Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

[SOLVED] AMD AVT

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] AMD AVT within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, I was wondering if disabling amd avt from my startup list is a good idea or not? I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2012, 04:06 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
vagrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon,UK
Posts: 47
OS: Win 7



Hi there, I was wondering if disabling amd avt from my startup list is a good idea or not?

I believe its to do with my graphics card, er actually I know its me graphics card.
I just wondered if it was ok to disable it.


__________________
vagrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Any particular reason for wanting to disable? Are you getting an error message at start-up?

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:24 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,403
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


It's a matter pf personal opinion on that one, I always uncheck anything to do with video or audio in startup. I never seen it affect anything running on any systems I have built.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:46 AM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


I unchecked it on mine since updating to the latest driver because of a start-up error I was receiving "kbdsync.exe has stopped working"

It doesn't seem to have any adverse affect though.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
vagrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon,UK
Posts: 47
OS: Win 7



Thanks for the responses guys.
I dont have a n error, but my startup seems longer, computer seems to hang for longer on the welcome bit.
And you can hear the HDD working.
Also I get a doc screen (think thats what you call it) small window black background, titled advanced micro devises and it does....er....stuff
There is no errors and pc works fine but, not keen on this window opening up.
All happened since latest update.
__________________
vagrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 12:01 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
vagrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon,UK
Posts: 47
OS: Win 7



If its ok to disable then that's cool. That is the only thing other thing I allow to start
__________________
vagrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 12:15 PM   #7
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Yeah it should be fine to disable it.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:14 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 22
OS: windows 7



i just updated to catalyst 12.3 :( and i get all of these amd startups include a black cmd box. Youtube on firefox seems to be lagging too after the update. is it better to disable the amd startups or downgrade to a previous catalyst?
__________________
Sogeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 12:38 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
vagrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon,UK
Posts: 47
OS: Win 7



I noticed that box anorl, I have disabled it and seems to work fine. Even plays bf3 fine.
__________________
vagrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:21 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7



I think I accidently delete the files associated with this. How would I go about disabling it or repairing it?

__________________
JABxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts