Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

NV4_mini.sys driver file

This is a discussion on NV4_mini.sys driver file within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently received a computer with a minor graphics problem, it would sometimes freeze and such when loading images and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2007, 03:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit

My System


I recently received a computer with a minor graphics problem, it would sometimes freeze and such when loading images and what not. I saw no problems and reformatted it etc, and the graphics card was working fine, but whenever I tried to install Service Pack 2, it kept giving me the blue screen saying something about the nv4_mini.sys file or whatever, so I figured it had to deal with the gfx card, and now, I tried to reinstall SP2 from a windows xp pro disc instead of the factory disc that this computer came with and it gives me the same similar error and so I am stuck because now the computer will not install windows until this problem is fixed. The Gfx card seems to have no problems displaying anything, and the only problems that arise with it is this file and such, so I am wondering, what should I do to fix this? I know it will work with another gfx card but currently I have no other gfx card to swap it with, so I am stuck with using this one to display.

__________________
OctoberRust is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 04:50 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
OS: xp



Use the driver cleaner and remove the nvidia video driver files in safe mode and install a different ( 1st try the latest then check their archive for 6x series older drivers ) driver and try the upgrade.

You can roll back the installation. Download the xp_sp2 file from the MS site and install it within the windows environment.

__________________
Punktech is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 06:18 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

Hi,

I would make sure you are using the 84.21 drivers. If necessary, try uninstalling the drivers and installing SP2, then reinstalling them.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 08:37 AM   #4
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

if all else fails, they have beta drivers available. but one step at a time and you have plenty of suggestions here.
smz is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 11:54 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit

My System


The major problem here is now that I only have one Windows XP Pro disc with SP2, and I have already reformatted the drive, and so there's no way for me to be able to enter safe mode etc. simply because Windows is not installed, and is in the process of installing, and when it installs the nv4_mini driver, it freezes and gives me the blue screen saying it failed. This is only associated with SP2 since beforehand when I was given the computer, it was only on SP1, but since it froze on the installation of SP2, I thought I could just backtrack and reformat it with SP2 which has shown to be quite a mistake. Is there anyway I can place it on a floppy or anything and install it as a third-party driver during the windows installation?
__________________
OctoberRust is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 12:18 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 169
OS: WinXP

My System


Honestly, it sounds as if you have a bad graphics card. If you can't even install the operating system, something is definitely wrong. What video card is in there, anyway?
__________________
alabamaman79 is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 01:41 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
OS: xp



do you get the IRQ not less or equal along with that file name ? Wahts the exact bluescreen message ?
__________________
Punktech is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 04:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by alabamaman79 View Post
Honestly, it sounds as if you have a bad graphics card. If you can't even install the operating system, something is definitely wrong. What video card is in there, anyway?
I believe its a 6600GT, so it's not incredibly bad, since there's still 5500's on the market that work. As far as the exact line that it gives me..

*** Stop: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005,0xF6DBA604,0xF7C79DD8,0xF7C79AD4)


*** nv4_mini.sys - Address F6DBA604 base at F6D59000, Datestamp 4074b958
__________________
OctoberRust is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:17 PM   #9
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

I hate to say it. But I've seen similar type situations occur when your have a dirty cd-rom or perhaps a scratched XP install disk.

One thing I know for sure. When XP installs for the first time, the nv4_mini.sys you speak of is just the microsoft stock driver. It is almost the equivilent of sale mode but with more resolution options. It seems to boil down to either that file on your install disc may be bad or the video card itself has some kind of hardware program. The only real way to narrow this down is if you have another computer and can do one of the two things...

1) use the same CD to install windows with a different video card to determine if the cd might have a problem. But I suggest #2.

2) place your video card in an already working XP system. Then the software installed on that XP will detect the Nvidia card and pull the stock driver from the windows XP cabinet file named driver.cab. That file is hidden on your harddrive. If it successfully initializes the card without any blue screen, I give your video card the thumbs up. You only have two places to point to at that point. One is your install CD, and second could be a hardware issue with your motherboard and it's AGP/PCI-e port. Of course to rule that out. Replace your video card with another card and see if that issue blue screen returns. Of course if you have another Nvidia cart that uses the same driver set which is just about all their products, try that card in the machine. If the blue screen is gone, then I would point at the video card.

I know it's easy to type this out as I have a wide array of hardware on my bench to troubleshoot things, but reality does come into play when an end user doesn't have this flexibility. Just note the things that I would do in this case so you have an idea what "could" be at fault.

Last thing I will mention, though this may NOT apply in your case. I searched on BSOD and the driver name in your BSOD and came up with some hits to a couple different forums. Believe it or not, it seemed as if this persons issue was unsolvable. Well, his solution was a CPU cooling problem out of all things.

I just wanted to add that footnote. A computer is one complex machine. So many variables.
smz is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:51 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
OS: xp



You can slave this drive as a slave drive to a different system and rename nv4_mini.sys to nv4_mini.sys.old and retry.
__________________
Punktech is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 07:38 AM   #11
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

That won't work unless the machine uses the identical boot adapter as the other computer. Otherwise you will get "Unknown Boot Device" BSOD.

This solution sounds like the operating system is already partially installed so if it has gone through hardware detection already, this opens up a new can of worms. I actually think that adds an unnecessary variable to this but there are tons of routes to look at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Punktech View Post
You can slave this drive as a slave drive to a different system and rename nv4_mini.sys to nv4_mini.sys.old and retry.
smz is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:35 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
OS: xp



dear smz, installing this drive as slave to a different system and deleting a file from it is not this dramatic in my opinion. It is possible. Logically if you are getting a bluescreen because of a file after it does no longer exist you may expect not to get the error message. Everytime you start the setup it goes through that process over again it does not continue from where exactly it failed previously.
__________________
Punktech is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 06:13 AM   #13
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

well since I didn't write the setup utility for XP I won't agree or disagree but the only way to insure the hardware that it saw before is wiped out of it's database is to run sysprep and then seal it. since you can't boot to the OS, that is not possible... I am only saying that if this person has the access to another machine with additional equipment, that he consider some of the other suggestions... it could be neither one. But unless he formats the drive in the second PC and does this test I can't see it making a difference. But I have boatloads of components at my disposal so I am able to narrow things down pretty good. I just would never consider doing what you suggested, I'm stating my opinion, not 100% facts but if that machine as XP on it and it's booting to the setup, that doesn't guarantee this error wouldn't reoccur.

Are you familiar with the XP boot menu loader? The primary disk and partition are assigned drive numbers and partition numbers.. if this person does what you say... how is windows going to boot to the quick little menu that has you click to resume setup if XP thinks the primary partition is disk(0) and partition(1) but it suddenly is now disk(1) and partition(1)

Listen I'm the last person who wants to debate anyone, but there are just some things in my opinion aren't good options because they could "Potentially" have issues of their own.

I'm not going to respond to any further messages regarding this suggestion. Let's hope somehow the user can find a solution based on what he feels is his best option.

Regards,
smz is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:28 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
OS: xp



I did it. Pointless to argue. Thanks for your opinions.
__________________
Punktech is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 02:41 PM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



scroll down to the error 7e here
http://aumha.org/a/stop.htm
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 10:38 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit

My System


Well.

After a couple ideas, I've come to the conclusion that I am going to make this computer into a Suse computer, 10.3 should be better off then 10.2 I hope, and since I really don't use the computer much at all for much of anything except programming, it hopefully will find that Suse works better, and that the drivers install correctly.

I do have two computers side by side, so I am able to do the tests that you have asked for, but I find it too much work for such a simple problem, and so I'm hoping for Suse to be able to work on it. I'll post any errors that come along with Suse.
__________________
OctoberRust is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 01:38 AM   #17
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

I don't know if there is even something similar to a BSOD in Linux??? It's already hard enough to get my Mac with OS X to freeze. It just doesn't happen. The only way my Windows based operating systems stay up for longer than 24 hours is to leave them alone and let them act like a server. just don't touch.
smz is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 07:39 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by smz View Post
I don't know if there is even something similar to a BSOD in Linux??? It's already hard enough to get my Mac with OS X to freeze. It just doesn't happen. The only way my Windows based operating systems stay up for longer than 24 hours is to leave them alone and let them act like a server. just don't touch.
I was never a fan of Mac computers with OS X. My school had bought out Mac's instead of Windows based computers because of the easy maintenance, but overall, for the time it took me to do some things, with Windows, it would've taken half the time. I do remember the consistent speed and smoothness of them though, and that was very attractive to me.

Onto the computer, I figure it's something wrong with the CPU and/or the graphics card, I am going to switch them out and do test runs and such to go threw each problem, and probably going to clean them out, but it's a hardware problem. Linux Suse freezes almost immediately after starting up.

Which, not to be a bandwagon rider by any means, but if it comes to being smooth, affordable(free), great looking, and consistent, I find that Linux Suse takes the medal, simply because of how configurable it is, and the fact that as you continue to upgrade your computer, it continues to do better and better. Only problem is teh fact that with every new version, you have to redownload and reburn the disc, so I'm hoping with later versions they can come up with update packages to update from 10.2 to 10.3 and so on. Plus, it's sometimes just a nasty experience when upgrading kernels and such on it since you gotta be careful with it all. But meh, it's lovely.

I'll probably find the culprit and fix it, if I can't, I'll probably find myself in another part of this site posting another problem related to it.
__________________
OctoberRust is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 11:32 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Solution: take out the NVIDIA video card, put in another card (for me it was an old PCI S3 card), install Windows XP, then change back to your NVIDIA card.

__________________
azazil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible RAM issuies
I recently added two more sticks of 256mb RAM to my computer, in addition to the two 256mb sticks already there. The first time I started it back up it beeped twice, told me there was a memory error and asked if I wanted to continue. I did, it froze, I restarted and it went fine after, didn't even...
Raktus RAM and Power Supply Support 8 12-11-2006 08:11 PM
XP Home Restarting
I have an emachines T1100 that keeps restarting. It doesn't restart at the same time though. I turned off the automatic restart and got the blue screen but I don't know what to do next. The blue screen said: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR EQUAL ...
algirard8 Windows XP Support 5 08-08-2006 11:22 AM
Does not recognise some DVDs?
Hello all, Could someone please help? I've just fitted a new DVD-RW and immediately began using Nero 7 Premium to burn a DVD. I'd previously tried out the player with about 3 DVDs. The first two played fine but the third seemed to get stuck midway through playing. I know that the drive plays...
Ibsen3 Removable Media Drives 34 03-29-2006 09:50 AM
Laptop, 10 freeze then shut off during gaming.
Hello, I have a problem with my Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo A1630 Athlon 64 notebook. It is the 3400+ model, it is running on Windows XP Home Edition. ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 12/25/2005, 19:53:38 Machine name: FS-NOTEBOOK Operating...
S_J Windows XP Support 4 12-26-2005 09:10 AM
They Got Me...again!!!!!
Been Hijacked again!!!! I don't know if I am missing something or not. I don't know if something is hiding on my computer, and when I connect to the WEB it downloads all sorts of things, and puts them on my desktop. Here is my HJT Analyzed log, and I have already reboot into safe mode and am...
sorrells97 Resolved HJT Threads 22 07-12-2005 08:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts