolutions and such to wake it up but to no avail.
I have had issues with this on regular monitors too, as I am a big fan of the sleep mode for monitors and hard drives.
__________________
davehaddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 01:25 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
OS: XP Pro SP3 & W7



Hi Viabobed. I have had the very same problem for over a year now or even longer, I can't really remember. I noticed that I have the exactly same monitor - Dell 2408WFPb. I actually used to have until a while ago a GeForce GTS512, but coincidentally it went bad. I had a similar kind of a blinking display problem, for a times the display tried repeatedly go into power saving mode, especially if you had just turned on the monitor or resumed from power saving mode. It came and gone, but I never was unable to resume from power saving entirely. I actually got the display changed for a couple of times because of the random blinking power saving on and off problem. It did not make any difference. At the time I ran XP SP3.

A while ago, after the GeForce busted (maybe somehow related to the display and due to the Dell?) I got a cheap 4000-series Radeon and the problems pretty much remained the same. I'm actually running my backup system now due to my mobo being in warranty service and I'm running Windows 7 with Radeon 9600 Pro. These problems with the display are now much worse and exactly as you described. Whenever, and I mean whenever, I either turn off the monitor of it goes into power save, even for a blink, I can't get the picture back on. Not without turning the PC off or cold resetting. The Windows should be running normally on the backround figuring out from the sounds and functionality I try to do with input devices with the black screen.

As I now seem to have exact same specs as you are - Dell 2408WFP & Radeon 9600 - I'll try changing the drivers from Microsoft WDDM to Catalyst and see what happens!
__________________
Atsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 11:48 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
OS: xp, ubuntu



Working on some solutions now, have some third party apps, for making wake up calls to the pc, using remote vnc, I will post any results on the issue.

__________________
davehaddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts