Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Graphics card/display driver problem

This is a discussion on Graphics card/display driver problem within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Not sure why it happens but while playing WoW, my game freezes up and flickers once or twice, and graphics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2008, 09:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



Not sure why it happens but while playing WoW, my game freezes up and flickers once or twice, and graphics artifacts appear. I thought it may have been my graphics card overheating, so I cleaned out the inside of my computer with compressed air. Afterwards, I monitored the temperature of my gpu with RivaTuner, only to find that the temperature of my graphics card remained within a 50C-58C range. The only thing that stood out to me was when something popped up about n4v_disp not working, but I haven't seen it since. Can't take any screenshots due to the fact that when I try to alt+f4 out of the game, my monitor is disconnected from my gpu and I have to manually restart.

Example of the problem: http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k1.../Artifacts.jpg

__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 04:58 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 148
OS: Windows 7,Vista



is this a new video card ?,what is it ?,what PSU do you have ?,is there fluff on the fan and is it working?

__________________
macroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 05:22 AM   #3
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



List all hardware specs, including power supply wattage and brand.
__________________
manic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 10:50 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



specs:
Mainboard : MSI K8 Neo4 (MS-7125)
Chipset : nVidia nForce4
Processor : AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @ 2200 MHz
Physical Memory : 1024 MB (2 x 512 DDR-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
Hard Disk : ST3200827AS (200 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : LITE-ON DVDRW SHW-160P6S
Monitor Type : GL-1920B - 19 inches
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
DirectX : Version 9.0c (July 2007)
power supply wattage/brand: 500w/antec ea
__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 12:34 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MainFrame
Posts: 59
OS: XPx64(SP2)/XP(SP3)/Ubuntu(8.04)/VistaUx64



Older nVidia drivers have problems with WoW, uninstall them and install the latest appropriate drivers.

If that does not work, we'll have to look toward overheating(GPUz reports temps), VRAM/RAM problems(unlikely).

Also, please ignore the zealots complaining about your sufficient PSU being insufficient, it's not amazing in build quality, but it's more then enough wattage.
__________________
HardBoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:14 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



Not sure what he just posted, but my drivers are up to the current ones atm, it was the first thing I tried. I'll download GPU-Z and try monitoring my temperature with that and report back, but I've been doing so with RivaTuner, and it seems to stay between 50-60 degrees C.
__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:31 AM   #7
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


try this driver
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_178.24_whql.html
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 09:08 AM   #8
Enthusiast
 
lazareth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,300
OS: Vista SP1, Ultimate

My System


Also, your temps are actually pretty cool. Nvidia cards can hit 110C before it's speed gets throttled and problems start occuring.
__________________
lazareth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 11:44 AM   #9
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


I'm sorry for not paying attention to your last post about using current drivers

my graphics card stays around 78C while using F@h and its very stable.

can you test this video card in another system?
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 12:14 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



Monitored it with GPU-Z through an error, temperature was about 53C. I don't have access to other systems at the moment, would there be other ways to test it?
__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 02:36 PM   #11
Enthusiast
 
lazareth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,300
OS: Vista SP1, Ultimate

My System


another question. Does it happen on other games?
__________________
lazareth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 02:37 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



At the moment, the only game I've got is WoW, moved into a dorm a few months back.
__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:45 AM   #13
Enthusiast
 
lazareth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,300
OS: Vista SP1, Ultimate

My System


Have you updated and tried the newest drivers. It could very well be just an issue with WoW and not the system as a whole.
__________________
lazareth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:36 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by Incoherence View Post
Not sure what he just posted, but my drivers are up to the current ones atm, it was the first thing I tried
__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:00 AM   #15
Enthusiast
 
lazareth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,300
OS: Vista SP1, Ultimate

My System


Try downloading a demo off another game and see if you still have the same issues.
__________________
lazareth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 03:19 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



Sorry it's taken so long to reply, I've been traveling a lot recently for the holidays. I managed to get my friend's copy of Psychonauts, and was able to play through the entire thing without any problems. Any suggestions?
__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 11:15 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



Bump.
__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 11:42 PM   #18
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


a 8400 graphics card is pretty low end have you tried playing on absolute lowest settingsfor WoW?

800x600 resolution, etc
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 01:25 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP SP2



I've been playing on 800x600 since I've started playing, and the settings for the game are always about as low as possible. (It'd lag otherwise in high population areas) I've managed to take a few screenshots of the other errors that occur, other than the artifacts, posting them here in case they might help identify the type of problem I'm having.



__________________
Incoherence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 02:30 AM   #20
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


probably a damaged video card.

is it still under warranty?

__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts