Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

graphics card installation

This is a discussion on graphics card installation within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. im trying to install a new grahics card. from a nvidea gt 210hd 1gb ddr3 to an amd asus hd


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2012, 07:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7


Confused

im trying to install a new grahics card.
from a nvidea gt 210hd 1gb ddr3 to an amd asus hd 6770 1gb ddr5 card.
ive inserted the card but no signal and it beeps 3 times twice, ive looked in bios and its set to auto, am i missing something. because i need to install the software after but how can i when no signal is coming through.

__________________
ELECTRICKTITAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:23 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,083
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Make sure the card is seated properly and that any auxiliary power connections are connected. What's the brand/model of the power supply?

__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:18 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7



The graphics card is seated prperly and the power is connected. the power supply is a OCZ 600W. the fan spins but no signal. ive asked friends and the said its a fault on the graphics card, i just want to elimanate possibilities before i take it back because its a trek and a half to go where i got i from.
__________________
ELECTRICKTITAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:00 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



How old is the OCZ PSU?
600W should start the GPU but you should be at 650W with a better quality PSU to prevent damage to the 6770.
Can you try the GPU in another PC, that has a good quality 650W minimum PSU, to be certain is is OK?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 09:21 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7



ITS A MATTER OF A FEW MONTHS OLD THATS IT. BUT THE CARD NEEDS A MINIMUM OF 500 WATT SO 600 SHOULD DO FINE IT ISNT A CHEEP 1. £60.00 OR NEARLY 120 DOLLARS OR WHATEVER THE EXCHANGE RATE IS. BUT NOT A S**T ONE AT ALL.
AS SOON AS IT GOES UPTO 650 OR 700 WATT THE PRICE GETS INTO THE 80 POUNDS MARK.....WHY WHEN THIS SHOULD DO FINE ESPECIALY WHEN I HAVE FRIENDS RUNNING SLI GRAPHICS FROM THE SAME PSU IVE GOT NO PROBLEM, THATS 1 OF THE REASONS I GOT IT...RECOMMENDATIONS.
__________________
ELECTRICKTITAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:49 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



The GPU manufacturer "suggests" a minimum 500W and it will powewr the GPU for a time but the effeciency of lower quality PSU's degrades over time. You need to add 30% to the manufacturer's suggested number to insure reliable sufficient power over time and avoid damage to the GPU as well as other components. Good quality PSU's come at a higher cost because they use quality parts.
OCZ are not terrible but neither are they great quality regardless of what you have heard.
It comes down to your money-your choice.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 12:09 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7



I was only going by what the techs said at the place i bought it and my friends using this psu to power 2 nvidia's graphics cards. and like i said 60 pounds for a psu in this country is conciderd pricey. well ive decided to go where i got it from tommorow to see if they can test it. and if it is the graphics card what is faulty ill exchange it and if its the psu then fair enough i'll have to exchange that aswell.
but ill be posting tommorow to say if it worked or not. Thankyou for the helpfull advice......and sorry for the capitals in my last post no offence intended.
__________________
ELECTRICKTITAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 01:55 PM   #8
Senior Tech hardware team
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2,453
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by ELECTRICKTITAN View Post
ITS A MATTER OF A FEW MONTHS OLD THATS IT. BUT THE CARD NEEDS A MINIMUM OF 500 WATT SO 600 SHOULD DO FINE IT ISNT A CHEEP 1. £60.00 OR NEARLY 120 DOLLARS OR WHATEVER THE EXCHANGE RATE IS. BUT NOT A S**T ONE AT ALL.
AS SOON AS IT GOES UPTO 650 OR 700 WATT THE PRICE GETS INTO THE 80 POUNDS MARK.....WHY WHEN THIS SHOULD DO FINE ESPECIALY WHEN I HAVE FRIENDS RUNNING SLI GRAPHICS FROM THE SAME PSU IVE GOT NO PROBLEM, THATS 1 OF THE REASONS I GOT IT...RECOMMENDATIONS.
Bottom line is you may spend more first-hand for a quality PSU, but it could save you lots more in the long-run.
__________________
A+ Certified
Johnny1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:08 PM   #9
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,331
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Granted OCZ is not one of the preferred manufacturers, regardless the power supply should be more than capable of carrying a 6770.

ELECTRICKTITAN: I'ld have to agree with your friends in post #3. Test the card in another (known good) system. If no joy RMA it.

__________________
gcavan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to used my dedicated video card [sony vaio C series] [HELP]
hello techsupport team and all forumers.. I have problem with my sony vaio c series for almost a year now on how to switch my graphics to my dedicated 1Gb Video Card. I try playing online games and do some PVP's but everytime i used control my videocard( iguess) beeps and hangs my pc. I am...
kokorokoko Laptop Support 20 05-05-2012 06:36 AM
[SOLVED] New Graphics Card but No Display!!
Hi guys, I recieved my new Nvidia PX8800 GT 512MB graphic card yesterday to replace my nvidia 7300 LE 256MB one. I install the new graphics card correct, give it power via a 6 pin cable and the fan turns on but no display anywhere, not at boot, not later on, never. So I figured the card may...
XiMitchHD Video Card Support 66 04-12-2012 10:50 AM
Changing graphics card (PROBLEM!)
Hello everyone! Yesterday i bought the ATI MSI R6790 graphics card to upgrade from my older ATI MSI R6770. I installed it on my own after watching a few videos. Here is how i did this: 1) I unplugged the PC from the power supply. 2) Opened the box. 3) Removed the R6770. 4) Installed the...
Liz1990 Video Card Support 13 04-09-2012 08:22 AM
HP Pavillion zd8000 Graphics Card Error
I recently got a HP Pavillion zd8000 which had Windows XP installed on it. I installed windows 7 on it and had the graphics card problems where the screen wouldnt display anything. I followed the directions for MObility Modder and the laptop worked fine. Then a couple days ago, it would...
dachterm7622 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 04-08-2012 05:01 AM
[SOLVED] Maybe the sound card but I need some help
Over the past few weeks I find I am not able to stream videos that is You tube or a TV program. The sound is Ok to start and then after 30 secs or sometimes longer it starts to "burble" and then cuts out altogether. The video is not affected and continues to stream but without sound. The effect is...
charisma Sound Cards 4 04-08-2012 04:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts