Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Problems with Saphhire Radeon HD 7700 HD

This is a discussion on Problems with Saphhire Radeon HD 7700 HD within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I recently purchased a new Graphics card, and it seems to be working fine, my games run a lot


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2013, 06:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



So I recently purchased a new Graphics card, and it seems to be working fine, my games run a lot better and everything... However, before when I was running wit the on board, I used to be able to stream videos on youtube etc. and have a game open at the same time and I never had a problem... Now when I do it causes the driver to crash.

My video will freeze and then return after about 15 seconds, whichever video I had up will be a green block and there will be a message in the bottom right of my screen saying something like "AMD had stopped working and recovered". Anybody know how to fix this?

__________________
Raimu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:42 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



PC Specs?
Pre- Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built- Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:45 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Rits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chennai-India
Posts: 696
OS: win xp sp-3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Rits

Did you changed the RAM for your PC? and Does it happen while playing HD 1080p videos ?


There are few instances with the error due to faulty RAM.
Rits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:53 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Where all your exes live.
Posts: 284
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64

My System


Have you installed the latest drivers?
__________________
CubicleCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
PC Specs?
Pre- Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built- Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.
Manufacturer: Gateway
Model: DX4300
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 820 Processor 2.80 GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 6.00 GB (5.75 GB usable)
System type: 64-bit Operating System

Edit-

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rits View Post
Did you changed the RAM for your PC? and Does it happen while playing HD 1080p videos ?


There are few instances with the error due to faulty RAM.
I have not changed the RAM that I am aware of. Also it happens when playing any type of video, even on the lowest quality settings.
__________________
Raimu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:01 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by CubicleCowboy View Post
Have you installed the latest drivers?
I attempted to install the latest drivers but it blue-screened. Then it caused so many problems I had to do a system restore.
__________________
Raimu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:02 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



Most likely suspect would be a low quality/uderpowered OEM PSU.
Remove the case side and look at the label on the PSU for a Brand Name & Model Number.
500W is the minimum for the AMD 7700GPU and you want to be at 550W, with a good quality PSU.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:23 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Most likely suspect would be a low quality/uderpowered OEM PSU.
Remove the case side and look at the label on the PSU for a Brand Name & Model Number.
500W is the minimum for the AMD 7700GPU and you want to be at 550W, with a good quality PSU.

That may be the problem, the built-in power supply that came with the computer recently died and I had to replace that as well, the one I got was an Orion switching power supply P4-485 according to the label.
(this here I think Orion P4-485 Power Supply 485W )

So thats only 485 watts
__________________
Raimu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:33 AM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



Orion PSU's are poor quality at best and yours is underpowered.
Look for SeaSonic or XFX.

Newegg.ca - XFX Core Edition PRO550W (P1-550S-XXB9) 550W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Newegg.ca - SeaSonic G Series SSR-550RM 550W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:51 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it!
__________________
Raimu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:37 AM   #11
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



You're welcome. Once you have a good quality PSU with sufficient power you should be good.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Mobility Radeon HD3870 x 2 problems
Hi everyone, I really hope I can find some advice here as I'm tearing my hair out. Before I start I'll just let you know that my knowledge of computers is fair but by no means great. I'll supply you with any missing information just please let me know what info I can give to help I...
zerocookie Video Card Support 6 12-20-2011 08:45 AM
[SOLVED] Massive Driver Problems
It all starts here, I'll be as descriptive as possible: First off I bought the game Minecraft, and received this message upon loading: Bad video card drivers! ----------------------- Minecraft was unable to start because it failed to find an accelerated OpenGL mode. This...
im_bad_at_n Driver Support 14 04-27-2011 01:42 PM
Problems with HIS Radeon HD 5450
I bought Radeon HD 5450 card for my old HP a6030n PC. But when I installed it and turn PC on, the computer produced 10-20 seconds of fast series of bubbling sounds before booting normally started on. I think computer screen has some message but it's not readable at all since it's quickly...
statcomp Video Card Support 4 03-31-2011 09:08 AM
Radeon HD 5450 problems
Just bought a new Radeon HD5450 card to upgrade my computer. When i install it the computer powers up but has no display. pci express slot works fine with Radeon X300 SE but nothing with 5450. Board is intel D915GUX, card is HD-545X-ZN model number, power supply is Alpine 750W. Would appreciate...
Callan343 Video Card Support 6 03-23-2011 10:21 AM
Problems installing Radeon HD 5770
Ive been trying every which way to install this video card in my computer today. Processor 1.80 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core 4 gigs of ram aswell Motherboard Gateway RS780 Rev 1.0
raven450 Video Card Support 6 03-01-2011 12:52 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts