Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] GTX 550 ti Driver fails on installation

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] GTX 550 ti Driver fails on installation within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to upgrade an outdated GeForce 8400 GS card to a card that came today, GeForce GTX 550ti


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2012, 06:37 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64bit



I am trying to upgrade an outdated GeForce 8400 GS card to a card that came today, GeForce GTX 550ti 1gb version. Have removed all old previous drivers. Computer boots up, but installer fails, have tried using the CD drivers that came with it, the latest ones (301.42-desktop-win7-winvista-64bit-international-whql) and have also tried the GEFORCE R295 DRIVER 296.10 drivers.


1) CPU: Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40 GHZ, 4GB Ram, Windows 7 64bit OS,
2) Please indicated the previous driver version you were using: The previous card in the PC was a GeForce 8400 GS with latest drivers (now uninstalled)
3) How was the driver installed?
-Express Installation
4) Is Microsoft UAC enabled/disabled? Enabled
5) Have you used any registry cleaner/optimizer/security tool since the last successful NVIDIA driver installation? No
6) Are you using any anti-virus program? If so, which one? avast
7) Which driver version were you updating from? Fresh installation.
8) If you can, please follow the instructions below to provide us with your installation logs:

I have attached a zip file with all logs inside, hope this is the appropriate method.

Attached Files
File Type: zip Logs.zip (546.1 KB, 17 views)

__________________
SamMcKayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 07:05 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,048
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Are you logged in as an administrator? Have you tried to right-click the installer and choose Run As Administrator?

__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 07:09 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64bit



Yes i'm the Administrator user, and have also tried running as Administrator.. no difference.
__________________
SamMcKayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 07:16 AM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Perform the following steps:
-Download the Driver Sweeper installer from here and install it. Don't run the program yet
- First, Uninstall the NVIDIA driver/software from Control Panel > Uninstall a program and restart
-Now run Driver Sweeper,only select NVIDIA- Display and then select Clean
-After complete restart the PC then install the latest driver suite from NVIDIA.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 09:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64bit



I already tried that makinu1der2 mate but it didn't solve the problem unfortunately. But i've just found a workaround that fixed the issue for me, I will post it below for any other users that encounter this annoying problem!

1. Download the 285.62 drivers, from here.

2. Once the file has finished downloading, run the file and unpack to C:\Nvidia or wherever desired.

3. Open Device Manager, right click your graphics card and choose "Update Driver Software".

4. Select option "Browse my computer for driver software".

5. Browse to the destination where you unpacked the 285.62 drivers, make sure the checkbox "Include subfolders" is ticked.

6. SUCCESS! Hopefully the drivers will of installed and you are now required to restart your computer.


Enjoy
__________________
SamMcKayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 09:30 AM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Glad you got it sorted and Thanks for posting your fix.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield 3: Can't move
Hi, In bf3 i can't move since a while, or can move with disabilities. The problem is, i walk for a while, sometimes 1 meter and sometimes 100, but then i'm pushed back a few meters to where i came from. This is very annoying and keeps my rank low. Can anybody solve this?
daaf97 PC Gaming Support 14 07-18-2012 11:58 AM
Overclocking i5 750 issues
So for about 2 weeks now I've been wanting to overclock my i5 750, but I keep having issues, when I follow overclocking guides I get a computer that will turn off and turn on, then turn off, then turn back on, and it repeats that, it never gets to the flash screen though. I've tried using Dummy OC...
Gotmilkman Overclocking 5 01-08-2012 02:39 AM
windows 7 freezes during startup
i have been having issues since friday my computer seems to freeze on startup. it gets to the welcome screen and freezes. someone recommended doing a boot log but i don't know how to know what it means. the whole thing is to long but here is the last part someone please help Loaded...
mucwen Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 12-11-2011 08:32 PM
Windows 7 freezes at startup (HiJack This Log)
Out of the blue my Windows 7 x64 laptop started having problems. Every time I boot it will get to the desktop and LOOK fine, but if I try to open anything it is completely unresponsive. Eventually it will notify me that Windows is not responding and offer to restart or wait. If I restart the...
slhaas Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 08-01-2011 12:29 PM
[SOLVED] Yet Another Antivira Av Virus :(
so I've gotten this virus Antivira Av that will pop up and say that I'm under attack... obviously fake. right now I'm in safe mode as i can't open anything other than the internet without Antivira closing it out. I couldn't find a save button for the Gmer log, so if necessary i can run it again...
chuckles3 Resolved HJT Threads 22 03-05-2011 10:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts