Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Two computer icons/folders on my desktop, need help!

This is a discussion on Two computer icons/folders on my desktop, need help! within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, good afternoon. I realized this too late and system restore doesn't seem to fix it given that I've had


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2013, 09:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



Hi, good afternoon.

I realized this too late and system restore doesn't seem to fix it given that I've had this for at least a few weeks. When I go to desktop, I have two computer folders! But only one looks like the real one, with that blue computer like icon and contains my hard disk drive, etc. The other one looks like a normal folder except with a little person icon. It's like a user icon, the one that usually has your computer name, like Rogers Computer or something. And that makes sense because inside the folder is my downloads docs music videos etc.

When I click on my computer on right side in startup thing, it does take me the right computer folder. So I don't know what this user type folder do. How do I know I"ve had it for a while? Last couple of times I tried to do back up to my ext HD Drive, my username folder would not show up, so there was no Rogers Computer folder. I ended up being unable to use the WD smartware to back up my work to my WD ext hard drive because like I said I could not find my user folder. And now that makes sense. Of course if I go to my computer folder (the real one), click it, then click C, then users, I can find the Rogers Computer folder but it does not have any person icon on it. It does have a little lock icon, not sure if that means anything. If I click it, I get the same content that I do when I click that fake computer folder on desktop.

I tried to delete the icon, but won't let me even after restart or restore. When I say right click delete, little icon with white page and small black cross at left bottom shows up asking me if I want to delete the "computer icon" from desktip and I say yes but nothign happens.

When I right click the fake computer folder btw, it does not have properties. It only allows me to open, open in new window, include in library, copy, create shortcut, delete. If I try to drag it to, say, my downloads folder, it also won't let me. Nor will it allow me to rename it.

Sorry for my explanations, I suck at computers, I also included a picture to show you. The highlighted one is the normal computer and the one above is the fake computer folder, as I call it.

Thanks so much for all your help appreciate it.


__________________
ROGman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 09:59 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,687
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

What is the PC name? What did you name it when you first got it?

Try running this:

Diagnose and repair Windows File and Folder Problems automatically

__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 03:04 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,595
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Enable the Hidden Administrator account: Enable the (Hidden) Administrator Account on Windows 7 or Vista
Log out of your profile and log in as Administrator.
Browse to C:\Users your user name profile open Desktop try deleting the folder now.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 06:35 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



thank you very much for the replies. The computer is named Roger. Or Rogers Computer, can't remember which I named it originally. But it was never named just "computer." I am currently attempting both solutions and will let you guys know how it goes. Thanks again. :)
__________________
ROGman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 06:51 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



I did the first one, and it said recycle bin was corrupt, and fixed it but other than that all being fine and I tried deleting that computer folder and could not.

I then tried the second suggestion, and this time the second computer folder (with that person or user icon or whatever that is) still showed up on the desktop but now it was not called "computer" but something like "administrator's system files" but still it could not be deleted.
__________________
ROGman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 09:56 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,687
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Does it show up in Safe Mode?

Go to Start > Type CMD > Right Click on Command Prompt and press Run as Admin. > In the popup type: SFC /scannow
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:18 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



yes, thanks for the followup. I did that command in the safemode, not sure what it is actually, but no problem was reported.
__________________
ROGman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 10:08 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,687
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Do you have any other PCs in the house that would be named Computer?

What if your Antivirus?
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:04 PM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,041
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, most likely a namespace problem, go to start search and type regedit right click on the returned regedit.exe and select "run as administrator". Registry editor will open.

Navigate to:- HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\Desktop, highlight this key then go to the file menu and select "export" save as desk.reg and save to desktop (this will give us a backup).

Now back to the key:-
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\Desktop\Namespace under the sub key Namespace you will see a long list of Gui's looks like this:-
\{F02C1A0D-BE21-4350-88B0-7367FC96EF3C}, highlight each one and in the right payne it will tell you what they are (for example this one is computer and devices) if you locate the errant entry highlight the Gui and right click select delete.If you find this Gui \{98D99750-0B8A-4c59-9151-589053683D73} it is most likely the culprit, delete it.

You could also try to flush the Icon Cache go to start search and type:- cmd right click on the returned cmd.exe and select "run as administrator" at the prompt type:-

taskkill /im explorer.exe /f (press enter) Your desktop will go blank.

Now type each line and press enter after each line.
Note the spaces.


CD %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local

attrib -h IconCache.db

del IconCache.db

explorer.exe

Let us know how you get on.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 09:31 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Do you have any other PCs in the house that would be named Computer?

What if your Antivirus?
No.

Second question, I have Microsoft's Security Essentials.
__________________
ROGman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:11 AM   #11
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,687
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Try what Jenae suggested.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 05:04 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
OS: windows 7



jenae, thanks for the detailed instructions. I did the second method, and yes the desktop went blank but then came back on and the problem still there. Of course the desktop is not exactly like it used to be. Now I also have control panel there and computer (the correct one) and network, in addition to several shortcuts from before (games, download manager, etc).

I did not do the first method cause I'm worried it'll mess up my system.
Are you sure it's safe? Because I did not find an entry for that computer one, but I did find the one GUI "98D99750-0B8A-4c59-9151-589053683D73" you mentioned. However it says it's media center extension or something like that...shouldn't have closed it as now I can't remember the exact description.

EDIT: something odd happened. Previous to flushing icon cache, in this location ( Computer/ C: / Users) I had Roger Computer, Public, and Updatususer, with only Roger Computer having a lock icon next to it. Now Updatususer also has one! I don't remember what used to be in there but now when I click that, there is only one folder, and it's called desktop. I click that and there are just three shortcuts to MSN games, DJView, and GTR 2 (game).
__________________
ROGman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:19 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 360
OS: windows 7 service pack 1



ok try this right click on desktop, click on personalize, next click on change desktop icons.

make sure computer, user files and recycle bin are selected. also in the icons below the user name folder is a folder with a person next to it if not click on change icon or restore default then click apply.

__________________
steve32mids is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TSF Hardware Team's Recommended Builds - 2014
http://www.techsupportforum.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/TSF-logo_Small.png Welcome to the 2014 Recommended Build Guide Custom Intel and AMD PC Builds Outstanding Quality, Outstanding Performance, Outstanding Value Revised 6/1/14 and updated regularly!
Masterchiefxx17 Building 2 02-04-2014 01:16 PM
Bsod at startup, many error codes
So, ive been getting bsods when i start my computer or when i come out of hibernation. It's weird though, after i get some in the beginning and restart my computer a few times, i will stop getting bsods until the next time i restart or come out of hibernation. · OS - Vista · x86 (32-bit) ·...
JayXia BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 04-18-2013 10:25 PM
My poor neighbor slow running with ads everywhere
My neighbor asked me for help, and I had mentioned the success I had with your help sometime back with my own PC. Their PC is running disastrously slow and gets pop up advertising every few seconds. Here's the DDS I ran from their machine: DDS (Ver_2012-11-20.01) - NTFS_AMD64 Internet...
dandoming Resolved HJT Threads 27 01-23-2013 11:41 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts