Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] Blue/red dots on screen, including in BIOS/POST

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Blue/red dots on screen, including in BIOS/POST within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey there, First of all, thanks for a great resource. I found this forum during a few Google searches, and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2011, 07:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
troydecoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Pro, build 7600


Evil

Hey there,

First of all, thanks for a great resource. I found this forum during a few Google searches, and decided to sign up because it would appear you actually get worthwhile assistance here (thumbs up). Especially koala seems to be very active! I digress...

Inspired by these threads:
Red/Blue dots and video turns off and on
Red dots appear on screen (my problem appears to relate a lot to this)

Problem:
I was watching a video clip, and all of a sudden both screens stood still and a red dots appeared. Both the mouse and keyboard became unresponsive. I shut down the PC manually and when it rebooted I could easily see dots in BIOS/POST. I proceeded to boot in safe mode, and while it did boot into Windows (Windows 7 Pro, 32 bit), the dots and lines were still there.

I let the computer cool off for half an hour and restartet it again. Now it seemed fine, but as you can see from the screenshots below, there definitely is something wrong. Also, check out the temperature the GPU is running.

Screenshot of the dots in BIOS:


So my computer is a couple of years old. I built it myself, and the specs are as follows:

Quote:
ASUS P5B Deluxe AI Lifestyle Series
OCZ Enhanced Latency 2 x 1 GB
Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66 GHz
Sea Sonic S12-600 (600W) (PSU)
ASUS EN7950GX2/2PH
I use 2 dell LCD monitors, and the error (blue and red dots) appear on both screens, so I can rule out the monitors as having the issue.

In the before mentioned threads, the suggestion was to run the GPU-Z app, and so I did. Here are the results:






I realize the GPU temp. is extremely high. This test was done running absolute nothing (basically just looking at the desktop and running GPU-Z).

I figure this has either something to do with my graphics card or the PSU. I would like to get some input on what o try, as I don't want to switch the GFX card if it's the PSU that's the problem.

Thanks in advance, and let me know if you need additional information.

__________________
troydecoy is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:01 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



How old is the GPU? Do you have another GPU to try?

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:29 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
troydecoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Pro, build 7600



It's a little over 4 years old.

Unfortunately I don't have another I can try.
__________________
troydecoy is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 11:08 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
troydecoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Pro, build 7600



Alright, so I just went out and bought a new GFX card. Judging from comments on other sites/forums, the GFX card would appear to be the culprit.

I've just ran the GPU-Z app on the new card (ASUS 460GTX DirectCU) and now idle temperature is sitting at 35-36 degrees celcius.

I will report back in a couple of days with an update.
__________________
troydecoy is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 11:53 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 8


Evil

Heys. I have exactly the same issue and i've just ordered new videocard, but just in case - what was the culprit in your case? Replacing the videocard actually helped? Don't want to shell out 350 bucks for nothing><

Btw - restrictions on personal messages are beyond inconvenient -_-
__________________
Veridian is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:55 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,575
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


The 7950gx2 was actually released mid 2006. It's a dual gpu card but with it's outdated design it's not a very good one. I'm surprised it lasted you this long.
emosun is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 05:26 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Glad to hear you resolved the issue. Best of luck.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 08:52 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



Btw - restrictions on personal messages are beyond inconvenient -_-

blame the trolls

any help has to be in a thread
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 02-27-2011, 05:14 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
troydecoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Pro, build 7600



Sorry for not updating the thread sooner.

Yes, the issue appeared to be with the video card. After the replacement there have been no issues at all. Also, according to GPU-Z the temperatures have been completely normal since.
__________________
troydecoy is offline  
Old 02-28-2011, 07:52 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 8



I've also replaced video card and it seems to be working. No more freezes and dots. Thx.
__________________
Veridian is offline  
Old 02-28-2011, 08:48 AM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



glad you have it sorted

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My screen is dim. Do I replace the inverter or the screen itself?
Hello, The LCD screen on my Toshiba Satellite laptop no longer functions as it should. I've had it for over 4 years now, so I figured something just got too old and is now ready for replacing. My question is which should I replace: the inverter or the screen (w/ backlight)? Symptoms: -...
Midori Laptop Support 8 01-15-2011 09:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts