Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

win7 64bit clean install on acer aspire

8K views 18 replies 2 participants last post by  troufas 
#1 ·
hello every1,

this is my first time posting here as i couldnt find an answer to my question anywhere on the net. actualy there are many little questions instead of a big one.

1) i recently bough an acer aspire 5745g to replace my "old" sony vaio vgn-fw41e.
now.. the acer has significantly better specs than the vaio and for some reason it feels like its a lot worse..

• it takes 2-3 mins to fully load windows where the vaio only took 30 secs
  • it is slower at opening applications such as mozilla, msn, winLive mail and some more
  • and the graphics on games dont respond that well than with the vaio
what could be the cause of this? i have cleared all the items from the startup and maximized performance for nvidia graphics and still dont see any difference..

2)i was thinking about doing a clean reinstall of win7 pro ( it came with home edition) so i can maybe get rid of any acer programs i dont need. the thing is.. as with my previous laptop, i needed to install the drivers in a very specific order to get them all working properly.
i cant find that order for the aspire 5745g and even though i found the drivers on their support site i see many different drivers for the same thing. how can i know which one is for my pc?

i just feel like i got screwed :sigh: .

well..there actually were only 2 relatively big questions after all.
i would really appreciate any help you could give me!

See less See more
#2 ·
A clean install might be the easiest, at this point. It is probably all the software already on the laptop that is causing this problem.

If you upload a msinfo32 report for us, we can find you the drivers you may need. Chances are, though, that your devices will work fine with the default Windows drivers.
JK said: