Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] Monitor Display too bright

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Monitor Display too bright within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just had the motherboard replaced on a Dell Dimension 4600, and I also replaced the power supply. Now the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2008, 08:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22
OS: Windows XP


EEK!

I just had the motherboard replaced on a Dell Dimension 4600, and I also replaced the power supply. Now the color on my monitor seems different, too bright for me. As far as I can tell there are no brightness adjustment settings on my monitor, I'm just wondering if it may be something with the video card or drivers. (Nvidia RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro)

Thanks!

__________________
Mitchellcmb is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 09:07 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,131
OS: Vista SP1

My System


I haven't run NVIDIA drivers that old in a long time, but NVIDIA drivers have included a brightness setting for the monitor for a long time. You can make adjustments with them if the monitor doesn't have any controls. Just go to the NVIDIA control panel for your video card and dig around in there. There should be monitor brightness and color controls.

__________________
UncleMacro is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 09:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22
OS: Windows XP



Thanks for the info...where do I find the NVIDIA control panel? I can't seem to locate it.
__________________
Mitchellcmb is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 09:25 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,131
OS: Vista SP1

My System


It depends on how old your drivers are. I'm running Vista at the moment so I'll have to do this from memory, but... If they're old ones (they probably are) then right click on an empty area of the Windows desktop and then click "properties". Then select the "Settings" tab. Then click the "Advanced" button. An NVIDIA tab should show up at that point. Once you click it, you have to sift through the options.

If you have newer drivers (I'd doubt it) then you can look in the Control Panel for an NVIDIA icon.

It seems to me that you also used to be able to fire up older NVIDIA control panels by clicking the Windows "Start" and looking through the "All programs" list.
__________________
UncleMacro is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:01 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22
OS: Windows XP



Thanks for the quick response. I still cannot seem to find a brightness setting anywhere. It's not that bad I guess, I would just like it to be a little darker.
__________________
Mitchellcmb is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:09 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



click on the menu button on the monitor and a box should come up with the ajustments available to you
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:13 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,131
OS: Vista SP1

My System


You could try installing these NVIDIA drivers for your card. They're circa 2005 which are the latest for your video card. If your video card is capable of adjusting the monitor brightness then those drivers should be able to do it. If you're already running drivers from NVIDIA then uninstall them first, and then install these new drivers. If you're new to the whole drivers thing there are detailed instructions on how to uninstall and install video drivers here and here.
__________________
UncleMacro is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 11:46 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22
OS: Windows XP



Thanks, guys. I finally figured it out.
__________________
Mitchellcmb is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 10:16 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
OS: XP



hey dude how did u solve d problem?

__________________
explosivenes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts