Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] GeForce FX 5500 [NV34.6]

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] GeForce FX 5500 [NV34.6] within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Am having a problem installing the drivers for my GeForce FX 5500 [NV34.6], I've downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2008, 10:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Win Xp Sp3



Am having a problem installing the drivers for my GeForce FX 5500 [NV34.6], I've downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia, I've made sure my onboard video is disabled, is set to agp, and that other option in bios is enabled..

I install, it says cannot install because it cannot start (code 10)... ***..

Mainboard : Unspecified VT8367-8235
Chipset : VIA KT266/333
Processor : AMD Athlon XP @ 1916 MHz
Physical Memory : 1024MB (2 x 512 DDR-SDRAM )
Video Card : Nvidia Corp GeForce FX 5500 [NV34.6]
Hard Disk : Maxtor (61 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : SONY DVD RW DRU-810A
Network Card : Realtek Semiconductor RT8139 (A/B/C/810x/813x/C+) Fast Ethernet Adapter
Network Card : VT82C570 MV IDE Controller VT6102 Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
DirectX : Version 9.0c (December 2008)

__________________
chris99873 is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 12:22 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,461
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


Welcome to tsf.

This usually happens to me when theres to many cards in the pc or they are arranged improperly. I see you have two network cards? Try removeing them and seeing if the videocard will at least respond and get the drivers installed.

emosun is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 11:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Win Xp Sp3



Yeah, one is built in, the other is add-in.. the built in is of course disabled. Ill try removing the addin ethernet card, however its not showing a conflict between that card and the AGP nvidia video card. thanks.

Also, is it just me but are alot of people having issues with Nvidia cards working correctly? Mine is a Pny Verto nvidia geforce fx 5500 <blah> and Pny's driver for it is linked to download from nvidia's website, so getting a driver directly from the manufacturer is blah.

I have been messing around with getting this video card to work for 4 days now, and I am about to swear off all nvidia products because of this....

chris
__________________
chris99873 is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 11:24 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



in the device manager uninstall the video card
reboot tapping f8 and choose vga mode
when windows finishes rebooting
disable a/virus
install your drivers
reboot the computer
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 07:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Win Xp Sp3



The problem was the new driver itself. Nvidia sent me a email with a link to a driver from 2006, and that worked perfectly.

Thanks for the suggestions:)

Chrs
__________________
chris99873 is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 02:24 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



glad you have it sorted

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts