Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

How do i check if video card is working properly?

This is a discussion on How do i check if video card is working properly? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a evga G-Force 6600gt. I've been having problems with random blue screen restarts and some think that the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2007, 06:14 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
milehile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
OS: Windows 7 H/P x64

My System


I have a evga G-Force 6600gt. I've been having problems with random blue screen restarts and some think that the video card is at fault. I want to know how I can check to see if this is the case.

As for the blue screen restarts; I kept the box unchecked so it wouldn't automatically restart on me so I can look at the blue screen and see what it says, but it still automatically restarts on me. Someone suggested looking at the "Event Log", but I don't know where to look for something like that.

Please help.

__________________
When you don't do something right, how can you be sure you've done anything at all?
milehile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 07:40 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 17,423
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus
Hmm...

With XP the usual cause of a BSOD is bad drivers. What version of the Forceware drivers are you using right now?

__________________

-----------------------------
There are no dumb questions, unless a customer is asking them.

Help in the fight against cancer and other serious illnesses.
ebackhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 10:23 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
milehile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
OS: Windows 7 H/P x64

My System

Here's the info you want.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	driver.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	10089  
__________________
When you don't do something right, how can you be sure you've done anything at all?
milehile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 09:58 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 17,423
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus
Actually I need an image of the information as given by the driver.

Note: I don't like the new nVidia control panel so I reverted to the older version. Overall they look the same. As you can see in my screen capture I am using Forceware 91.47 on my system.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6800gt stats.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	10102  
__________________

-----------------------------
There are no dumb questions, unless a customer is asking them.

Help in the fight against cancer and other serious illnesses.
ebackhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 05:22 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
milehile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
OS: Windows 7 H/P x64

My System

Oh. I'm sorry. Here you go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	force.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	10122  
__________________
When you don't do something right, how can you be sure you've done anything at all?
milehile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 09:16 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 17,423
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus
Looks fire there. Can you tell me a bit more about your PC, espcially the power supply? Things like brand, wattage, and amps. All of that is on the sticker on the PSU's side.
__________________

-----------------------------
There are no dumb questions, unless a customer is asking them.

Help in the fight against cancer and other serious illnesses.
ebackhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:54 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
milehile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
OS: Windows 7 H/P x64

My System

I don't think it's the power supply (by the way, I have a 400w right now which works fine for just normal browsing and anything less power hungry than a game). I put in a 500w I got from newegg.com but returned cause the problem was still there. I did memtest86 for a good 4 hours and it didn't come up with any errors at all. I am currently waiting for my return and a paycheck in order to purchase a 550w Antec Trio. But, that won't be for another week, maybe. Your thoughts on why the 500w still didn't work out. The supply was an Apevia Concord.

__________________
When you don't do something right, how can you be sure you've done anything at all?
milehile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts