Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

how can i find out my power supply watts?

This is a discussion on how can i find out my power supply watts? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Is there a program i can use to find out the outage of my power supply.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2005, 03:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
OS: WinXP



Is there a program i can use to find out the outage of my power supply.

__________________
thunderraiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 03:47 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
ChaosMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
OS: XP


The easiest way is to open up your computer case and check the sticker of the power supply. Somewhere should be a code of , for example, XXDX400. That 400 means, in most cases, that's a 400 W supply. Otherwise there is going to be another sticker with more detail specifications of the power supply. Check there.

Hope this helps.

__________________
ChaosMachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 04:12 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

you may even luck out, and have it stamped right on there as "350 watts" for example.

but, if you can't determine it by the numbers, let us know what the numbers are, and we can more than likely look something up, and tell you the wattage of your supply.
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 04:51 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,186
OS: WinXP SP2


@ thunderraiden
If I may add my two cents, the total wattage of many PSUs can be very misleading. The more important statistics are its 12V+, 5V+ and its 3.3V+ rating(s). Unfortunately, they can also be somewhat overestimated. The best defense against a questionable PSU is to get one that is known to be of excellent quality and of ample power output. See the "PSU" link in my sig for a list of some of the better PSUs.

Is there a reason you need to know that you'd like to share with us?
__________________
P4P800E-D:~:P4 3.0C@3.75GHz:~:Zal7000AlCu:~:OCZ4001024ELDCPER2-K@250MHz 2.5-3-3-7
WinXP SP2>2X160GB Samsung SATA ICH5R RAID1:~:2x80GB Samsung SATA Promise RAID0
ATI A-I-W X800XT~SB Audigy2 ZS~2X BenQ1620~Antec SLK3700AMB~Antec SmartPower2.0 500W
please is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 05:10 PM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

i will go out on a limb here and guess why they need to know.

it's in the video cards section, chances are, they bought a new g-force or ATI video card, that says on the box, "XXX watt power supply required."
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 06:25 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
OS: WinXP


Bingo.

And the last video card i had died, so i want to make sure it wasnt the fault of a shatty PSU.
__________________
thunderraiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 07:23 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,229
OS: XP Professional


Hi,

You have to watch that Waltside. Just check his sig out:
Quote:
Location: Behind You, Watching You As You Type.

I think he has ESP.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 09:15 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
OS: WinXP


ok so, i was checkin out pricewatch.com and saw they were selling a 600Watt Power Supply for just $20. Its all new products they sell, so something must be wrong with it. Are power supplies universal, as in they will all fit in the same space, or are they really different? I have an HP Pavilion Case if that info helps.
__________________
thunderraiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 10:08 AM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumbleweed36
Hi,

You have to watch that Waltside. Just check his sig out:
I think he has ESP.
no, i'm really behind you, look for yourself.
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 12:07 PM   #10
Chex mix and Cream soda!
 
w00t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oahu
Posts: 596
OS: Slackware 11.1, Fedora Core 3, K12LTSP, Suse ES 9, Windows 2000sp4, Mac OSX, Knoppix, Mephis


Dude It should say how many watts you have but you should always take away maybe 50 from that number unless its a really good psu and trust me its not.
__________________
Elvis didn't die he just went open source


w00tb0t, because you can't make tea with potatoes
w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 05:39 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 74
OS: WinXP


Ha walt, i dont know how u got behind me, there is a wall behind me!
__________________
thunderraiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 06:16 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Wink

Thunder:

not all power supply's are created equal !!! the cheap PSU's or generics as they are politely named >>> arent worth the nice glossy packaging box they come in. FYI a good quality PSU is going to set you back about $100.00 >>> anything for much less money is going to cause you a ton of headaches and maybe even burn up that new big dollar gfx card you just bought :(


PLEASE gave you a decent link to check out / I suggest you look into the Antec or Enermax line of PSU's they are about as high quality as you can get for $100.00 there are plenty of other super quality PSU makers but they leave the $100.00 mark in a hurry / I strongly suggest at least a 550 watt PSU the easier the load on the PSU >>> the longer they live and the less heat they will emit into the inside of your case >>>> dont want that new video investment getting cooked by an underpowered PSU

regards

joe
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 03:11 AM   #13
Chex mix and Cream soda!
 
w00t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oahu
Posts: 596
OS: Slackware 11.1, Fedora Core 3, K12LTSP, Suse ES 9, Windows 2000sp4, Mac OSX, Knoppix, Mephis


Walt is always behind you.

:as I turn around in paranoia:
__________________
Elvis didn't die he just went open source


w00tb0t, because you can't make tea with potatoes
w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:40 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista Service Pack 2



helpful post. thanks

__________________
Throwed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts