Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] GeForce FX5200 DVI Not responding

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] GeForce FX5200 DVI Not responding within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I installed a GEforce FX5200 video card with 128mb. It only allows me to use the analog interface. I can


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2007, 11:03 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP



I installed a GEforce FX5200 video card with 128mb. It only allows me to use the analog interface. I can not get the DVI interface to work.

Video Card has: DVI-I (dual DVI -I and Analog w/TV)
Monitor has : DVI-D and analog

Cable has: Single link DVI-D

All research I have done shows that this set up should work.

I have tried to switch the monitor to Digatal mode but that still can't get the card to connect on digital mode.

Do I need a Dual Link DVI-D cable for this setup to work?
or should I just keep using the analog interface?

Please help!!!

__________________
jocarreon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 11:29 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,131
OS: Vista SP1

My System


A single link DVI-D cable will work. You only need to use a dual link DVI cable for high screen resolutions and refresh rates. And if your video card and monitor are both set up for dual link but you use a single link cable, it will still work. You're just limited to single link screen resolutions and frequencies. If you really want to chase down the problem then this page has a list of things to try. I'd just run in analog mode. It's hard to tell the difference between analog and digital with most monitors. On top of that, almost all FX5200 cards use the internal DVI transmitter which is not a good one. They often have problems at higher DVI resolutions and refresh rates anyway. Side-by-side comparisons between analog and digital usually look the same anyway.

__________________
UncleMacro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 11:39 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Thank you,

I had already look at the site you suggested,,,The PlayTool site is very informative and it realy gave me a very detail view of this type of interface.

As much time as I have spend trying to get this thing to work ,,,I will stay with the analog connection. The card was free so at least I can get a higher resolution than I was geting with the standard VGA connection.

Again thanks...
__________________
jocarreon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 07:40 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

not sure really how DVI works, but might you have to enable it somewhere in the nvidia control panel possibly?
__________________
magnethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A very general booting problem
Hi guys, My problem is simple so I don't know where to post this general problem. I just accidently pushed the power button thinking my computer was off, but it was on! So I shout "D'oh!" and my computer shuts down (Not instantly, but logs off and shuts down). I power it back on and for some...
Mana Dragon Windows XP Support 30 06-01-2007 05:07 PM
Anyone with a 8800 and Vista plz answer this thread
Hi, im going to buy a 8800GT 640mb PCI-E i want to know with the latest forceware drivers is there an option in the Nvidia control panel to access "Advanced Timings" or "Custom Resolutions".. I require a resolution of 1280x720p. Ive tried PowerStrip on my 7900GT and it works with the desktop but i...
Aus_Karlos Video Card Support 17 05-16-2007 10:48 AM
VISTA drivers all
Greetings with a great respect to you all, I've found a site supporting vista drivers to plenty of hardwares and it may be of help, I hope you try it these hardware Such as: Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC Atheros AR5005G Wireless Network Adapter Atheros AR5005GS Wireless...
Abdurrahman Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 05-03-2007 07:52 AM
Geforce 6800XT + Dual DVI = BSOD
First System Specs: Intel E6400 2.13ghz at stock Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 motherboard Patriot PC6400 DDR2 1 gig x2 RAM 74 gig Raptor, 50 gig of free space XFX Geforce 6800XT Video card with Dual DVI ports Dual Monitors: Dell 2407WFP and Samsung 213T (Both have Dual VGA and DVI ports) My video...
manbush Video Card Support 7 09-22-2006 01:38 PM
Prolink GeForce 4 FX5200 fan problem
I recently bought a Prolink GeForce 4 FX5200 128 MB DDR Video card and it worked fine for a good 2 weeks. Then after 2 weeks, for some strange reason, there would be this buzzing/whizzing noise coming out of the computer, so i began to investigate. I was sure it sounded like a fan that was...
vipermaniac Video Card Support 2 09-10-2003 05:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts