Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] Monitor displays intermittently

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Monitor displays intermittently within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For the last 4 days, I have been having an issue where my monitor will not power up properly. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2010, 12:35 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



For the last 4 days, I have been having an issue where my monitor will not power up properly. I have a dual monitor setup. 2xSamsung 225BW 22" monitors ran by an eVGA 8800GTS 512 video card. Windows XP SP3 fully updated.

Last night, I went to bed and I turned off both monitors as I always do. This morning, I get up and turn them on, the main monitor powers up for a split second where I can see my desktop and icons and then I lose picture. The power button is still lit blue indicating the monitor is still powered up, just no picture.

Sometimes powering down and up the monitor works, sometimes I have to do that up to 5 times before it works. My second monitor works fine. Once I get the monitor on, it works fine. I can go all day and have no issues with it. Its just when its been off for an extended amount of time.

I have tried setting "Turn monitor off" to never under power options in the control panel. That did not help.

I'm guessing its a defective monitor but I wanted to get a different viewpoint. Any help would be great.

__________________
DocShady is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 03:57 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,263
OS: XP Pro-7



Try using the suspect monitor by itself.
PC Specs?
Pre-Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built-Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 09-12-2010, 04:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



Custom built machine.

Intel Core 2 Duo - e6400 2.13ghz (OC'd to 3ghz)
EVGA 8800GTS 512
EVGA 680i SLI motherboard
2gb of OCZ Titanium ram
2x WD black 1TB HDD's
1x WD Cavier 500gb HDD
OCZ GameXstream 700w PS
Antec 900 Mid-tower case

I will test the main monitor by itself and get back to you.
__________________
DocShady is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:36 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7


A bit of an update.

I got up this morning and as usual, the monitor came on for a split second and then went off again. I had to power it off and on about 10 times to get it to stay on. Its working fine now and will so for the rest of the day. Its only after it has been off for some time that this happens.

Anyway, as mentioned before, I use 2 monitors (both the same make and model). The second monitor had winamp running on it so I dragged it into the first monitor and I could see a very faint outline of winamp moving on the main monitor as I was doing this.

I hope this will help. I will try the main monitor by itself ASAP and get back to you. Thanks.

I tried the main monitor by itself but had the same issue.

Shameless bump. Still can't figure this one out. :(
__________________
DocShady is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 05:25 AM   #5
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


If you have tried the monitor alone and still having an issue it seems that there is

a problem with the monitor. Try it on another PC to see if issue persists.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 11:34 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



I know I'm digging this one up from the grave but I found a solution and fix to this problem. I was posting here about another problem when I remembered this post. Don't mean to necro the post, just wanted to share my solution...

http://www.ccl-la.com/blog/index.php/samsung-214t-repair/

Basically my issue relates to ruptured capacitors inside the monitor. The above link details the issue and has pictures to show you exactly which capacitors you need to replace. You can buy them through that website but it would likely be much cheaper to get them at a local vendor.

I can confirm that I replaced the 5 capacitors in question and my monitor is back and working in tip-top shape.

Hope this helps someone :)
__________________
DocShady is offline  
Old 12-07-2010, 04:44 AM   #7
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Thank for posting your fix.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts