Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

VGA ADAPTER!!! This device cannot start. (Code 10)???

This is a discussion on VGA ADAPTER!!! This device cannot start. (Code 10)??? within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone Right let me begin, Just got new laptop (DELL XPS l502x) preloaded with windows 7 home... I had


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2011, 01:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7 enterprise



Hi everyone

Right let me begin, Just got new laptop (DELL XPS l502x) preloaded with windows 7 home...

I had a copy of windows 7 infinium (modded 7 enterprise or something? but looked really good!)

So I thought I would give it a go. Seems that it didn't have some of the drivers needed so I needed to install these separately. I thought I had done everything until this afternoon when I tried connecting the laptop to the tv via hdmi. Nothing happened? I started going through the usual settings but couldn't get it working!
Looked in device manager and under 'display adapters' - 'Standard VGA graphics adapter' I get the dreaded warning sign! I double click on 'Standard VGA graphics adapter' and get
This device cannot start. (Code 10)??

So I uninstalled it, ran a registry cleaner, restarted laptop, let windows find and install it but still receive same error!!!

I really need this to work as i use the laptop to watch films on the tv all the time!

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks in advance!!!

__________________
sambo 99 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 01:34 PM   #2
Windows Tech Team
 
lfcgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 699
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro



Don't use any modded operating system, instead reinstall your original operating system using the provided OEM discs if you have them

__________________
lfcgeorge is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 01:35 PM   #3
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,294
OS: Win7



First suggestion would be to remove the cracked copy of Windows 7 and reinstall the original preload and your problem will be solved.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 01:37 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7 enterprise



Thanks for your reply.

I have only got the dell drivers and utility disc that came with the laptop. any good?
__________________
sambo 99 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 01:38 PM   #5
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,294
OS: Win7



Did you format over the restore partition on the hard drive or is it still there?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 01:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7 enterprise



not sure?
There was different partitions I think i left the back up partition alone? it wasnt very big though?
__________________
sambo 99 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 02:02 PM   #7
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,294
OS: Win7



See if you can get to the recovery partition > Restoring Your Dell Computer to Original Factory Installation with Dell DataSafe Local Backup 2.0 | Dell
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 02:17 PM   #8
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


A code 10 usually refers to a driver installation required but can also point to a hardware failure.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not Sure What the Problem Is
I ordered a few things on amazon, and I got an e-mail claiming to be from UPS. I clicked on the link that claimed to be my shipping information, and it began downloading a file. After it was too late, I realized that this was spam because tracking information is usually online, and not in...
MJPrudhomme Resolved HJT Threads 41 05-23-2011 03:09 PM
can connect dir 615 with adsl modem
hi guys, recently i got a dlink dir 615 router from a friend. i'm using adsl modem now. i want to connect the modem to the router so that i have a wireless at home for my laptop and iphone. i have follow the step in the router manual but it did not work. i just cannot conect to the router page...
agni115 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 15 02-08-2011 10:36 AM
Virus redirecting all of my pages.
My computer is completely screwed! First no sound now this! Almost every time I try to do something on the internet my page is getting redirected to something else! I always have to rush to click the X button to stop the page from loading. But I want a permanent fix! Please help.
TheresMoreToMe Resolved HJT Threads 26 01-26-2011 04:48 PM
REMOTE Hacker - Bank Accounts, Email, Facebook and Administration Control
Hello Tech Support Members. This is long, though it is a culmination of past (solved threads, that aren't) information all in one as well as an all around plea to the selfless experts. I am creating this final last ditch thread to help shed some light on a real enigma that has been cloaking my...
fiLmNut Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 4 01-21-2011 05:33 AM
Need some help. Virus/malware Thanks!
:upset: Tons of popup windows saying this file is infected and that file is infected, do I want to open up my security software (and this isn't my CA security suite doing this). Even if I'm using Firefox random windows in IE will open with (******.com/porno.com/adult.com). Hardly any...
R_Willis Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 01-20-2011 09:50 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts