Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] Graphics card replacement advice?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Graphics card replacement advice? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2011, 07:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3


Question

Hey Guys,

I'm looking for a graphics card in order to replace my Geforce 8600 GTS. I've got a budget up to £50 and wondered if anyone could give me any good recommendations. So far this has tempted me: Sapphire 11166-02-20R HD 5450 1GB DDR3 PCIE HDMI Graphics Card: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

Thanks in advance.

__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 07:42 AM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



What are the system specs you wish to install it in?
Brand and model if prebuilt/
Brands and models of the Motherboard, CPU, Power Supply if custom built?

Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 07:44 AM   #3
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



Actually for gaming the 8600GTS is the better card
GeForce 8600 GT 512MB DDR2 vs Radeon HD 5450 – Performance Comparison Benchmarks @ Hardware Compare
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 08:56 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,772
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Wrench is right, the 5450 would be a step down.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:47 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



Oh sorry, its an acer aspire m3640. Other than that, i know not much about it besides I installed an extra 2gb of ram last week. I have no clue what's compatable or not, so help with that would be great.

Thanks.
__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:54 AM   #6
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



What Power supply are you currently running, the OEM PSU for that model is a 250w and would not have the needed 6 pin pcie connector for the 8600GTS ?
Remove the side cover and get the brand/model off the label.
Acer Support: Aspire M3640 Series Specifications
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:19 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



Its definately an m3640, its has a 250W power supply and it apparently has an nvidia geforce 8600gts installed. I could take the graphics card out and have a look, but on the case, it says it has a 8600gts installed.
__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:43 AM   #8
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



They probably used adapters, not a good way to power it.

You can figure on adding a power supply to your budget, the 8600GTS when new was about a $75 card any upgrade will be above that price point now.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:46 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



Well, i pulled the card out and apparently its an nvidia 8600GS, I don't know if the lack of the "T" makes any difference?
__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:53 AM   #10
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



Yes the GS is the low power version of the GTS, doesn't require additional power connection, nor is it as powerful a card.
However it's still better for gaming then the 5450, the HD5450 is better for HD video however.

With the Nvidia chipset motherboard I would highly recommend staying with a Nvidia Video card to avoid driver conflicts.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



I guess i'll just buy another 8600 Gs then, thanks for the help.

-Edit- Thought i'd ask whilst i'm still here, whats the next up from the 8600? I bought this Pc about 3 years ago and it was only £400 then, so the card shouldn't be too much I imagine.
__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:01 AM   #12
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



The GT440 or GTS450 would be a step up, but you'll need at least a 550w PSU to power them correctly.
Scan.co.uk: EVGA GT440 NVIDIA Graphics Card - 1GB - 01G-P3-1441-KR
Scan.co.uk: Gainward 512MB GeForce GTS 450 GDDR5 NVIDIA Graphics Card - 426018336-1503
Scan.co.uk: XFX PRO550W P1-550S-XXB9 Power Supply (PSU) Core Edition
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:03 AM   #13
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



Quote:
Originally Posted by 112joesam View Post
I guess i'll just buy another 8600 Gs then, thanks for the help.

-Edit- Thought i'd ask whilst i'm still here, whats the next up from the 8600? I bought this Pc about 3 years ago and it was only £400 then, so the card shouldn't be too much I imagine.
They don't make them any longer, the 9600GT is also out of production.
Did your video card fail?
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:08 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



Yes. I'm currently running it from the inbuilt motherboard graphics card. But the main reason I need a replacement is that, I guess, running it from the motherboard is draining the ram (?) because for some reason my pc is running at 1650mb of ram, as opposed to the 4000. Should i go to play Fallout, for example, on it, its runs exceptionally slow, even on the lowest setting. I presume this is because of the aforementioned, running it from the motherboard, although i could be wrong?
__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:19 AM   #15
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



Probably because of graphics more so then the ram. any ram reserved for the graphics system will be released if the system needs it and the graphics does not.

If I had to bet the video card failed from being underpowered for the last couple of years, the PCIe spec calls for a minimum of 24 amps on the 12v which is really a minimum for a entry level card like a 8400gt.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:29 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



What should i do then?
__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:58 AM   #17
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



The GT430 is probably the cheapest card to use without losing performance, but the PSU upgrade would still be needed, overworking a OEM supply often ends with more then just a failed supply.
Scan.co.uk: EVGA 1GB GeForce GT 430 DDR3 NVIDIA Graphics Card - 01G-P3-1430-EL

Best advice I can give you is to save up until you can get a quality supply and the 440 or 450 card.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 01:08 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



Sorry to keep bothering you, but i'm a complete noob when it comes to this, and i'll keep putting this off otherwise, but i've been recommended this: Palit nVidia GeForce 9500GT 1GB Garphics Card (PCI-Express): Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories Is it compatable?

-Edit- Kind of worrying that this is a garphics card. -
__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 02:13 PM   #19
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,361
OS: Win7



It's about the same price as the GT430, close to the same power consumption but not as powerful, it is about the same performance wise as the 8500GT.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 03:07 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
OS: Windows Vista Sp2, Windows 7, Windows Xp sp3



Is the new power supply completely neccessary, i'm trying to save cash to buy a new laptop? Would the gt430 work without the new power supply?

- If yes, is this the correct card, ( ASUS 1GB GeForce GT 430 PCI-E 2.0 with Low Profile Bracket: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories ) It seems searching for a GT 430 to purchase isn't as easy as one would think... -

__________________
112joesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New graphics card causes random freezing?
Here is the problem i have been having. Earlier this week, i installed a new graphics card in my computer (EVGA nvidia gtx 470 superclocked edition). Before i installed it i removed my old display drivers, shutdown my pc, installed the card, turned on pc, then installed the latest drivers for my...
bkellogg Video Card Support 2 02-12-2011 12:59 AM
Graphics card resolution not suitable for monitor?
Hi I have a Fujitsu Scaleo P (2312 Pa) that started showing just stripes (multicoloured stripes of snow) on the screen. I borrowed a graphics card from a friend to see if it was the PC that died or the graphics card. Seems to have been the card, but now I have problems with the resolution...
Minerwa Video Card Support 3 02-03-2011 02:48 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts