Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

[SOLVED] A confusing audio problem

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] A confusing audio problem within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey. Firstly I'd like to state I have very little knowledge of Audio hardware or software so highly technical answers

Old 09-24-2011, 06:27 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hey. Firstly I'd like to state I have very little knowledge of Audio hardware or software so highly technical answers won't be too helpful.

Yesterday, my computer worked perfectly fine, ran as normal, perfect sound and my microphone was working. Today however, I turn my computer on in the morning, and a problem has come up...I have an irritating buzzing sound coming from my left speaker...I amused my speaker had blown, so I tried my headset, nope, that had the same problem. I then tried my Ipod earphones, same problem. Tried the the jacks on the rear panel instead of the front...Problem gone..or not, the problem has switched from the left to the right, and the buzzing is a slightly different tone.

I've tried updating drivers and checking everything is plugged in fine, it all is, the only way I can get sound is by using by speakers and unplugging the one which the buzzing is coming out of. I thought that would have to do for a while, but the problem didn't stop there...On TeamSpeak 3, the buzzing sound would somehow go through my microphone for everybody to hear, and of course, they couldn't hear me. If I plug the jacks directly into the soundcard, I get no sound at all.

The odd thing I found was that if I insert the jack ever so slightly into the computer, I get perfect sound and no buzzing, yet that means holding a cable perfectly still while trying to use my computer...as soon as I move the jack further into to the PC, the buzzing starts.