Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lack of sound on pc

1K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  buccaneer 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,
I just encountered a pc (my nephew's), which has an audio problem. The pc, which has an integrated audio chip does not have any sound. Tried the basic things like checking that the volume is turned up, there is no exclamation marks in the device manager against the sound card entry, the drivers have been updated, checked the speakers on another pc and a phone and it works with both, went to control panel and checked that the default audio output is correctly displayed.
The only difference I see in the control panel speaker properties is that in his pc, all three jacks are shown in the jack info while on mine, only the green is shown. The audio chip on both our pcs is Realtek high definition audio. I am not tech savvy enough to know what the problem could be, perhaps the audio port is damaged? When I put in the speaker jack the speaker gave a single spluttering sound, but no actual audio is coming through the speakers. If the audio chip was shot, it would show up as an exclamation mark bound in yellow in the device manager, would it not?
I hope someone will be able to give me advice about how to troubleshoot this please. *fingers crossed*

#2 ·
Have you tested the speakers in rear panel and the front panel ports?

You can try manually updating/reinstalling the audio drivers.

But based on everything you have done so far, and assuming the speakers don't work in either port, I'd say the audio chipset is faulty.

#3 ·