Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] GPU clocks stuck in "High Performance" mode. Won't go in idle mode

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] GPU clocks stuck in "High Performance" mode. Won't go in idle mode within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok so I have read multiple threads about this kind of issue but none of them apply directly to me


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2012, 07:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Ok so I have read multiple threads about this kind of issue but none of them apply directly to me or they just use a work around.

My question is.. why does this happen? How do I fix it?

I have an MSI GX740 Laptop. ATi Mobility Radeon HD5870.

My GPU clocks are stuck at the stock 700 MHz core and 1000 MHz memory even when I am not gaming. The clocks are supposed to go down at about 100 MHz Core, 150 Mhz memory when idle/no graphically intensive tasks. At least that's what it used to do and I liked it.

Things that I already tried:
Flashed new vBIOS from MSI
Have latest AMD Catalyst Display Driver

Work-around:
I can use MSI afterburner to increase the clocks to 701/1001 Mhz. Then the GPU goes to idle clocks when I'm not playing games, works fine. Except that in my dual monitor setup, my desktop will flicker when moving application windows. But that's a different problem I guess.

But again, I want to know how to fix it instead of relying on a workaround.

Click image for larger version

Name:	a1omtl.png
Views:	29
Size:	84.9 KB
ID:	106923

__________________
NeoForever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:20 AM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,358
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Has it ever worked? Try using video drivers from the laptop manufacturer and test.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:47 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



All updates for OEM units need to be obtained from the manufacturer.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 01:01 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Lol I thought this post was lost forever.

Yes it was working before but I don't know when it stopped working properly.

MSI themselves want me to update video driver from AMD site.

Thanks for replying.
__________________
NeoForever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:41 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Vista


Thumbs Up

It seems that I fixed it now.

When I tried to install AMD catalyst CCC display driver 12.4 it would still show me 12.3.

So I uninstalled all AMD drivers and installed 12.4 which in turn also made my clocks behave normal now.

Thanks for trying to help tho.
__________________
NeoForever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 02:44 PM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



You're welcome. In the future, get ALL updates from the manufacturer's site.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] GPU making noise and comp not booting
Hi all. My computer has been going fine for...well since i built it a year ago. Its only until tonight that my i woke my computer up to a blue screen, i tried to let it reboot but its not starting up. When it tries to start up, my graphics card whirls around a little and goes back to normal then...
hellbro Video Card Support 5 03-24-2012 07:40 PM
BSOD error: Need Help! Windows 7 Won't boot normally
· OS - Windows 7 Service Pack 1 · x64 · What was original installed OS on system? None · OEM · Age of system (hardware): about 1 year and 4 - 5 months · Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? No. · CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus · Video Card: Sapphire HD6850 ·...
wqess BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-22-2012 01:53 PM
LW-U35S 3.5" Sata HDD Can't Load on W7
Hi. My computer doesn't seem to recognise or read my external HDD. Below are details: Computer: Dell, latitude E5420, Ram 3gb, intel (R) core (TM)i3-2310m cpu@2.1ghz 2.1ghz, windows 7 HDD: 3.5" Sata External Hard Drive Case USB 2.0 Model LW-U35S Can someone help?
Onri Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 03-21-2012 03:19 PM
gpu for laptop
hello guys..this is the third time i posted here...:smile:my question is,i have a DELL inspiron N5110 with i3 cpu and 3gb of ram..from what i experienced when i use this laptop for gaming,i found that the picture is not good and its lag very bad when i play the games like need for speed shift...
rookie junes PC Gaming Support 13 03-21-2012 02:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts