Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

MOAR video card black screening

This is a discussion on MOAR video card black screening within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Having the exact same problem. I had this system. Gateway DX4870-UR11P Review & Rating | PCMag.com I wanted a video


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2013, 08:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7


Cry

Having the exact same problem. I had this system.

Gateway DX4870-UR11P Review & Rating | PCMag.com

I wanted a video card and got this

GeForce GTX 660 Ti | Specifications | GeForce

Seeing that I needed a better power supply I got a 650 W Capstone.

Taking out the old one was kind of a nightmare, putting in the new one was hard too. But I kind of messed up because now my dvd drive and possibly my all in one card drive thing arent showing up anymore and must not be connected correctly, I also tried to install a new hdd in the supposedly super easy plug in it expansion slot, doesnt get recognized either, tried connecting it a few times.

Put in the card with some difficulty, connected two pci express plugs into it. powers up, fan blows underneath it, black screen. So long as its connected to the computer it gets a black screen. If I take it out the computer turns on I'm using it right now to write this. I have been googling and trying to figure it out. So far I have yet to find a solution that works. I tried disabling integrated graphics. That didn't work. I tried installing the driver but it wont let me because I can't have it plugged in and use my computer and the utility wont let me do it. It's been a real bummer. Worked on it for 5 hours yesterday.

__________________
Eladarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:37 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



You will get a black screen using the Onboard Graphics connection when a GPU is installed in the PCI-E slot so that is normal.
The Mobo "should" default to the installed GPU but sometimes it is necessary to boot to the Bios and smake PCI-E the default graphics.
Rosewill PSU's are lower quality and not recommended but the one you have should power the system with the 660 ti installed.
When installing new hardware, it's best to do one thing at a time, boot and make sure everything is working before installing anything else.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:04 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
You will get a black screen using the Onboard Graphics connection when a GPU is installed in the PCI-E slot so that is normal.
The Mobo "should" default to the installed GPU but sometimes it is necessary to boot to the Bios and smake PCI-E the default graphics.
Rosewill PSU's are lower quality and not recommended but the one you have should power the system with the 660 ti installed.
When installing new hardware, it's best to do one thing at a time, boot and make sure everything is working before installing anything else.

Now sure what mobo is, but when the card is in the slot I can't see anything. So I cant go into bios, I just looked in there but I dunno how I would pci-e the graphics.
__________________
Eladarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:32 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



Did some googling, still not able to find how to set it, maybe I can't unless I can get to bios with the card installed? My bios version is P01-A1 if that means anything.
__________________
Eladarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:27 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Remove the 660ti, boot to the Bios and change to PCI-E, F-10 save & exit, shut down the PC, install the 660ti and boot.
If no joy, try the 660ti in another PC to insure it works.
What's the Brand of the 660ti?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Remove the 660ti, boot to the Bios and change to PCI-E, F-10 save & exit, shut down the PC, install the 660ti and boot.
If no joy, try the 660ti in another PC to insure it works.
What's the Brand of the 660ti?
Pny, what I'm saying is I can't find the option inn my bios
__________________
Eladarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:25 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



Update, found a power setting that was disabled for the pci slot set that to enabled, tried aagain, disabled integrated graphics, closed pc put card in same thing again. Google has yielded little in trying to understand my bios, would it help if I compiled a list of every option it has maybe you can see what I'm missing?
__________________
Eladarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:22 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



This is what my bios looks like

Main Screen

It says the version is p01-a1

but at the bottom it also says acer version 2.14.1219

You can change the system date and time and thats about all thats going on

-----

Advanced

Misc:
ahci port 0: my hard drive
ahci port 1: not present
ahci port 2: not present
ahci port 3: my other hard drive tho windows doesnt acknowledge it
ahci port 4: not present
ahci port 5: not present

boot up num block on
use beep MSG disabled

Advanced Chip set setting
Intel EIST enabled
Intel turbo boost enabled
intel aes-ni disabled
intel xd bit enabled
intel vt enabled
video memory size 64mb
dvmt mode
dvmt mode memory size 256mb

integrated peripherals
onboard sata controller enabled
onboard sata mode ahci
onboard usb controller enabled
legacy usb support enabled
use storage emulations auto
onboard audio controller enabled
oboard lan controller enabled
onboard lan option rom disabled

pc health status
has a bunch of temperature readings and other stuff not much to do here

-------

Power:
acpi suspend mode s3(str) <--- this one doesnt let me select it at all
power on by rtc alarm disabled
power on by pcie enabled <---- this one i changed from disabled
power on by onboard lan disabled
wake up by ps/2 kb/mouse enabled
wake up by usb kb/mouse enabled
restore on ac power loss last state

--------

Security:
passwordd stuff

--------

Boot options:
1st efi device
2nd hard disk
3rd cd dvd
4th removable device
5th lan

Efi device priority press enter but no options
hard disk priority i can choose between my two disks
oprical disk priority no options
removeable disk priority no options
network disk priority no option

quiet boot enabled
halt on all but keyboard

--------

Exit:
has exit stuff, save, discard, default, etc.

pbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb :..(
__________________
Eladarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:05 AM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



PNY are not noted fro quality. Try the GPU in another PC to insure it's working or try another GPU in your PC.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard/ Video Card compatabilitiy issue
Recently I have purchased the evga GeForce GTX 660 video card to replace my old video card (NVIDIA GeForce 6800). But when I attach the new card to the motherboard (ASUS Crosshair II Formula) and boot up my computer, it remains on the screen to either select delete to enter bios or press tab for...
NEMESIS2K5 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 01-15-2013 01:27 AM
[SOLVED] The system is using the generic video card.
So basically got a new operating system and I thought I had every driver installed but my video card is not showing up or something, I think I need to update its drivers but I cannot figure out what video card it is.. I'm getting errors like "Initialization of Direct3D Device failed. There is a...
atmmachine11 Windows XP Support 5 05-09-2012 09:20 PM
All you need to know to play the latest games on a Low End PC [updated:07/02/2011]
UPDATE: "3 games Benchmark Added: Dirt 3, Red Faction Armageddon, FEAR 3 NOTICE: I have Upgraded my CPU from a Dual Core E2200 to a Core 2 Duo E7400, so the old benchmarks are based on a Dual Core E2200, but starting from July 2011, all benchmarks will be based on the Core 2 Duo E7400 and the...
RockmasteR PC Gaming Support 2 11-12-2010 08:00 AM
Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2012 and updated regularly
http://i.imgur.com/puBh9u1.png http://i.imgur.com/TTntwDe.pngPlease note that this post is out of date! Please review our newest and always up-to-date thread here: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/tsf-hardware-teams-recommended-builds-2013-a-668661.html
linderman Building 1 01-11-2010 06:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts