Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Jittering graphics (due to video card?)

This is a discussion on Jittering graphics (due to video card?) within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a strange problem with any game I play. The games run pretty good with everything set to very


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2012, 12:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



I have a strange problem with any game I play. The games run pretty good with everything set to very high, but occasionally things like bush and tree textures will start to "jitter" very rapidly as I walk around. They will sort of bounce around back and forth very quickly. The framerate remains the same, but it looks like all the textures have gone spastic or something. I already removed my Ati drivers for the second time now and reinstalled new ones, I also tried reinstalling old ones because the problem did not occur before. Nothing helped. I can't find any solution on the internet. It is very irritating.
Specs:
I have TWO displays,
1: LG W2343
2: Samsung Syncmaster 930 BF
I have an ATI Radeon HD 5670
If someone needs a picture please tell so, I can upload one then.
Like I said it occurs to me on DIFFERENT games, this means to me it has something to do with the driver of my video cart or the video cart itself.
What also striked me is when I put the texture settings higher, the more jitter is going on.

Please help!
Thank you so much in advance.


Someone that is tired of this problem.

Oh and btw,
Here is a little vid that illustrates the jitter thing:
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Multiplayer - 2012-05-26 12:36 - Xfire Video

__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:40 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



What happens if you back off the games settings?
Possibly a heat problem.
PC Specs?
Pre- Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built- Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 02:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



Hey, you are right, you can't do anything with just knowing a few things, here is some more info! :)


Computer: HP-Pavilion GJ403AA-ABH m8180.nl
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (Kentsfield, G0)
2400 MHz (9.00x266.7) @ 1595 MHz (6.00x265.9)
Motherboard: ASUS Berkeley
Chipset: Intel G33 (Bearlake-G) + ICH9R
Memory: 2048 MBytes @ 332 MHz, 5.0-5-5-15
- 1024 MB PC5300 DDR2-SDRAM - Micron Tech. 8HTF12864AY-667E1
- 1024 MB PC5300 DDR2-SDRAM - Micron Tech. 8HTF12864AY-667E1
Graphics: Sapphire Radeon HD 5670
ATI/AMD Radeon HD 5670/5690/5730 (REDWOOD XT MVD), 1024 MB GDDR5 SDRAM
Drive: Hitachi HDT725032VLA380, 312.6 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Drive: TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H653L, DVD+R DL
Drive: ATAPI DVD D DH16D2S, DVD-ROM
Sound: Intel 82801IB ICH9 - High Definition Audio [A2]
Sound: ATI/AMD Redwood/Madison/Capilano - High Definition Audio Controller
Network: Intel 82801IB ICH9 - 82566DC-2 Gigabit Ethernet Controller [A2]
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate (x64) Build 7600

These are my specs (about the ram) i doubt because I thought i had 4 GB installed but it uses only 2 GB, don't know what to think about that. I forgot about my cooling system, I don't know what it is again, it is not the original because both, the cooling system and the power supplier changed when modifying. The cooling system is from CoolerMaster. About lowering the graphics, it doesn't work the jittering becomes less visible but that is because there are less details to show it on. I hope this helps, thanks for the reply and if you need something more, tell me!

Thanks again!
__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:12 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 355
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



use cpuz to check you memory CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

also run dxdiag from the windows search box this will tell you if you have any problems, as games need directx to be installed.

if your still have problems remove the card installed, install the onboard one first, get that one working then install the new card again install the drivers from AMD Graphics Drivers & Software
__________________
steve32mids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:46 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



Remove the case side and look at the label on the PSU for a Brand & Model Number.
2GB of RAM is cutting it close.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:35 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



@steve32mids
I ran the dxdiag.exe but everything was alright, no problems.
I did the CPUZ thing and it showed me that I have:
Memory type: DDR2
Size: 2048 MBytes
Channels #: Dual
DC mode: Symmetric
Removing the card sounds rather difficult for me, so I will try first to look what kind of PSU I have.

Thanks so far.
__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:09 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



Run CPU-Z, clik on the SPD tab to see the RAM "Part Number" and and post it.
If your using the PSU that came with the HP, it's most likely low quality and underpowered. It will have a label affixed to it with the Brand & Model.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 03:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



@tyree
Hey,
I know for sure that I have a new PSU, I bought it because otherwise my new video card (I then bought) wouldn't get enough power to work properly.
The ram part number is the following: 8HTF12864AY-667E1
__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 06:04 AM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



Brand & Model Number of the PSU. New doesn't mean it's good or capable of properly powering your hardware.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:19 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



I am busy with it now ! :)
__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:31 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



Hey, after some struggles I finally found it out. I have the Coolermaster GX 550W. People told me back then that was enough for my PC to run properly. So dont know but I still think it is something with the Video Card, but it's really irritating me.
__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 05:53 AM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



550W is sufficient o for a 5670 but a better quality unit would be a good thing to protect your investment.
All SeaSonic- All XFX- Most Corsair (not the CX-GS-M Series) are top quality.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 06:19 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



Yeah but do you think that will FIX the actual problem, that it will be better, alright I believe that but will it fix the jittering, because that is my basic problem.
__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 07:04 AM   #14
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



I can't say definitely but a good quality PSU is always a win/win deal.
What games do you experience the problem with and does it only happen in games?
Does the problem occur in offline games as well?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 07:41 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



The problem occurs at Call of Duty 4 at lowest settings (multiplayer) and it occurs at
Spec Ops the Line (singleplayer), it probably occurs on every game I play.
__________________
Phix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:47 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California Sacramento
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 Professional



You have updated your graphics card right? Sometimes video card companies will release a hotfix for jittering from a recent update.

__________________
InvalidGamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video card or driver doesn't support UBYTE4N vertex data
------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 2/26/2012, 05:38:07 Machine name: JFZ-PC Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.111025-1503) Language: English (Regional Setting: English) System...
jfz09 Video Card Support 5 02-26-2012 08:41 AM
Can't do system restore
I tried to do a system restore after my computer started acting up after I installed some programs but it wouldn't let me. I had ripped some files off a dvd but I couldn't play them. So I downloaded an mp4 decoder. I could play them now, but I couldn't convert them in winavi. So I looked for a...
David999999 Windows XP Support 7 09-18-2011 07:12 PM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 09:07 PM
Installing new video card on PC without onboard graphics
Hey guys, My friend has given me their PC to have a look at, but it's something I havent came across before! It has a video card in the AGP slot, I presume it's gone dodgey as their account of events was that the screen went all fuzzy then died. Obviously I first tried another monitor,...
jnoosh Video Card Support 6 03-22-2011 10:20 AM
All you need to know to play the latest games on a Low End PC [updated:07/02/2011]
UPDATE: "3 games Benchmark Added: Dirt 3, Red Faction Armageddon, FEAR 3 NOTICE: I have Upgraded my CPU from a Dual Core E2200 to a Core 2 Duo E7400, so the old benchmarks are based on a Dual Core E2200, but starting from July 2011, all benchmarks will be based on the Core 2 Duo E7400 and the...
RockmasteR PC Gaming Support 2 11-12-2010 07:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts