Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] Video Card Upgrade - Dell Inspiron 530

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Video Card Upgrade - Dell Inspiron 530 within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm planning to upgrade the video card on my Dell Inspiron 530. I don't consider myself a 'gamer' (I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2009, 07:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista SP1



Hi,

I'm planning to upgrade the video card on my Dell Inspiron 530. I don't consider myself a 'gamer' (I only play World of Warcraft and The Sims 2 :P), so I don't think I need to go crazy.

What I need to know...is there a card that will give me good graphics at a relatively affordable price that I won't have to upgrade my PSU over?

Here's my current setup:

Intel Dual Core E5200 processor (2.5GHz)
Windows Vista
4 GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz

I was looking at this card, a Sapphire HD 4670, 512mb:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102792

I don't really do anything else that would draw a whole lot of power....but I want to make sure before I buy and install that I'm not going to burn the system out from not having enough power.

I'm not sure if any other info is needed...so let me know. I think I'm a step up from 'one of those people who know enough about PCs to be dangerous'. I'm at the stage of knowing enough to be dangerous...but also knowing to ask questions before hand. ;)

Thanks for any help you can offer!

__________________
janvier882 is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 09:55 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,492
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


Welcome to tsf.

First a few questions , is the case a normal sized atx case or the slimline version? Also what gpu is currently in the machine?

emosun is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 03:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista SP1



Thanks, and hi :)

It's the mini-tower, atx case - not slimline version. It currently has the integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3100.

Thanks again
__________________
janvier882 is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:33 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,492
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


Since the machine only uses a 300w powersupply I can only recommend low end cards such as the 9400 or 4350. Anything higher in the mid range class will need at least a decent 450w to run properly.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nd&Order=PRICE
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nd&Order=PRICE

Not as good as the 4670 but still an upgrade from onboard graphics.
emosun is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 01:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista SP1



Hmm. Is it highly traumatic to upgrade a power supply or fairly simple? :)
__________________
janvier882 is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 01:52 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista SP1



Wow...I looked up and saw your signature. Thanks :P
__________________
janvier882 is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:53 PM   #7
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,492
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


Installing a power supply seems at first hard but is relatively easy. Post your budget for the gpu and power supply and we will find a suitable match.
emosun is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:31 PM   #8
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


yes, tell us

having a new graphics card will probably feel like having a brand new computer almost
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 03:42 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista SP1



I spend around $150 for both...possibly a little over that.

Thanks!
__________________
janvier882 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 07:25 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,492
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161252
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703015

About 155 but after the rebates it's 25$ less.
emosun is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 10:39 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP2



Hi all,

Sorry for resurrecting an old thread. I am facing a similar issue except with the 'slimline' Inspiron 530s. It is my 11 year old brother's computer that he would like to use for gaming but he is somewhat limited by the small PSU and the current graphics card (ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT (low profile).

The planned use of the computer is gaming but not necessarily high end games so hopefully it will be possible to upgrade without junking and starting again.

Current spec:
Core 2 Duo 3.16 GHz
3 GB RAM
Ati Radeon HD 2400 XT
Windows Vista
250 W (some sources say 120 W) PSU

I used to know a lot about building PCs but have been away from the scene for a good few years and don't know about current technology. From what I have read the limiting factor in this setup is the graphics card, which is in turn limited by the PSU, which is in turn limited by the slim custom case.

Is it possible to achieve a moderate increase in performance by just switching the card or would I need to upgrade the PSU as well? If the latter, are there any other PSUs that will fit? The current one is roughly 7" x 4" x 2.5".

Can anyone offer any advice on the situation? If needs be I would be happy to put the whole computer in a regular midi case but I don't know whether this would work.

Total budget: £200 - £250 / ~$320 - $400

Many thanks in advance for any help,

Ed
__________________
ejls2 is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 11:25 AM   #12
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


Case
Antec 900 Nine Hundred - Gaming Case with 200mm Top Fan
£74
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/118268
(fits micro and regular ATX, so you probably shouldn't need to get a new motherboard)

PSU
Corsair 650W TX Series PSU - 120mm Fan, 80+% Efficiency, Single +12V Rail
£72
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/135514

Grap[hics Card
Sapphire HD4850 1GB GDDR3 HDMI DVI VGA PCI-E Graphics Card
£84
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/161308

You should be able to keep everything else.
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 01:20 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP2



You lovely, lovely person!

Thank you for the information. Now that I think about it, I might have a midi tower knocking around that might fit. I will get the PSU and the graphics card and give it a go and then get the new case if not.

Thanks again,

Ed
__________________
ejls2 is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 02:09 PM   #14
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,887
OS: Win7



The only problem my be the front I/O panel connector for the USB ports if you don't have a case to use you could use the Dell mini tower case which fits a standard PSU and Video card> http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Dell-Inspiro...3%3A1|294%3A50
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 02:15 PM   #15
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


Hopefully you don't need to use that Dell mini case since there is probably only one case and your components would be pretty hot.
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 04:16 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP2



The case I'm thinking of using is actually an old dell so it may have the right I/O connectors. If it doesn't I'm sure I can bodge something. I used to be able to solder the connections for USB and there's only one way to find out if I still can :)

Thanks again all!

Ed
__________________
ejls2 is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 04:57 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista (64-bit)



I think janvier882 and I are in the same boat. I too have a Dell Inpiron 530 with the same specs (ATX chassis).

I am a little more into gaming. It was suggested to me that I would get better framerates in World of Warcraft by upgrading my video card (I'm using the onboard one). I would like to try some of the newer games too.

I am willing to upgrade my PSU to 400W (or 500W, if I really need to).

What should I be looking at in terms of a decently priced graphics card?

EDIT: Ouch! I necro'd this thread (didn't register July 2009 as a year ago). Sorry!
__________________
jdurand1970 is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 05:04 PM   #18
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,887
OS: Win7



We recommend at least 550w for any PCIe card, especially in a cramped case the lower the heat the better.

As long as you have the 530 and not the 530s, your budget is the limiting factor what did you have in mind?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 05:13 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Vista (64-bit)



Definitely the 530.

For the card, I'd like to keep the cost from getting much higher than $120 or so (I'm somewhat flexible).

I'm not an uber gamer, but would like greater gaming potential than what I have now.
__________________
jdurand1970 is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 05:27 PM   #20
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,887
OS: Win7



I have one of these, it works well on a 20w screen size, as long as your not looking to output games to a 30" or larger screen it'll do what you need> http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102820

These are 2 of the best and quietest power supplies out there> http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007657%20600014021&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&CompareItemList=58|17-151-094^17-151-094-TS%2C17-139-004^17-139-004-S01

Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts