Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Computer FREEZES and screen goes red while gaming!?

This is a discussion on Computer FREEZES and screen goes red while gaming!? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This problem just arose on my other computer randomly. Here is a series of events that happened in this order:


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2010, 08:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP 32-bit



This problem just arose on my other computer randomly. Here is a series of events that happened in this order:

First, while online my screen suddenly went black, and i could not regain visuals.

Then after manually restarting my computer, it froze at the Windows splash screen. It wouldnt proceed with the startup.

Then, a 2nd time of manually restarting, it started up fully, and i launched an online game from Steam (Day of Defeat). About 10 seconds of just joining the server, everything froze, and my screen was completely covered in red speckles. Very odd, i have never seen this before.

Then after manually restarting for a 3rd time, it loaded up fully, and i started to search files in my computer. i loaded a couple videos, it seemed to be working fine. So i went online to investigate this problem and as i was typing out this problem here on Tech Support Forums, everything just froze completely.

then i said "FRICK!!!!!!!!" and went to a different computer to post this issue.



Any insight on what could be causing these issues? At first i thought it might be that my hard drive is going bad... but ive had a hard drive go bad before and this never happened. Bad hard drives usually just blue screened for me. Could it be the video card? thats my only other guess.

what do you suggest i do? Thank you so much in advance.

__________________
Pez Dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 09:54 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 06:16 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP 32-bit


My Specs

Windows 7 Pro 32-bit
Geforce GTX 260
AMD Phenom 9500
3GB DDR2 Ram
OCZ 700 watt

NOTE: The game i ran when my screen went red is Day of Defeat. Its around 10 years old, and uses OpenGL.
__________________
Pez Dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 10:29 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



if the ocz is the fatality model it's ok

but if it is the gamestream it is one of their low quality units
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 01:09 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 29
OS: Windows XP 32-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
if the ocz is the fatality model it's ok

but if it is the gamestream it is one of their low quality units
Well i JUST bought that power supply not even a month ago, its brand new. I have a feeling its the video card.... Im going to uninstall its drivers (if i can in time) and reinstall them.
__________________
Pez Dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:30 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
1 g0t 0wn3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sedona, az
Posts: 7,308
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Sounds like a textbook power supply problem to me.
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 08:49 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



which model psu is it

in the device manager uninstall the video card
reboot tapping f8 and choose low resolution mode
when windows finishes rebooting
disable a/virus
install your drivers
reboot the computer

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts