Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Windows XP on a Windows 7 laptop

This is a discussion on Windows XP on a Windows 7 laptop within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Dell Inspiron Mini with Windows 7 Starter. The hard drive is dead and I bought a new


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2012, 08:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
OS: Win7



I have a Dell Inspiron Mini with Windows 7 Starter. The hard drive is dead and I bought a new hard drive but don't have a system recovery cd. I do have a Windows XP cd, can I install XP, then install XP drivers, on it even though the laptop was made to run Windows 7?

__________________
Potts is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 08:11 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


it depends if the hardware supports Windows XP (have drivers for XP) or not.

What is the model number of the laptop?

Do you still have the old HDD their should be a Recovery Partition on it that you can clone the partition to the new HDD to reinstall Windows 7 starter to your laptop.

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
OS: Win7



The model # is Inspiron Mini 1018
Yes I still have the old HDD, but it wasn't working properly. So you're saying even though it's broken I can still clone that partition? On the old HDD I was able to run the HDD diag. tool and I always got error code 2000-0142.
__________________
Potts is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 02:26 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


I would back up all important data from the HDD onto DVD's a thumb drive or external drive then buy a new drive that compatible with yout mini laptop. Your mini laptop is compatible with Windows 7 32bit.

I would get Windows 7 Starter or Home Basic for your laptop since Mini laptops normally have only 1GB of RAM.

If you upgrade to Win7 I would go here Select a product or category from the list below - HP Customer Care (United States - English) download the chipset drivers, Audio drivers, Video Drivers, and wifi, and NIC drivers.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
OS: Win7



I have more trouble now. I was copying the files and I walked away for a bit, while it was still copying, and when I came back the laptop was completely shut down. When I hit the power button nothing lights up, but when I let go of the power button the power indicator light lights up for a spilt second and then goes out. I waved my volt indicator over the keyboard and along the power cord and it beeps indicating power is going through the power cord and laptop. Is the motherboard gone or what?
__________________
Potts is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:21 AM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Check the battery and power adapter with a multi meter. Check the voltage to see if they are producing power.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:33 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,713
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


That sounds like Motherboard is gone. Is this under warranty from Dell by any chance?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is online now  
Old 03-03-2012, 02:37 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,219
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Pull the laptop battery and run the computer with just the power adapter. Try also removing the new HDD and see if the computer will post to the Dell Logo screen. If no, it would be the Motherboard that failed.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 02:38 PM   #9
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,441
OS: Windows 7

My System


usually you always have to install the older OS first before the new one otherwise your computer wont like it.

But you must cheack all hardware is cmpatible with both before doing anything.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Terminal Server Licences for Windows 2003
Hi, we need to allow more users to remote desktop to one of our windows 2003 servers in our windows 2003 domain. The server is running Windows 2003 Standard. I had a look and saw that we could buy a pack of 5 Terminal Server licences - "Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Terminal Server...
galahad3 Windows Servers 9 02-29-2012 08:16 AM
Windows 7 Network Issue (involves Ubuntu 11.10)
Windows has made me a chain smoker. To begin I dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 11.10 on a custom built computer. I use a Belkin Basic Wireless Adapter FD71101 v1 to connect to my wireless networks. I'll have my system specs in a post below since I have to post in Ubuntu and have to switch...
Joseph1334 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 11 02-29-2012 06:30 AM
Artifacts on 260GTX - A double check on symptoms?
Hey Guys first post really appreciate the help you guys offer, Around 1 month ago I was playing Battlefield 3 and all of a sudden the game freezes and red artefacts flood the screen, and the computer would lock up. After a hard reset, then a cold reset, they disappeared. However if I...
Middle Video Card Support 5 02-29-2012 03:09 AM
windows has recovered from an unexpected shutdown
i keep getting these messages occasionally when i start up my computer, sometimes its after my computer has booted up into recovery mode and automatically requested a system restore. i don't get it! i turned my computer off properly, so why is it an unexpected shutdown? these are the problem...
thomashomer1986 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 02-28-2012 07:56 AM
[SOLVED] Unable to install Windows 7
So far I've tried from the disc and from a bootable USB drive, each with different errors. The USB seems less problematic so I've been focusing on using that for now. The problem is that when I get to the screen where I select what partition I want windows to install to it returns the error...
Thuggles Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 02-28-2012 06:52 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts