Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

No sound on Dell OptiPlex GX270

This is a discussion on No sound on Dell OptiPlex GX270 within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Here, I have strange problem. I got new computer, it is Dell OptiPlex GX270 and I dont have sound. No


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2010, 01:33 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional


Question

Here, I have strange problem. I got new computer, it is Dell OptiPlex GX270 and I dont have sound.

No missed drivers or yellow marks. It is not muted. I was looking for solution but didnt found anything. Hope, you can help.

Here is spec for my sound device.

Name: SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
Manufacturer: Analog Devices, Inc.
Status: OK
PNP Device ID: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_01511028&REV_02\3&172E68DD&0&FD
I/O Port: 0x0000EE00-0x0000EEFF
I/O Port: 0x0000EDC0-0x0000EDFF
Memory Address: 0xFEB7FA00-0xFEB7FBFF
Memory Address: 0xFEB7F900-0xFEB7F9FF
IRQ Channel: IRQ 17
Driver:
c:\windows\system32\drivers\smwdm.sys (5.12.01.3555, 532.25 KB (545,024 bytes), 12/2/2009 6:53 PM)

And, I am using Windows XP

Also, I have checked BIOS audio is enabled so there should be no problems.

__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 07:42 AM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,910
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Test with another set of speakers or headphones. If it still doesn't work, return/exchange it or have it serviced under warranty. You shouldn't have to troubleshoot a new computer.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 08:38 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



You mean new to you. Your soundmax driver is here under audio,adi intergrated.
http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/driverslist.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=gen&ServiceTag=&SystemID=PLX_PNT_CEL_GX270&os=WW1&osl=en&catid=&impid=
Download via your internet browser.
Uninstall Soundmax in add/remove programs, reboot, cancel the new hardware found wizard, install the driver from Dell.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:16 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



That was close to solve my problem hitech,
I have downloaded dell driver,
uninstalled the soundmax,
rebooted,
cancelled new hardware wizard,
but when driver is installing it shows me such a error:
''The hda audio bus driver is required and not found''
and it stops.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:35 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



Are you installing the R58182 from Dell? Have installed this on the same Dell with SP3. There is a workaround, making sure you are installing the correct driver.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



Nope, R58182 is the driver that I had installed before and it wasnt working, the driver that I have downloaded from Dell and I am trying to install is R132379.
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:26 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



Did you get the R132379 by using your sevice tag No.? What service pack is installed?
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



Actually no - I didnt use my service tag number, i will do that now.
Service Pack:
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyskaty View Post
Actually no - I didnt use my service tag number, i will do that now.
Service Pack:
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
Cant edit previous post, so I have to create new one - sorry about that,

Now I have used my tag number and I found audio driver, but it looks like the one I used before. I dont think this is gonna help but I will install it anyway.

Yes, as I thought - this is the same driver, didnt helped. Do you have any other ideas?
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:18 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



You can also go here and on the left side of page, click system configuraton.
http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/index.aspx
enter your sevice tag and check original then current.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 02:35 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



Ok, I got it but what should I look for exactly? I dont see anything interesting there. :)
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:05 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



Just having you double check with your sevice tag. With soundmax uninstalled, Go to device manager, audio controller, right click, properties,details and post the Device Instance Id.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:12 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



Here is Device Instance Id.
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_01511028&REV_02\3&172E68DD&0&FD

However, it is called Multimedia Audio Controller. Idk if that makes difference but you should know.
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:20 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



Then the R58182 soundmax driver is what is required.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:36 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



I dont uderstand then, driver is installed, settings are ok and no sound. Sweet! :)
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:59 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,123
OS: Windows



Since you know that the speakers work and you are plugged into the correct port, I have seen from experience this before. The only thing to try is to plug the speakers into the front headphone jack. Otherwize basic PCI sound cards go for $25.
__________________
hitech is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 05:15 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP Professional



Ok, I have connected my headphones to front jack and it was working, so there must be something wrong with my speakers. I was trying to connect them to front jack as well as to back (I have only three jacks on the back) in different combinations but it wasnt working.
These are my speakers:
Creative SBS 5.1 560
http://support.creative.com/Products...T=CategoryID:4

Should I change something in settings or maybe these speakers are not compatible for my sound card. What do you think?
__________________
Pyskaty is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 06:00 AM   #18
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,910
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If they work using the front jack and not the back jack, then the rear jack is faulty. You can continue to use the front, or simply get a new sound card.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts