Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

Front panel audio jacks do not recognize hardware (usb works fine)

This is a discussion on Front panel audio jacks do not recognize hardware (usb works fine) within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, since the moment I booted my computer for the first time I noticed that anything that I plug into


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2010, 04:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Warrington, England
Posts: 79
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Hi, since the moment I booted my computer for the first time I noticed that anything that I plug into the front panel's audio jacks will not be recognized and therefore will not function. I have a Gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G motherboard and am running Windows 7 Ultimate x64, the front panel contains a Mic In & Headphone port along with 2 USB ports and what I can imagine is a volume wheel.
I can assume that the panel is wired up correctly as it has been wired/rewired twice by me and another person and because of the fact that its two USB ports function perfectly.

I have searched the web about this problem already and met with a few instances where disabling "front panel jack detection" in Realtek audio manager has fixed the problem for others but this did not help my problem. I am not even met with the pop-up balloon telling me that something was plugged into the jacks.

As far as I can see there is no option relating to the front panel in the BIOS settings and for the record the back audio panels are working fine. The reason that this is becoming such a bother is that I use headphones and speakers which both require the same rear jack meaning that I need to crawl to the back of my machine and switch the cables when I want to swap from headphones to speakers.

I have also made sure to install drivers from Gigabyte's website.

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks.

__________________
resiguy15 is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 10:00 AM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,897
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Has it ever worked?

There are two types of audio, AC97 and HD. The front panel connections typically only support a single type (although newer brand name cases support both). So you need to ensure the front panel and the motherboard are each the same type. They can't be mixed.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 11:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Warrington, England
Posts: 79
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



I'm pretty sure the motherboards onboard sound card is Realtek HD. How would I find out which of the two my front panel uses?
__________________
resiguy15 is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:04 PM   #4
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,897
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If it's not labeled, you can usually tell by the individual wire labels as they use different pin outs/wire names.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts