Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Monitor doesn't power up after restart?

This is a discussion on Monitor doesn't power up after restart? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I recently upgraded my video card to an ATI Radeon x800, and for the most part, it works


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2006, 09:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
OS: WinXP



Hello all,

I recently upgraded my video card to an ATI Radeon x800, and for the most part, it works rather well. However, whenever I try to restart, the computer powers up normally while the monitor stays dormant. I've tried just turning the power off then on again, but the same thing just happens. After I let it sit for an hour or two usually it will work again, but it's really aggravating after a newly installed program wants you to restart your computer and this happens. Could it be overheating? It runs at about 50-55 C. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

__________________
pitseleh79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:05 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


what runs at 50-55 c
you need to post your system specs including the power supply details
it sounds like a heat or power problem

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
OS: WinXP


The video card runs at about 50-55C, sorry. I've seen it get as high as 62 c. The power supply is an Antec 500w Smartpower, and the mobo is an Intel D865PERL. It's an AGP card.
__________________
pitseleh79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 05:04 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


have you checked the monitor plug is secure
can you try another monitor on it
can you get someone to try the card in their computer,to see if they have the same problem
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts