Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

ATI Radeon mobility x1400 drivers - I'm lost what do I use?

This is a discussion on ATI Radeon mobility x1400 drivers - I'm lost what do I use? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'll try and explain it best I can; as I solve most problems myself via google. I'm using a Dell


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2011, 12:01 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
OS: XP



I'll try and explain it best I can; as I solve most problems myself via google.

I'm using a Dell Inspiron 9400, and this is from my dxdiag

OS: Windows XP
Memory: 2 gig
Video card: ATI Radeon mobility x1400 (256 mb)
Motherboard: MP061
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00GHz (2 CPUs)
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)


The problem started when I tried to play borderlands, but was getting blue screen crashes. The boards I visited said it was the graphic drivers, and suggested using the current omega drivers. I used ATI Catalyst Drivers 11.1 . I was able to play the game fine (though I had a floor texture problem).

However, I had two major problems with using omega drivers;
From sleep mode/screen saver the background would become distorted like striped lines
and
My ps1 emulator (ePSXe) was running very choppy and missing textures.

At this time, I'm done with borderlands, and wanted to play my ps1 games, so I removed the omega drivers and got official ones

Now that I'm done with playing ps1 games, I was going to pick up were I left off on my starcraft 2 campaign. Problem is, I have to put the settings on the lowest amount to even play it; this didn't happen on the original drivers (I do not know what I had before I changed to omega)
Also: I never tested SC2 on omega drivers, only on current official drivers.


What drivers could make SC2 and borderlands playable?

Thanks for any help and suggestions in advance :)

__________________
Ari3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 06:00 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Have you tried using the original drivers?
Laptops are very susceptible to heat. Have you checked your temps? Have you cleaned the unit lately?

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 01:09 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Have you tried using the original drivers?
Laptops are very susceptible to heat. Have you checked your temps? Have you cleaned the unit lately?
I bought this laptop from craigslist, so I don't think that'll happen. But since borderlands couldn't run on the original drivers....

Not sure how to check the temp, but it doesn't sound like/feel like it is running excessively hard. As far as cleaning, how should I do that?

I know I'll need drivers, but according to a few searches, dell isn't updated this x1400 series =\
__________________
Ari3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 09:55 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Use the latest drivers from the manufacturer's site/ OEM Mobo/Bios are made for them and aftermarket drivers can differ from the OEM versions.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to succefully overclock Ati Mobility radeon x1300 for t60
so I have a lenovo thinkpad t60 with an ati x1300m with 64 mb at 392 mhz core and 325 mhz ram i tried using modding tools that install regular drivers but failed seeing as im in windows 7 ultimate and so far i have yet to find drivers for win7. is there anyway for me to kick it up a notch?
PuntyMario Overclocking 27 07-08-2011 08:50 AM
ATI mobility radeon HD 4500
Hey guys I was wondering if an ati mobility radeon HD 4500 series graphics card is replacable. I want to upgrade my notebook to run my games smoother
pdvloed Laptop Support 6 01-21-2011 04:30 AM
Dell Latitude C600 & Win 3.1
Hello, I must install Windows 3.1 (not WfW 3.11) on a Dell Latitude C600. The video informations (via HWINFO 5.5.0) are Video Chipsset: ATI Rage M3 Mobility Video Card: ATI Mobility 128 AGP 2x (Dell) Video Memorysize: unknown Video Cardbus: AGP 2x Video RAMDAC: integrated
HHF Driver Support 7 01-18-2011 05:19 PM
ATI Radeon 6970 2GB - 100% fan speed, no screen.
Alright, so I recently bought the newly released ATI Radeon 6970, hoping to get a good upgrade from a NVIDIA Geforce 8800GTS (320mb). So, I went through the standard procedures of removing my drivers, taking computer a part and swapping the GPUs over, but when I put it in the 6970 fan was going...
givemelime Video Card Support 38 01-16-2011 04:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts