Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Installing video card into a PC with a broken built-in video card

This is a discussion on Installing video card into a PC with a broken built-in video card within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm trying to fix a broken PC. It's a cheap V-Box unit that has built-in video support, which is broken.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2002, 04:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 1
OS: Win98



I'm trying to fix a broken PC. It's a cheap V-Box unit that has built-in video support, which is broken. At least, I'm assuming that's the problem as there's no image coming up on a working monitor.

I do have an old video card that I can install instead, but how do I disable the built-in video card if I can't get an image on the screen?

Any advice?

__________________
The Robman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 06:24 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

How about just sticking the video card in and seeing if it gets initialized?

__________________
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2002, 06:37 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Drifters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 283
OS: win 2000


I think you wouldhave to enter the BIOS to turn off onboard video.
__________________
Drifters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2002, 07:18 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

I guess you missed the point where his built-in video isn't working, so he can't see to enter the BIOS setup. :)
__________________
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2002, 07:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Drifters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 283
OS: win 2000


Haha!!!!! I guess I did miss that point.
__________________
Drifters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2002, 08:23 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
DaTruMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 403
OS: Windows XP


That problem can be quite a pain. Just because you can't see any image on the monitor, does not quite necisserily mean the card doesn't work. There is a possibility that something (could possibly be software) altered the bios, and disabled your default video card. Since there is no way to get into the bios in the first place since you can't see anything, there are other ways of enabling it again. First, take out the mem battery that is located on the motherboard. Keep it out for a few seconds, then put it back in. All bios settings should be reset. If not, there is jumper you can play around with (which is located on the motherboard, depending on what type of computer you havem it can be different places on the motherboard)..............That jumper can reset all hardware settings.

Or you can try what was mentioned above by trying to insert your other video card, and hope that your motherboard supports dual video input.

Let us know how it goes..........


DaTruMasta
__________________
DaTruMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 10:45 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP Media Center



I am having the same problem as described in the thread. I was wondering if when you take out the battery if all saved information is lost? Is there anyway of disabling the video card if you determine that it is definitely broken?
__________________
gotttaquestion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 11:09 PM   #8
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Robman, most motherboards will automatically detect a video card upon POST and send the signal to card. Upon post you need to enter the BIOS (usually by hitting Delete on your keyboard) and disabling the onboard graphics. That said it's a good idea to to clear the CMOS anyway when you have a no POST issue.

To Clear CMOS:
Remove the side cover and touch the bare metal of the case to discharge any static electricity built up in your body.
Unplug the PC from the wall.
Remove the coin like battery from the motherboard. Leave it out 5-10 mins to allow stored energy in the caps to drain then reinstall.
Upon starting your PC enter bios and load setup defaults, save and exit.


@ gottaquestion:
Hello and Welcome to TSF.
Please start your own thread and we'll be glad to address your issues in that thread. It to confusing to try and help multiple users in the same thread.

mattlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts