Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] ATI Radeon HD5670 1 GB DDR3 Graphics Card

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] ATI Radeon HD5670 1 GB DDR3 Graphics Card within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My motherboard is gigabyte 945GCM-S2L and i am planning to buy ATI radeon HD5670 1gb ddr3 , heres the link


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2012, 03:36 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
OS: xp



My motherboard is gigabyte 945GCM-S2L and i am planning to buy ATI radeon HD5670 1gb ddr3 , heres the link of the site from which i am buying this card

Flipkart: PowerColor AMD/ATI Radeon HD5670 1 GB DDR3 Graphics Card: Graphics Card

will my motherboard support this card ?? whats this ddr3 ddr5 on graphic cards..And my mobo has PCI express x16 and the graphic card supports 2.1. whats the deal help me out

thnx for support

__________________
fishyyy is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:39 AM   #2
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,319
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyyy View Post
will my motherboard support this card ? yes

whats this Gddr3 Gddr5 on graphic cards? The type of memory used on the card. Higher the number, faster the memory. Do not confuse this with system memory.

And my mobo has PCI express x16 and the graphic card supports 2.1. whats the deal help me out
Nearly all graphics cards today, use the PCI express x16 format. The 'x16' is the number of PCI lanes used (more lanes means higher bandwidth).
The 1.0/2.0/2.1 etc. is the version of the PCIe specification the card/slot is built to; higher numbers represent more recent spec. Newer spec'd cards and slots are backward compatible with older specs.

All that said, your motherboard will accept and run your new card.

PS: Re graphics memory. The type of memory used on your motherboard has no effect on what type of memory may be used on your graphics card. The two are completely separate.

__________________
gcavan is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
OS: xp



Thank you gcavan
__________________
fishyyy is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 06:40 AM   #4
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,319
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Quote:
From PM
So i can use any graphic card with my mother board ? and the only thing i should do is have the correct power supply ?
Theoretically, yes. However, your processor and memory would probably bottleneck higher end cards.

PS: Another factor to watch for, is the space available within your system case. Multi-slot and long cards may not physically fit without modification to the interior structure of the case. This should not be an issue with the HD 5670
__________________
gcavan is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ralink Wireless LAN Card not exist?
Hallo, After three years of happy use with Windows Vista, things are starting to break down. Most recently, the computer is unable to access an external antenna. When I hover over the icon which usually starts it, I am told "Ralink Wireless LAN Card not exist." As someone who uses the...
Heartwould2 Cabling and Network Cards 32 03-18-2012 12:20 PM
Driver Error or Possible Video Card Failure?
First of all, thanks to anyone in advance for all your help. Im pretty sure that my video card is fried, but I just wanted to check with you guys before making the decision to buy a new one. I started having problems a few weeks ago. Noticed when I started up my computer some days the icons on...
theafterglow Driver Support 22 03-16-2012 02:09 PM
Think one of my card went out...?
So before I go to bed I usually through my PC in sleep rather than shut it off, never had a problem before. Last night I put it in sleep and this morning I tried to turn it back on and nothing would show up, my monitor would not come back on, so I tried the other slot on the bottom card, nothing. ...
DYNOSAURUSh Video Card Support 2 03-16-2012 07:33 AM
GRAPHICS CARD PROBLEM !! WEIRD !!!
Hello,my name is Henry and today I just finished putting together a new computer. Here is the problem. AFter installing Windows 7 ultimate and all the drivers necesssary to run the video card I decided to test the performance of the new sweet baby with a high demanding game ' Battle field bad...
hheennrryy12 Video Card Support 2 03-16-2012 07:27 AM
is my computer compatible with radeon 6450
hello, i have a dell inspirion 560 and im trying to buy a graphics card, radeon 6450 or maybe something better that would upgrade my gaming experience (please recommend some). And im wondering whether my computer is compatible with the graphics card or not. AND PLS NAME ANY OTHER GRAPHICS CARD...
5509t PC Gaming Support 7 03-16-2012 03:04 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts