Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Sound Cards

Can't find the drivers I need for my onboard sound

This is a discussion on Can't find the drivers I need for my onboard sound within the Sound Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I reformatted my hard drive and now I have no sound, when I go into the device manager it tells


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2006, 03:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

Twisted

I reformatted my hard drive and now I have no sound, when I go into the device manager it tells me I have no drivers for my multimedia audio controller and the hardware ID come up as PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_7012&CC_0401. I have no idea what driver I need or how to get it . I have a WinFast motherboard and on the sound section there's a small chip that has Leadtek AC'02 on it, my opperating system is Windows XP Professional with service pack 2. I have been going insane all day every day trying to figure it out and get my sound back , if anyone can help me it will be very much appreciated.

__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 04:04 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Feehan11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
OS: XP Professional


Send a message via MSN to Feehan11
http://www.leadtek.com.tw/eng/mainbo...t.asp?lineid=3

Would any of these be it?

__________________
Feehan11 is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 06:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System


I don't know if the driver I need is on that web site, see, I don't really know much about drivers so I have no idea what i'm looking for but I will email the people in charge of the leadtek web site and see if they can help me.. thank you for your help.
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 11:47 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


after you formatted did you run the m/board setup disk
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:27 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

no, I don't have a setup disk for it, I baught it as a complete system and didn't get the disks with it.
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:29 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


when you format you have to run it,you can d/l the items from the the m/b makers download section
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

ok, how do i figure out what things i need to download, i don't know that much about computers, I know my motherboard brand is winfast but that's about it
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:40 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


what model m/b
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

I don't know... how do I find out what model it is?
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:45 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


use this program
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

can't, it says i need to pay $29.95 and i don't have a credit card
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:54 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

sorry i was looking at the wrong section, i have downloaded it, i will see if i am smart enough to figure out how to use it now, thanks.
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 04:29 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

This is what comes up in my motherboard section, to me this is just letters and numbers... what do i do now???

Field Value
Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 07/22/2004-SiS-741-6A7I8FK9C-00
Motherboard Name Foxconn K7S741MG-6L / K7S741GXMG-6L

Front Side Bus Properties
Bus Type DEC Alpha EV6
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 133 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 267 MHz
Bandwidth 2133 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 167 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 333 MHz
Bandwidth 2667 MB/s

Motherboard Physical Info
CPU Sockets/Slots 1 Socket 462
Expansion Slots 3 PCI, 1 AGP
RAM Slots 2 DDR DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio, Video, LAN
Form Factor Micro ATX
Motherboard Size 220 mm x 240 mm
Motherboard Chipset SiS741(GX)

Motherboard Manufacturer
Company Name Foxconn Electronics, Inc.
Product Information http://www.foxconnchannel.com/produc...ket=&pChipset=
BIOS Download http://www.foxconnchannel.com/produc...otherboard.cfm
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 06:52 PM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


look here for the chipset drivers
http://www.foxconnchannel.com/produc...t=&pChipset =
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 07:15 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System

I'm going completely insane, i downloaded the chipset driver from that site but it's not working, I think I should just give up before I severely hurt my pc, thank you very much for all your help it's much appreciated.
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 07:23 PM   #16
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


are these the drivers that you d/loaded
http://www.foxconnchannel.com/servic...D=en-us0000004
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:20 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central Qld, Aus
Posts: 10
OS: xp pro with sp2

My System


I baught a sound card today and now I have heaps better sound quality than I had before anyway so it's cool. Thanks heaps for all the help, it's good to know there's still people around that like to help people just for the heck of it... thanks.
__________________
greesygirl is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 11:11 AM   #18
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


you will need those drivers on hand that i put the link up for d/l and burn them to cd

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts