Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Windows 7 - can't open executable files

This is a discussion on Windows 7 - can't open executable files within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, everything was working well yesterday, but I performed a full scan with adaware, which found 3 issues that didn't


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2011, 03:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 professional sp1



Hi,
everything was working well yesterday, but I performed a full scan with adaware, which found 3 issues that didn't seem severe at all (infected jpg etc.).

Today, I can't launch any programs whatsoever, beyond the stuff that launches on startup (can't even launch things like system recovery in control panels). I opened up the task manager and it seems like whenever I launch something, the process shows up for a second and then dies/gets killed.

I knew it wouldn't help, but tried .exe association fix anyways. I also tried killing a processes listed under my user in case one of them was raping the others and this also did not work.

I'd appreciate any help on this.

__________________
paprik is offline  
Old 07-26-2011, 03:52 AM   #2
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Paisley, UK
Posts: 1,311
OS: Windows 7/8, OS X Lion



Hi paprik and Welcome to TSF,

This sounds more like a malware issue. Let's try a few things first though before moving the thread elsewhere:

Can you boot into safemode and try if that works?
If so, try scanning the PC for malware again.
Try restoring to a previously known working system restore point.

__________________
With kind regards,
T. Ekeberg

Microsoft Certified Professional[/SIZE]
aciid is offline  
Old 07-26-2011, 04:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 professional sp1



Can't believe I didn't think of trying safe mode. Bad news are it didn't help. Good news are I figured out I apparently can launch all 64bit applications and it's just the 32bit ones that won't launch.

And then there's the terrible news - seems like more people have had this issue after using adaware Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit-- Can't open 32bit programs after - Microsoft Answers
and none of them were able to fix it by anything other than a clean reinstall.

edit: Also to answer your suggestions - I can't restore to a previous point if that isn't clear from the previous post (seems like a 32 bit thingy handles it), and Microsoft Security Essentials (the only anti malware thingy I'm able to run now) did not find anything.
__________________
paprik is offline  
Old 07-26-2011, 04:16 AM   #4
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Paisley, UK
Posts: 1,311
OS: Windows 7/8, OS X Lion



I'm afraid that's the only solution I know. Considering x64 operating system "emulates"(simply put) x86 applications, I'm guessing Windows core system is no longer able to handle that "emulation" part.

You could of course try to do a System Repair with the installation CD before continuing, might work.
__________________
With kind regards,
T. Ekeberg

Microsoft Certified Professional[/SIZE]
aciid is offline  
Old 07-26-2011, 05:37 AM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,906
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, don't go the reinstall yet lets see if we can effect some cure. Turn of UAC and see what happens. In safe mode select last known good. If you are heading for a clean install as previous threads have indicated, back up if you have not done so already. Post back your outcome there is more we can do.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 07-26-2011, 08:38 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 professional sp1



UAC and last known good conf. did not solve the issue.

I am currently downloading a Windows 7 iso (from msdnaa) since my previous dvd does not work for some reason. I will probably have to install via an external hard drive, hopefully that works out fine.

I strongly recommend against using lavasoft ad-aware, seeing as how the product's suggested actions (remove in this case) can screw up the whole os.

Thanks for your fast replies anyway.

__________________
paprik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 08:01 AM
pc blocked
i installed a program ,winmate,and after that my problems started,if i try to open any application ,i get an error, and if i try to run my browser it crashes,so I can only use it in safe mode.I did a scan with antivir and i found an hidden object and 36 warning,now i get a clean report scan ,but my...
ladymushroom Resolved HJT Threads 25 05-10-2011 10:14 PM
Computer infected with malware;possibly a virus.
I performed a scan with Avira. It located two things: EXP/Javi.B and TR/Trash.Gen I also performed a Malwarebytes scan.It found Trojan.Hiloti The malware disabled my entire computer sound system. It takes literally 5 minutes to launch either of my browsers.I have IE8 & Firefox. The only way I...
fanny1234 Inactive Malware Help Topics 34 05-07-2011 07:49 PM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 04:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts