Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

graphic disturbance during games.

This is a discussion on graphic disturbance during games. within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello. i got 2 games that when i play them some of the object's on the screen goes black [lets


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2010, 12:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7



Hello.
i got 2 games that when i play them some of the object's on the screen goes black [lets say suddenly a wall is black and the floor is disapear etc].
the games are darksiders and call of duty black ops.

when i play black ops i suddenly notice at the start that some object's are "flashing" with black white black white etc and after a while [2 min] the game just freeze and thats it, i have to hard reset.
in darksider's its abit better since i can still play with all the disturbance...
btw lets say "battle field bad company 2" run smooth on my comp... so its wierd.

please help me fix this :( my graphic driver is up to date btw.

Rig info :

Windows xp sp3
quad core 9400
motherboard : p5q-e
video card : ati radeon 4870 hd toxic 1GB

p.s :

is it possible that my video card is damaged ?

__________________
nitsan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:34 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 296
OS: win7



black ops is just out, wait for patch. Darksiders is a month out, wait for a patch. I seriously doubt your video card is damaged. Sounds like problems are with these games.

If you want to know for sure i would try some other games, download some demo's if you have too. If these are the only games you have problems with it will probabably be these games, check some forums on these games if nobody had the same problem

__________________
evildead789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 06:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7



well "BBC2" work fine, Napoleon total war work fine, medal of honor work fine ...
but it just, in call of duty it crash at the first 1-2 min of the game constantly and i can see peoples saying they finish the game allready ...
still havent saw one post about the flickering graphic.
__________________
nitsan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 06:37 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bradford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,853
OS: Wondows Sleven

My System


No it does sound like a problem with your GPU.

First tell me the specs of your PSU, if you open up the case you'll see a little box with a sticker, tell us the name, the brand and wattage of it.
__________________
-WOLF- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 08:18 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7



ok, my power supply maker is : spire

the model is : SP-ATX-550WTN-IR

watts :

AC INPUT : 200-240v 50-60Hz 6A

DC OUTPUT : +12V1 +12V2 +5V +3.3V -5V -12V +5Vsb
------------- +15A + 15A + 25A + 28A + 0.1A + 0.8A + 2A
__________________
nitsan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 08:45 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



your psu is low quality and underpowered upgrade it

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b750w
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 09:11 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7



too bad in israel it cost like 300$ ...hmm and you think thats what make all my probs ?
__________________
nitsan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 09:29 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



yes

we are used to high costs here as well although they have been coming down in the last few months

in some cases it may be cheaper to buy elsewhere even after the cost of postage is included
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 03:43 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7



hmm listen, i got the graphic card box and this is what i found :

"500 Watt or greater power supply with two 75W 6-pin PCI Express* power connector trcommended.
__________________
nitsan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:38 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,399
OS: Win7-64

My System


Your Spire 550W PSU has two +12V lines that are only providing 15A each. This is too low to safely power the HD4870 under stress.

Here in the UK, the Spire 550W costs about £35. In comparison, good quality 550W units cost over £60 and provide at least 40A on the +12V line.
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:50 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7



ok, i just dont want to spend alot of money on this and then find out its not the prob :< so i just want to make sure.
__________________
nitsan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:29 AM   #12
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,399
OS: Win7-64

My System


Before spending any money, take the computer to your local PC repair store and get them to stress test the graphics card with one of their 750W PSUs.
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:29 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7



hmmm great idea, will do.
tnx :>

__________________
nitsan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts