Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

NVIDIA 8600 GT Temperature: is this normal?

This is a discussion on NVIDIA 8600 GT Temperature: is this normal? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just actually had my video card replaced since it was fried, and i got the new card from HP,


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2009, 02:44 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


I just actually had my video card replaced since it was fried, and i got the new card from HP, and it actually runs a few degrees cooler than the other one, but I'm still thinking it's a bit hot.

Idling, it runs between 57 and 61 degrees Celsius, and while playing Team Fortress 2, it runs steadily at 73-75 degrees Celsius. I'm not so worried as much about the idling temp as i am about the gaming temp.

When benchmarking it, it runs around 67-70 degrees C.

Is any of this normal or is it running too hot?

__________________
MusicMan374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 03:42 AM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,132
OS: Win7



Those temps are normal for the 8600GT.

Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


alright thanks, it's just since this is my 4th replacement card I was starting to wonder since I was seeing people with 8800's running at more like 50-60 C
__________________
MusicMan374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:59 AM   #4
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,132
OS: Win7



What power supply are you using?
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 06:10 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


I honestly don't know, I have a retail PC from HP, I'm wanting to build my own computer because most of the parts are proprietary. My computer is a pavilion elite m9000t, maybe you can find it somewhere? All i know about it is that it's 350 watts. I recently got my nvidia control panel to work correctly, and i can set the fan options, I'm trying to get the fan to rev up more than it normally would when it gets to 65-70 degrees Celsius
__________________
MusicMan374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 06:49 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 17,423
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

If it's a prebuilt it's probably underpowering the system.
__________________

-----------------------------
There are no dumb questions, unless a customer is asking them.

Help in the fight against cancer and other serious illnesses.
ebackhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


So my 350 watt isn't enough to power my 8600gt? The original system had an 8400gs and the support agent upgraded it because he was nice. haha, It's the same power connector to the motherboard as the 8400gs, but it is a larger card.

I was thinking of overclocking the gpu but I don't think that's a good idea with a 350 watt psu? This is why I want to build my own computer, no proprietary parts, and ill have enough power to do what i want with the system T_T
__________________
MusicMan374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:29 PM   #8
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,132
OS: Win7



More powerful cards require larger PSU's when OEM's build them price is the controlling factor items like the PSU are sized to run the system as built, OEM's primary concern is to get the system through the warranty period.
__________________
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:34 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


So should I get a new psu? or will 350 watts be good enough? Eventually I'm gonna get rid of this thing and build my own so I'm not wanting to spend to much money on it. Think it'll last till next summer? that should be all I need it for
__________________
MusicMan374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:37 PM   #10
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,132
OS: Win7



If you get the temps down on the card with the fan speed, use until you start to see other problems.

Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts