Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

ASUS NVIDIA Geforce GT 640 PCI-E Graphics Card

This is a discussion on ASUS NVIDIA Geforce GT 640 PCI-E Graphics Card within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just purchased this graphics card ( Buy ASUS NVIDIA Geforce GT 640 PCI-E Graphics Card - 2 GB |


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2013, 05:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
OS: w7



I just purchased this graphics card ( Buy ASUS NVIDIA Geforce GT 640 PCI-E Graphics Card - 2 GB | Free Delivery | Currys ).

I have a 500W power supply, the graphics card fits in and fan starts but my computer doesn't recognize it.

When I tried to install the nvidia drives it prompted a error saying "No hardware was detected".

Computer Specs :

Make/model: Dell Vostro 460
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
RAM: 8GB

__________________
mattx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:27 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



The Mobo "should" recognize and default to the GPU but sometimes it is necessary to boot to the Bios and set the graphics to PCI-E.
Are you installing the drivers that came on the CD included with the GPU or did you download the latest drivers form Nvidia?

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:29 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
OS: w7



When I go on to the bios there is no option to choose my graphics card

I'm using the CD that came with it.
__________________
mattx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:34 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Are you certain the GPU is securely installed into the Mobo slot?
You should see a choice for graphics in the Bios and you want to set it to PCI-E.
Get the latest drivers from the Nvidia site. Auto scan: NVIDIA Driver Downloads - Automatically Detect NVIDIA Products

Manual: NVIDIA - Download Drivers
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:42 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
OS: w7



On the bios it doesn't give me the option to select which graphics card I want.

How I installed the graphics card :

I removed my old graphics card (Dell Vostro 200 220 230 260 270 460 470 Tower XPS 8100 8300 8500 420 Video Card | eBay) and placed in the new one.

I used my on-board card to try install the drives (because I wasn't getting any signal from the new graphics card).

The nvidia installer wasn't recognizing any hardware. I also checked device manager and there wasn't any display cards other than my on-board card.
__________________
mattx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:54 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Brand & Model Number of your PSU? The info I find says the Dell Vostro 460 comes with a 350W PSU and OEM PSU's are commonly very poor quality.
Try the GT 640 in another PC to insure it's working.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
OS: w7



PSU : 500 WATT ATX POWER SUPPLY QUIET 20-24 PIN with SATA: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories


**the Graphics card works on another PC
__________________
mattx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 08:06 AM   #8
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,525
OS: Win7



Of the 2 the original Dell Power Supply is a better choice.

Make sure the card is fully seated in the slot and hooked to the monitor on boot.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 08:16 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
OS: w7



Is there any other way that the graphics card is non compatible with my computer?
__________________
mattx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:09 AM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



The 500W PSU is a good candidate for the problem. You don't get a good 550W PSU for £11.49. Your 350W OEM is also not the best but it is probably better than the 500W you are using. The GPU "should" work in your PC if it has sufficient power.
If it will boot with the GT 640 and your Dell PSU then you know the PSU is the problem. However, the Dell PSU should be upgraded to a good quality 420W minimumunit for extended use of the GT 640.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:50 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
OS: w7



the reason why i bought the 500W PSU was because the GPU didn't work with my OEM
__________________
mattx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 12:01 PM   #12
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,525
OS: Win7



In post one you stated
Quote:
When I tried to install the nvidia drives it prompted a error saying "No hardware was detected".
Is this with the monitor hooked to the integrated video or the GT640 card?

Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Randomly Loses Ability To Detect/Connect To Any Networks
Just going to repost what I posted a few weeks ago (been without internet for a week). The thread was closed because I did it wrong, but I'm hoping I get this one right. _________________________ First post here so if I need to provide any extra information just let me know. The problem...
GaZZuM Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 27 09-01-2012 03:46 PM
geforce 460 gtx
Hi, can anyone confirm if i can use a 460 gtx with that computer? Would like to replace my 9500 gt with something not too bad at low price. Doing a /paste of the spec. Thanks SMBios version 2.4 Seanix Technology Inc. P5N-T DELUXE 1.XX Bios: Phoenix Technologies, LTD P5N-T DELUXE ACPI...
Zandarr Video Card Support 2 11-15-2011 04:25 AM
Replacing Integrated Nvidia GeForce 9100 Graphics Card?
Hello, I own a HP Pavilion p6214y Desktop. The specs are here. I'm thinking of upgrading the graphics card/power supply to one of these: Graphics Card: Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100254HDMI Radeon HD 4650 1GB 128-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card Newegg.com - PowerColor AX4650...
dluo Video Card Support 2 06-04-2011 08:03 PM
Problem viewing Youtube Videos on win 7 - display adapter problem
Hi, Hoping someone can help shed some light on my problem, I use youtube quite a bit, but over the last week, when i play a youtube video, my computer randomly shuts down on me, as far as i am aware i haven not changed any set up within my pc and have not had this problem before, now, this...
Reeksy Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 11 03-20-2011 06:28 AM
All you need to know to play the latest games on a Low End PC [updated:07/02/2011]
UPDATE: "3 games Benchmark Added: Dirt 3, Red Faction Armageddon, FEAR 3 NOTICE: I have Upgraded my CPU from a Dual Core E2200 to a Core 2 Duo E7400, so the old benchmarks are based on a Dual Core E2200, but starting from July 2011, all benchmarks will be based on the Core 2 Duo E7400 and the...
RockmasteR PC Gaming Support 2 11-12-2010 08:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts