Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Win 7 keeps focusing on task bar

This is a discussion on Win 7 keeps focusing on task bar within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Windows 7 keeps focusing on my taskbar. Example : I have a game running in windowed mode, and the task


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2012, 03:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



Windows 7 keeps focusing on my taskbar.

Example : I have a game running in windowed mode, and the task bar randomly appears like in the pic.



If i am running a full screen application, it will minimize to focus on the taskbar. If i only have my browser opened, windows focuses on the taskbar.

To give you an idea what it is like, open your browser and click on your taskbar. Windows un-selects your browser and selects your taskbar.

Ive scanned with malware anti-bytes and ESET smart security 5 but found nothing.

__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 03:59 AM   #2
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,510
OS: PC: Mint Debian Edition 64-bit, Win7 64-bit NB: Xubuntu 14.04

My System


Hi,

If you right click your taskbar and select properties is "auto hide taskbar" selected? If so untick this and press ok. You just want "lock the taskbar" selected.

Hope this Helps

Steve

__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



I only have lock the taskbar selected.
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 04:29 AM   #4
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,510
OS: PC: Mint Debian Edition 64-bit, Win7 64-bit NB: Xubuntu 14.04

My System


Hi,

I found these steps on another website, give these a shot;

Quote:
Switch your theme from aero to basic:
1. Right Click on your desktop and select personalize
2. Scroll down the theme and click on Windows Basic (other themes may also work)

Or reduce the font size:
1. Right Click on your desktop and select personalize
2. Click display in the bottom left of the window
3. Reduce the font size (mine was at 150% so reduced it to 125%)
4. Click apply (it will get you to log off so that the changes can be applied)
Let me know how these go

Steve
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 01:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



Do you mean switch themes and then switch back?
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 03:57 AM   #6
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,510
OS: PC: Mint Debian Edition 64-bit, Win7 64-bit NB: Xubuntu 14.04

My System


You could try it, but i think the first step means keep at as basic then do what ever customization you want to it then.
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 11:01 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



Well i tried it in basic and the problem still occurs...
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 04:11 AM   #8
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,510
OS: PC: Mint Debian Edition 64-bit, Win7 64-bit NB: Xubuntu 14.04

My System


Have you tried the font re-sizing steps? If that doesn't work then all i can thin of for you to try is go to Start menu search command prompt and open it up. type sfc /scannow and press return. This scan might take a while bu it will repair any errors that windows has.
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 01:38 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



My font size is already at 100%, which seems to be the lowest it can go...

sfc /scannow produces no results.
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 02:51 AM   #10
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,510
OS: PC: Mint Debian Edition 64-bit, Win7 64-bit NB: Xubuntu 14.04

My System


does it happen only with the one program?
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 11:29 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



No, taskbar keeps getting focused on even if i only have my browser open.
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:14 AM   #12
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,510
OS: PC: Mint Debian Edition 64-bit, Win7 64-bit NB: Xubuntu 14.04

My System


Ok so did a bit more research for you and found this post, this is the only thing it has to be,

Quote:
In my case, this was related to the notification area (f.k.a. System Tray). Specifically, the "Action Center" notifications were causing the taskbar to pop-up every few seconds. I went into the Taskbar properties, and selected 'Customize' within the Notification area. I chose the 'Hide icon and notification' option for the Action Center icon. I'm sure that some of the other icons could cause this issue, as well. You just need to use trial and error to figure out which one is causing the problem. OR, I suppose you could choose to hide all of the icons if you don't care to see any of them in the system tray/notification area.
Steps:
1. Right click the taskbar
2. Select Properties
3. Click the 'Customize' button in the section labeled 'Notification area'
4. Find the suspect program (Action Center, in my case)
5. Click the drop-down next to the icon of the offending program
6. Select the "Hide icon and notifications" option
7. Click 'OK' to close the Notification Customization screen
8. Click 'OK' to close the Taskbar properties menu
If its not the action centre try with any other program on your notification area

Steve
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 08:49 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



I never see any notifications pop up...

But i just tried setting them all to hide icon and notifications.

Didn't work...
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 08:57 AM   #14
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,510
OS: PC: Mint Debian Edition 64-bit, Win7 64-bit NB: Xubuntu 14.04

My System


Lol this is a pernickety problem. Ok so this is the last solution i could find that would do this to your taskbar.

Quote:
Ok, I think I have figured out the problem. I just watched a 21 minute video without the problem (this was impossible before). It seems that Windows Error Reporter or Problem Reporter was reporting a problem with a single application over 1000 times per 24 hours. Every time the problem reporter reported a problem it must have caused the video players to lose full screen focus and pop up the taskbar for a few seconds. I uninstalled the offending application and now it seems to have stopped. (The program was Orb Video Server -- but I doubt that's important).

Here's how to find out what application is causing the problem:
1. Do a search in the Start Menu searchbar for EVENTVWR and open the exe file.
2. In the middle, there should be a section called "Summary of Administrative Events". Click the + box in front of Errors.
3. There should be a large amount of errors reported in the last 24 hours under Application Errors. Double click the Application Errors name
4. Click on any of the Errors and in the grey description it should give a Faulting application name. That is your culprit application. You can either uninstall that application or I'm sure there is a way to turn the problem reporting off if you feel the application is important or is not actually causing errors.

I don't know for sure if Orb was actually erroring or if Windows just said it was since it still worked fine, but uninstalling it did the trick and the problem reporting has stopped and so has the taskbar problem. Hope this helps.
Give it a go, hopefully it will sort it out. I've never came across anyone with this problem before but i see how annoying it could be.

Steve
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 03-09-2012, 02:08 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



Well here are my errors : errors.evtx

I have no clue how to fix them though...
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-09-2012, 03:50 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



I also noticed some warnings :

Volume Shadow Copy Service warning: VSS was denied access to the root of volume \\?\Volume{8e28feb2-44bf-11e0-97e7-70f3954dc6f2}\. Denying administrators from accessing volume roots can cause many unexpected failures, and will prevent VSS from functioning properly. Check security on the volume, and try the operation again.

Operation:
Removing auto-release shadow copies
Loading provider

Context:
Execution Context: System Provider

and

The speed of processor 7 in group 0 is being limited by system firmware. The processor has been in this reduced performance state for 4084 seconds since the last report.z
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 06:08 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



bump .
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:44 PM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,225
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Try this: Event ID 12348
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-21-2012, 02:45 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win 7



What is a volume root directory?
__________________
Question2 is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 03:00 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,225
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
where <VolumeRootPath> is the path to the volume root directory, for example, C:\.

spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how can i remove virus from being corrupt by a virus on my USB flash drive?
please help me on my problem, my USB flash drive is corrupted of malware virus, i can`t delete the infected files, the file have a original size of 70MB, after i download some trial software and after few days and i use my USB flash drive and when i check the file the size is change into 700MB,...
zzcern Other Hardware Support 2 02-25-2012 12:53 PM
[SOLVED] Displaying on BlackBerry
Hi, Do I have to add a certain code to my website in order for it to be displayed on a blackberry device? The message I get on the blackberry is that it can't be displayed because website is too large:uhoh:
Acer2000 Web Design & Development 3 02-25-2012 03:48 AM
Any advice on cleaning and maintaining a laptop fan/heatsink
I have a customers laptop, that I know there is a problem with the fan, powers on the off, on then off. So before I go and purchase a new fan, i was wondering if there was any advice on cleaning/fixing a fan.. I heard that sometimes thats all the fan needs to become working again. Thanks guys
Tech_Knowledge Laptop Support 2 02-24-2012 07:28 PM
No display on monitor?
I have this relatively old computer (possibly bought in 2006 or 2007) that worked fine for quite a long time. In mid 2010, the computer stopped showing a display on any monitors, and I originally thought the integrated graphics card was the problem (i.e. it had failed). I packed the computer into...
Matt 20 Video Card Support 4 02-24-2012 07:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts