Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support


Why is my computer getting slower but not using more resources

This is a discussion on Why is my computer getting slower but not using more resources within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My computer is kinda old, about 7 years, I've upgraded a few parts and done a fresh install of windows


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2017, 03:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



My computer is kinda old, about 7 years, I've upgraded a few parts and done a fresh install of windows in that time, including replacing the hard drive because some of the issues I was having seemed like the hard drive was dying (turns out it wasn't) but one thing I've noticed is that it seems to be consistently getting slower.
I've run multiple virus scans, have a firewall, defragged, cleaned up my registry, used a program to delete junk files from around my computer, disabled programs in msconfig I wasn't using and obviously I don't have **** on my computer like toolbars, yet it keeps slowing down. This always seems to happen with every computer I use. Sometimes reinstalling windows does the trick but not always.
My resource monitor always says my computer is using almost no resources, even while I'm struggling to scroll down on facebook because my computer is lagging so bad, even when I try to minimize firefox that has one tab open and the tab is google, it will lag. But it comes and goes too, some days, hours, or minutes it will lag intensely, then it can go days/hours/minutes without lagging again. Also the lag doesn't seem to be related to resource use because games like fallout 4 don't lag at all even on the highest settings, netflix will lag, but the video, once playing, will not. The only things that lag seem to be related to the windows interface, like firefox, steam, explorer related tasks like opening folders and minimizing windows.

What causes this, and can I fix it without reinstalling windows.
Sevrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2017, 12:42 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


What is the Make and Model# of your computer?
First off is this Windows 7 32bit or 64bit? how much Installed Memory (Physical RAM) do you have? Right click Computer and choose Properties, this will tell you.
The best way to speed up a computer is to install more RAM. 32bit Windows will only recognize up to 4GB of RAM, you would need 64bit Windows to install more RAM, depending on what Make and Model # your computer/motherboard is. If you are running 64bit Windows with less then 4GB of RAM, this would slow you done immensely/
Quote:
have a firewall, defragged, cleaned up my registry,
If you used a Registry Cleaner, it may have done some False Positives and removed Registry entries that are vital to Windows, slowing down your system. We always suggest to not use these type of programs.
Also, other then the Windows Firewall, what other Firewall or Security (ie) Anti-Virus etc, Software do you use. Many of these programs can slow you down.
We suggest using the Windows Firewall only and the free Microsoft Security Essentials for Anti-Virus and only one Anti-Virus program. Malware removal programs like the free Malwarebytes are fine to have.
You can check the integrity of your HDD by going to Start/Search and type CMD, Right click the CMD results and Run As Administrator. In the Elevated Command Prompt, type chkdsk /R and press enter. Now type a Y for Yes and reboot the computer. Check Disk will start at next bootup and it will go thru 5 stages and take a long time.
Since most of your slowing involves the internet, check your internet speed at Speedtest.net by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test if your internet speed is less then the advertised speed you are paying for, then have your ISP test your lines.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



64 bit. AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4GHz. 16GB DDR3 ram. I don't think my computer has a make/model as I put it together myself from parts I ordered individually.
I used system mechanic to clean my registry. Should I check for registry errors somehow?
I'll run chkdsk when I go to bed, but I hate running that :( it's such a pain in the ***.
Sevrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:15 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Since you built the computer, the Motherboard manufacturer and model# is your make and model# of your computer.
Quote:
If you used a Registry Cleaner, it may have done some False Positives and removed Registry entries that are vital to Windows, slowing down your system. We always suggest to not use these type of programs.
We don't suggest using System Mechanic, this program causes more problems then it solves. We suggest uninstalling it.
To see if you are missing any Registry entries or system files, Start an Elevated Command Prompt as discussed, and type SFC /scannow and press enter. It will replace any missing system files. If it says there were No Integrity Violations, then no files need repaired.
You can go to the motherboard manufacturers support/download drivers site. Type in your model # board and update any drivers that you feel are needed.
Running Check Disk with the /R switch will check your HDD for Bad Sectors. If you have Bad Sectors, it will take a long time. The more Bad Sectors, the longer the scan. If it doesn't complete the scan or takes longer then overnight, then the HDD should be replaced.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:28 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



Oh also another fun detail I would like to add, if my computer has been running for a while without restart, especially if I have put it in sleep mode more than once, it will slow down.
Sevrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:58 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



I have no idea what to make of this CBS log, but I do have corrupted system files. I'd upload the log but it's too big, the forum won't let me.
Sevrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:45 PM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 19,831
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Compress the log.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:59 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



Ah, yes, the obvious answer to that problem. I feel stupid now lol.
Attached Files
File Type: rar CBS.rar (246.9 KB, 2 views)
Sevrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:51 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Quote:
Transaction completed. All files and registry keys listed in this transaction have been successfully repaired
Your CBS.txt (SFC log) says it made repairs to your files. nothing else needed.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:00 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



CMD said it couldn't repair all the damage though?
Sevrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 01:45 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


If you have Windows 7 install media, boot off of that, and after choosing your language, choose Repair Your Computer and do a Startup Repair.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:12 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



Okay, if the problem persists I'll try that but so far my computer seems to be running well. Thank you!
Sevrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD help Windows 7 64 bit
Over the last months I have had different BSOD's. I have little time have not been really been able to post information, but today I have some time finally (plus getting tired of it). Could you help me out identifying what the driver, hardware, problem is? Thanks so much in advance! ...
HardTrance9 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 24 02-18-2014 06:01 PM
Suspect virus that is undetected
It seems that IE 8 is not loading pages well. As I navigate through websites, I get stuttering and have to wait for the page to load. I am getting many instances where I have unresponsive pages. This is escalating to 10 or more times a day and on various websites. A couple of days ago, I...
Ladysmith94 Resolved HJT Threads 58 09-22-2013 07:56 AM
Slow page loads, fake security and update alerts, can't access yahoo mail account
Dear Tech support team, I have recently begun to have the following problems with my laptop. 1- Pages extremely slow to load; Especially homepage. 2- Fake security and update alerts both embedded on webpage and pop-ups 3- Inability to access my yahoo email account using this computer. ...
fishingfool42 Resolved HJT Threads 32 08-19-2013 08:43 AM
no audio after installing XP Pro SP3 to IBM T60
Sound worked fine before installing XP Pro SP3......after instal, no audio. No audio after installing XP Pro SP3 (from disc) on an IBM/Lenovo T60 ThinkPad. IBM/Lenovo drivers from Lenovo Support site for "Audio Device on High Definition Audio Bus" are not recognized when trying to install...
Ray G Windows XP Support 19 11-20-2012 07:15 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com