Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

userinit.exe-application error application failed to initialize properly(0xc0000022).

This is a discussion on userinit.exe-application error application failed to initialize properly(0xc0000022). within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. On start up I get this error and a blank screen in safe mode and normal.I can get it to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2011, 02:32 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista



On start up I get this error and a blank screen in safe mode and normal.I can get it to boot up by ctrl+alt+del,task manager,file,new task run,explorer.exe enter but it won't let me do any thing

__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 03:50 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


Quote:
Originally Posted by donnythedondon
On start up I get this error and a blank screen in safe mode and normal.I can get it to boot up by ctrl+alt+del,task manager,file,new task run,explorer.exe enter but it won't let me do any thing
I try do a system restore does not work regular and cmd
Internet does not work eather
I'm new at this so any detailed help wold be great

__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 07:13 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Try booting up the way you mentioned and run a new task - type in CMD and that should bring up a command prompt window. At the command prompt, type SFC /Scannow and see if the system file checker can repair the problem.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 11:18 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,973
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, if you can access a cmd prompt (go to start ,all programs, accessories and right click on command prompt select "run as administrator" at the prompt type:-
(copy paste) press enter

Code:
REG QUERY "HKLM\software\microsoft\windows NT\currentVersion\winlogon" /v userinit /s
Copy the outcome here.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 12:52 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


Ok ill do that thanks for your interest in my problem
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 01:00 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Jenae, is that a slick way to report the value of UserInit in the registry?
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 02:58 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,973
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, yes it will report that value alone, very useful.
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 05:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


When I try to access the cmd that way it say (c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe
The dependency service or group failed to start).
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 05:34 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


Ok restarted and was able to get it up
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 05:44 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


Can't copy the out come because my internet does not work
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 06:15 PM   #11
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Donny, if you can run the command Jenae posted, it should reply with the following> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows NT\currentVersion\winlogon
Userinit REG_SZ C:\Windows\system32\userinit.exe,

End of search: 1 match(es) found.

What is in blue is the important part. If you get something different, just type it out or write it down and post it.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 06-21-2011, 02:02 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


Must of done it right because I get what you posted but that's it nothing else.

What's in the blue is what's important?
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-21-2011, 02:51 AM   #13
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,973
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, well that's the right value, you are logged in as admin with this account? If so go to control panel user accounts and create a new account with admin rights reboot to this new account does the problem continue in the new account?
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:55 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


It won't open user accounts
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-21-2011, 04:03 PM   #15
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,973
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, use the inbuilt diagnostic Admin account see if you can access user accounts. Open a command prompt (as admin as per above instuctions Post #4. At the prompt type:-

Code:
Net user administrator /active:yes
(press enter) Restart computer and log in as "Administrator".

To remove, Command prompt and type:-

Code:
Net user Administrator /Active:No
(press enter)
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 06-22-2011, 02:31 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


Well that did not work I just got an error message.
Net.exe-application error
The application failed to initialize properly(0xc0000022).click ok to terminate the application.
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-22-2011, 02:32 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


This viris really sucks
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-22-2011, 03:46 AM   #18
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,973
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, open a command prompt as admin at the prompt type:-


net localgroup Administrators /add networkservice
press enter then type:
net localgroup Administrators /add localservice
press enter then type:
exit
press enter and restart your computer
__________________

jenae is offline  
Old 06-22-2011, 06:55 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
OS: vista


I'm sorry this sucks.it didn't work
I got the same error
__________________
donnythedondon is offline  
Old 06-22-2011, 07:44 AM   #20
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Donny, have you recently removed any malware or viruses? I've come across malware that would delete the Userinit.exe file and change that value in your registry, but the result is a logon loop that wouldn't allow you to get as far as you're getting. It's sounding more like you don't have the correct Administrator permissions to run anything.

__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop freezing and Slow
Hi This is my kids laptop it has become very slow particularly to start up and is freezing quite regularly now. Sometimes the screen also goes grey. Daughter is about to start her exams and we are worried it goes altogether when she needs it most. Logs below and attached as per instructions....
fifelady Resolved HJT Threads 17 05-23-2011 12:04 PM
[SOLVED] Another Search engine redirect issue
I keep getting redirected while using search engine. Have to go back and click links again to get to proper site. All my normal cleaning procedures find nothing. I cannot run gmer(I get a blue screen and pc reboots itself;sometimes it says bad pool header). I do not have access to boot cd. ....
brokerb311 Resolved HJT Threads 20 05-06-2011 09:47 PM
My computer is pinging without me
So I've been noticing problems within the last couple of weeks. Twice now my hosting company has blocked my IP saying that I'm accessing their site numerous times within seconds. The first time I thought it was b/c I pressed on "get mail" several times in a row, but today they said it happened...
ep2002 Inactive Malware Help Topics 54 04-09-2011 08:10 AM
Help! My Computer is sending spam from my hotmail account
My computer has been sending Spam emails to my contact list off and on for a couple of weeks now. I've run Avast antivirus and SuperAntiSpyware multiple times, but still the spam goes out. I am using Outlook to manage my email (several accounts setup, but only my msn.com account is affected). It...
coast105 Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-31-2011 07:25 PM
Need some help. Virus/malware Thanks!
:upset: Tons of popup windows saying this file is infected and that file is infected, do I want to open up my security software (and this isn't my CA security suite doing this). Even if I'm using Firefox random windows in IE will open with (******.com/porno.com/adult.com). Hardly any...
R_Willis Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 01-20-2011 09:50 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts