Youtube freezes

This is a discussion on Youtube freezes within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm not sure if this is in the right forum area, but as I'm thinking from searches online that it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2011, 09:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



I'm not sure if this is in the right forum area, but as I'm thinking from searches online that it has to do with my OS rather than something else, I hope I'm in the right place. Also, I did a search for "64 bit youtube freeze" here on this site, and nothing popped up that was related to my issue. So again, if I'm in the wrong place or this has already been addressed if you could redirect me I would greatly appreciate it.

Alright so here we go, I recently got my laptop for christmas and have experienced problems running youtube videos and occasionally file downloads since opening it up. The videos will load partially then stop the download completely. The only way to try and work around this is to add the "&fmt=18" to the end of the URL in the address bar. Even then it is met with small success.

I'm running Windows 7 64-bit, but using the 32-bit IE8 for my browsing. I attempted to use both Firefox and Chrome to no avail. Same issue. My father also has a W7 on 64-bit and experiences the same issue.

I got fed up with it again tonight and went to Adobe's website to update my Flash to the newest (10.2 I believe was the version, around 2230 EST 3/29). It seemed to work fine finally until I clicked a second video that was longer than :30. Then, bam. Same issue all over again.

I've been avoiding Youtube and other flash player sites since I got this computer and I've got to say it's getting to the point where it's less of a minor annoyance and more major. Any help that someone can provide would be incredibly appreciated. If you need any info from me just let me know and I'll do my best to provide it.

Thanks,
Jameson

__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 05:51 AM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,353
OS: Windows 8.1, 8 ,7 + Windbg :)



If you have an Internet Security Suite w/ firewall - remove it -

Uninstallers (removal tools) for common antivirus software - ESET Knowledgebase

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:11 AM   #3
IT Specialist
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,959
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Hi JamesonWilde,

In addition to downloading the latest Adobe Flash Player, also try downloading the lates Adobe Shockwave Player. Hope this helps you out.
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.
DBCooper is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 01:16 PM   #4
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,353
OS: Windows 8.1, 8 ,7 + Windbg :)



http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 01:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



I went to the adobe website and double-checked my version of Shockwave and it is up to date also. So unfortunately no luck there, but thanks for the tip, DBCooper.

JCGriff2, the only antivirus I have installed is Avast, I uninstalled Norton after their program was giving me problems and their tech support was unable to resolve it. Are you saying to uninstall Avast completely?
__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 01:43 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 48,532
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi have you checked the download speed for your connection
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 02:08 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



DL 5287 kb/s
UL 1350 kb/s
Latency 46ms
__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:55 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



Bump.
__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 03:15 AM   #9
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 13,949
OS: Windows 8.1



Please do this:

Uninstall Norton Using The Removal Tool

**NOTE: This uninstalls ALL Symantec Products**
  • Please download the Norton Removal Tool from here, right click on the blue link and choose Save Target as..., and save it to your desktop.
    Once downloaded please close ALL open browsers, also save any work because this may require a restart.
  • Go to your desktop and double click on the removal tool.
  • Click Next
  • Read the Terms and Conditions then click Next
  • Type in the letters/ Numbers that you see into the text box. Click Next.
  • Then click Next and the tool will start running.
Once completed you may have to restart your computer.

Then this:

Please go to the links below to update the following:

Flash
Shockwave

Then Go Here to find what version of Java you are running, and please post back the results.
__________________


"Motivation is what gets you started, Habit is what keeps you going"
Go The Power is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 05:33 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



I've updated my Flash and Shockwave prior to posting, I double-checked with these sites and am running the current version they offer for download.
On the Java site it says
Java Version: 1.6.0_24 from Sun Microsystems Inc.
__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 02:26 AM   #11
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 13,949
OS: Windows 8.1



Did you run the Norton Removal Tool?
__________________


"Motivation is what gets you started, Habit is what keeps you going"
Go The Power is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:03 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



Yes I did.
__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:28 AM   #13
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 13,949
OS: Windows 8.1



Please download JavaRa and save the file to your desktop.
  • Right click and Extract All and a new folder called "JavaRa" will be extracted
  • Once extracted, open that folder and run JavaRa.exe with the picture.
  • Select your Language which is English I assume.
  • Click Search For Updates
  • Select Update Using jucheck.exe
  • Click Search
  • If a newer version is found, allow it to be installed
  • Uncheck the Google Toolbar option. (if you don't want the Google tool bar)
  • When complete, click Remove Older Versions in the JavaRa interface and allow it to proceed
  • When that is complete, click Additional Tasks, then select Remove Useless JRE Files and click Go
  • It will now begin to remove older versions.
  • Exit the tool when complete.
Reboot Your Computer Now.
__________________


"Motivation is what gets you started, Habit is what keeps you going"
Go The Power is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:29 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



Downloaded and ran the tool. Java was up to date, no old files found, and cleared any useless files. Attempted to use Youtube afterwards and no change.
__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:53 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
konefsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Limassol , Cyprus .
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 8 Ultimate

My System


have you tried updating your graphic cards drivers ?
__________________
konefsta is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:04 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brandenburg, KY
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



I haven't, how do I go about doing that?
__________________
JamesonWilde is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:09 AM   #17
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 48,532
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi go to the computer makers support site for your model and get them there, or if you have a seperate video card you can try the card makers suppor site
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:12 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
konefsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Limassol , Cyprus .
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 8 Ultimate

My System


you should download the latest drivers from your graphics card manufacturer .

if its ATI from here
AMD Graphics Drivers & Software

if its nVidia from here
Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers

do you know the name of your graphics card ?

if you dont know then go to
control panel - administrative tools - computer management - device manager - display adapters and there is the name of your graphics card .

__________________
konefsta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My laptop freezes... Please help me!
I've had this problem for a few month. the screen freezes while able to move the mouse. no way to shutdown except pressing the power button for like 5 seconds or pulling the plug. Here's what I've tried, but failed: 1- virus scans, defragmenting, freeing disk space, checked the temp and fan,...
Kaleidoscope0o BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 20 01-14-2011 04:41 PM
Unkown device and computer randomly freezes
Location on Intel(R) 82801FB LPC Interface Controller - 2640. I searched this up many times and tried to install the drivers for it. but it did not work. My computer randomly freezes sometimes at the welcome screen. if not it will seem random when nothing is happening(when not on the "welcome...
Chris-elliott Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 01-09-2011 01:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts