Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Windows often stops half way through turning on.

This is a discussion on Windows often stops half way through turning on. within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, thank you in advance for your help. I built this computer around 2 years ago and there never has


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2010, 06:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista


Question

Hello, thank you in advance for your help.

I built this computer around 2 years ago and there never has been a problem with it. I am using Vista.
It should be noted that this problem doesn't always occur. It happens around 90% of the time. For example today I restarted my computer about 20 times before it turned on and worked fine. But I would really like to get it sorted, for both the sake of convinience and in case it gets worse.

When I turn my computer on successfully as I have done for the past two years, it goes to the horizontal loading screen, makes two clicking noises from within the computer, the screen goes black and the hard drive begins to spin. It then loads up the login screen.

Recently however, most times when I turn it on, it goes to the horizontal loading screen, makes the two clicking noises and then either nothing happens and it stays on the loading screen indefinitely or the screen goes black indefinitely. In neither case does the hard drive spin.

The only other possible symptom is that around maybe 5% of the time when it does turn on properly, full screen videos and computer games have an unplayablely low frame rate and response time.

I can make guesses at the problem, but i'm far from an expert and i'm not sure at all how to go about fixing this, so any help would be great.

Again, thank you for your help in advance.

__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 08:27 AM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,666
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

What Brand and Model is this PC? What Brand and Wattage is the Power Supply?

I would start with running diagnostics on the hard drive ( click here )

See this for how to make a bootable cd

__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 09:53 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



Well I built it myself 2 years ago so it isn't one brand or model.
It has an Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 CPU in a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard with an EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX graphics card.
I use a Corsair HX 620W power supply.
I have 4GB of DDR2 RAM and two 250GB hard drives.
I use an Asus Xonar DX 7.1 sound card also.

I tried the first link you mentioned but I "do not have permission to access this page".
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 11:02 AM   #4
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,666
OS: XP, Win 7



Diagnostic Utilities By Manufacturer
Here are links to diagnostic utilities for hard drives by the manufacturer.

Conner Hard Drives: Use Seagate Utilities

Fujitsu Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

Hitachi Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

IBM Hard Drives: Use Hitachi Utilities*

Maxtor Hard Drives: Use Seagate Utilities

Quantum Hard Drives: Use Maxtor Utilities

SAMSUNG
http://www.samsung.com/global/busine...ort_HUTIL.html

Seagate Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

Toshiba Hard Drives: Use Hitachi or Maxtor Utilities

Western Digital Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

What are these utilities for?
These utilities are downloaded onto a Floppy or Bootable CD and booted from to test the stability (health) of hard disks. If an operating system or restore disk fails to install multiple times, for example, the hard disk may be in danger of failing.

What should I do if a hard disk is failing?
Your best option is to hook the hard disk up as a slave onto another computer or put it in an external USB/Firewire/eSATA enclosure and retrieve your data before it fails. If a test shows that your hard disk is likely to fail, you should plan on buying another hard disk. Most hard disk manufacturers offer a warranty, so if your hard disk is under warranty to see if you can get a replacement.

How do I determine my hard disk manufacturer?
The easiest way is just to look at the drive. There is usually a sticker with the manufacturer's logo on it. Once you determine the manufacturer, run the corresponding diagnostic utility from the link. You can also use PC-Config on the Ultimate Boot CD, which will help you identify your hard disk without the need of booting into your operating system.

How can I find the manufacturer for future reference without opening up my computer?
You can use a utility called Everest to check who the manufacturer of your hard disk is and it's health status from within Windows. To check who the manufacturer is, go into the Storage > ATA section and scroll down to the bottom to view the manufacturer and their website. To check the health status of a hard disk, go into the Storage > S.M.A.R.T. section and check that the status of each is Value is normal or Always passing. Keep in mind though, the manufacturer's utility that you run from the links above will be specific to the brand of the drive and will probably be more accurate.
Storage > ATA

Storage > S.M.A.R.T.


What if I don't have a floppy drive?
Most of the utilities have an ISO image for a CD, but if they don't, you can use the Ultimate Boot CD, which can be found here.

*For IBM Hard Drives, use the Hitachi Utilities. For IBM desktops, laptops, and servers, visit this site.

Thanks to hwm54112 and petercj for helping me revise this guide.
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 02:16 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



I have Seagate drives and I ran most of the scans available using the 'SeaTools for Windows' program. I assume that I don't need to use the 'SeaTools for DOS' program also? Anyway, they passed all of the scans that I took.
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 03:44 PM   #6
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,666
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you run the "Long Test"?
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 12:51 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



Yes. I ran and passed all of the Basic (non-Advanced) tests.

I should note that my computer turns on fine in safe mode.
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 01:55 PM   #8
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,666
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tfred3 View Post
Yes. I ran and passed all of the Basic (non-Advanced) tests.

I should note that my computer turns on fine in safe mode.
That would make one of the drivers the prime suspect . . try uninstalling the video card drivers, then installing the newest ones you can find
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:52 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



I apologise for the late reply but i've been away.

I uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers but the problem still persists.

When turning my computer on today (it took about 30 attempts) I recieved an error upon loading the desktop, saying that Windows had "Shut down unexpectedly".

Quote:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
I reported it and it suggested reinstalling the graphics drivers as you did. But as I said, I have already done this and the drivers are up to date.
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 01:43 PM   #10
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,666
OS: XP, Win 7



Where are you getting the drivers?

What video card do you have?
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 02:29 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



I am getting my drivers from here: http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us (9 Series), although I have tried using what I get from the windows update program also.

I have an EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX.
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 06-22-2010, 04:21 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



I tried turning it on today but after 50+ attempts, no success.

I ran SFC but it came up empty.

I then tried going through Startup Repair, but it failed and gave the follow log:

Quote:
Root cause found: Unspecified changes to system configuration might have caused the problem.
Repair action: System Restore
Result: Cancelled
Repair action: System files integrity check and repair
Result: Failed. Error code = 0x490
Time taken = 536643 ms
Is attempting a System Restore good idea? Or are there any other options that I can try?
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 10:06 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



Apologies for multiple posting, but I assume that more information is only good.

I attempted a System Restore to about a week ago and it's not as bad now, but still takes several attempts to turn on (it's about the same as it was a week ago, unsuprisingly).
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 10:25 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Vista



One last bump.
__________________
Tfred3 is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 07:08 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


considering that it is a custom build, do you still have the installation media?

If so you can perform a repair install.

Info here: http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/88...all-vista.html

__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts