Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Best Video Card for My System.

This is a discussion on Best Video Card for My System. within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys, I just want to know what is the best video card that my system will support without changing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2011, 05:17 AM   #1
Hardware Tech Team
 
helios19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,231
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

My System


Hi Guys,

I just want to know what is the best video card that my system will support without changing anything else?

My system: (on the left)

Let me know if you require any further information.Thanks in advance.

__________________
HELIOS19


Post full system specs for the best assistance!
Posting System Specifications
helios19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 05:21 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,365
OS: Windows 7

My System


you wont get any decent graphics card in your system without replacing the power supply you currently have for three reasons:-

1. its a piece of crap
2. its not really 550w
3. its made by a manufacturer that are better at making cardboard boxes (which they infact do as they make their own packaging).

I wouldn't get any new GPU for that system without getting rid of that psu.

Do you have a budget in mind? as your board will take any modern graphics card available. Bare in mind your budget will have to include a psu from a reputable manufacturer.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:29 PM   #3
Hardware Tech Team
 
helios19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,231
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

My System


My budget for a video card is about $250 AUD.

For a PSU I'm not sure what's sufficient for a single GPU. Is 550W enough? (from a reputable brand of course.) or perhaps I was thinking the Corsair TX-650... I heard good things about them.

Also what about my CPU, I don't wanna get a video card that will be bottle necked.

Thanks.
__________________
HELIOS19


Post full system specs for the best assistance!
Posting System Specifications
helios19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:53 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 67
OS: Win 7 64x



Corsair is probably the most reliable PSU brand out there... I would suggest the HX models but TX more than enough. Seeing as you won't be going SLI or crossfire then the TX-650 should be great.
I'm pretty sure a e8400 will not bottleneck your system in games... which Im guessing is your preference.
As for video cards I'd suggest aiming for a gtx 560 ti or an hd 6950...
The big choice is between those two...
The 560 TI runs cooler so there's probably more overclocking potential.
the HD 6950 is probably more future proof and runs better on higher resolutions.
__________________
Whiski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 01:08 AM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you need to decide on the card before choosing the psu

prefer to see a 750w used with the 560
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 06:06 PM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
helios19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,231
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

My System


There's a $50 difference between the 650W and 750W PSU. So, if I can manage with the 650W, I would prefer it.

Also I should note that my E8400 is not overclocked (it's at the stock 3.0Ghz) and I don't plan on overclocking a video card once I get one.
__________________
HELIOS19


Post full system specs for the best assistance!
Posting System Specifications
helios19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:15 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



Corsair TX 750w - Price Comparison Australia - Buy Cheap

Corsair TX-650 v2 650W Power Supply Unit - Compare Prices and Deals, Shop & Buy Online in Australia at MyShopping.com.au
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:28 PM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
helios19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,231
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

My System


I've actually considered getting a new system altogether. This mobo doesn't support ddr3 RAM, the lga 775 cpu's have vanished and the ones that are around cost a fortune, plus my PSU and Video card suck. That's pretty much my entire system. xD

Thanks for the help though guys... and sorry for reviving this old thread.
__________________
HELIOS19


Post full system specs for the best assistance!
Posting System Specifications
helios19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:18 PM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



have a look at the suggested build sticky in the building section
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:25 PM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,365
OS: Windows 7

My System


your cpu is not crap I have one and they overclock really well, the only major drawback of your system is the psu.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 12:30 AM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,537
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


With your current spec , it would be a more financially sound decision to simply go for a power supply and gpu upgrade.

Your ram/cpu aren't really holding you back too much , just simply your gpu and power supply.
emosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:09 AM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,403
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by emosun View Post
With your current spec , it would be a more financially sound decision to simply go for a power supply and gpu upgrade.

Your ram/cpu aren't really holding you back too much , just simply your gpu and power supply.
Ditto ^
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:20 AM   #13
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


I would agree the E8400's maybe old but they are still the best gaming processor I have ever used. Have a look at the Q6600's they are quadcores @ 2.4GHZ socket 775.
__________________

Please post Hardware Specifications of your computer.(Including Power Supply!).
Memtest86+ | Seatools
How to Benchtest
Info & Selection of PSU's
A1tecice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 10:18 AM   #14
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,365
OS: Windows 7

My System


What he said ^

I have had my e8400 running at 4GHz for 4-5 years now, I rum most games on high and very rarley get any lag but the time will come shortly that I will need to upgrade probably next year.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 08:05 PM   #15
Hardware Tech Team
 
helios19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,231
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

My System


@greenbrucelee & A1tecice: I completey agree, I never mentioned that I hated my cpu. The E8400 is indeed a beast. However, I've want to get a quad core system mainly because of GTA 4 (which has been gathering dust in my room for 2-3 years now x'D) because of it's game engine, it's known to be heavily cpu dependant. I wanna be able to play that with decent frame rates on high settings.

@Everyone: Yeah, I'm definitely upgrading the PSU and GPU. It has been okay all this time because I never did any intense gaming or multimedia work. I plan on getting the Corsair TX600 (or TX750 -> more likely) and in terms of GPU... I'm kinda stumped atm.

I created a new thread for that:

New Case or Not?
__________________
HELIOS19


Post full system specs for the best assistance!
Posting System Specifications
helios19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 02:08 AM   #16
Hardware Tech Team
 
MonsterMiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth, Ohio
Posts: 1,663
OS: Win7

My System


I would look at the 6870 with a tx-650
__________________
MonsterMiata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 03:50 AM   #17
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,365
OS: Windows 7

My System


gta4 will not use four cores there are only a few games out there that use a full two and gta4 is not one of them.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:22 AM   #18
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,537
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


It seems to use all four when I play gta4. It'll even run slower when I set the affinity to less cores.
emosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:38 AM   #19
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


I have to agree GTA4 does seem to use around 4 of my cores makes me wonder why i have the i7 960, i never use all 8.

On that basis it would be beneficial to upgrade to a quad core or better.
__________________

Please post Hardware Specifications of your computer.(Including Power Supply!).
Memtest86+ | Seatools
How to Benchtest
Info & Selection of PSU's
A1tecice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:56 PM   #20
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,365
OS: Windows 7

My System


that strange, it runs perfectly well on my e8400 and it never seems to use all two cores.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD Help
I have been getting BSOD, Mainly when I am watching video from any source (Mpeg, AVI, youtube, Hulu). As far as I can tell my drivers are all up to date. I am not the best at this stuff but have tried everything I can think of and everthing I have found online before asking for help. Any help would...
jon33jon2003 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 09-27-2011 04:22 PM
[BSODs] Numerous BSODs related to atikmpag.sys
I have a custom built computer. It BSODs frequently or freezes with "Display driver has stopped working and has recovered successfully". It's been happening since I first got it and I'm not sure why it's happening. Most of the time it BSODs with an error pointing to atikmpag.sys. I already...
darkxstorm BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 09-14-2011 02:37 AM
Another BSOD problem
· OS - Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 · x64 · What was original installed OS on system? None - new build · Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? OEM (bought and installed by me) · Age of system (hardware) ~6 months · Age...
tsdadam BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 08-22-2011 11:12 PM
Games causing BSOD! Windows 7 x64 - 0x124 [moved from BSOD, Crashes]
Windows 7 64bit full retail reinstalled once NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 Mobo AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 B45 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.1GHz 4 Gigs RAM
jediewok Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 03-22-2011 02:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts