Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

Sound card with 12 outputs

This is a discussion on Sound card with 12 outputs within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi people, I am a composer and having a very specific problem with one my projects. I am going to

Old 04-19-2017, 04:02 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi people,

I am a composer and having a very specific problem with one my projects. I am going to compose 12 pieces in collaboration with a plastician. She is designing an installation where there is going to be a heart in the middle of the room and we want to put some sort of Raspberry pi or another small computer with an external soundcard which has 12 stereo outputs into it. The heart will have 12 holes so each output can be reached with headphones by people who will visit the exhibition. Thereby, they can listen to different tunes by plugging the headphone jack in one of these outputs.

Could you tell me how I can create or simply buy an audio interface that has 12 stereo outputs? Does it exist?

Thx in advance,
Aillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2017, 07:51 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware

My System

You only need a single output from the device. You could then simply split the output as many times as needed. The only real problem is that a sound card output is low power. I've split the output before for two headsets, I don't know that it could power 12. You may want to use an amplifier between the sound card and the 12 headphone ports so that you could adjust the output volume as needed to power 12 devices.

JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 08:07 AM   #3
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post