Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

sttray.exe bad image

This is a discussion on sttray.exe bad image within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. whenever i log on i get this message. how can i get rid of this. its annoying and cant use


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2011, 07:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista


Question

whenever i log on i get this message.

how can i get rid of this. its annoying and cant use meany features on my laptop.

C:\Windows\system32\ODBC32.dll is either not designed to run on windows or it contains an error. try installing the program again using the orignal installation media or contact your system administrator or the software vendor for support

[ok]

how can i fix this..thanks

__________________
chriswasky is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 10:14 AM   #2
CEM
TSF Enthusiast
 
CEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida / USA
Posts: 660
OS: win7 Professional x64


Send a message via MSN to CEM Send a message via Skype™ to CEM

Welcome to TSF..
  1. Please download OTViewIt and save it to your desktop.
  2. Double click on OTViewIt.exe to run it.
  3. Click on the Run Scan button at the top left hand corner.
  4. OTViewIt will start running. When done, 2 Notepad files will open. Please post the contents of these 2 files in your next reply. 1 log per reply please.

__________________
Trust God and walk in His WAY
CEM is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 09:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
wadmancpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 172
OS: Windows 7 Pro 32 Bit



I believe sttray.exe is a sigmatel audio driver. Try re-installing your audio drivers.
__________________
wadmancpu is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 10:30 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by wadmancpu View Post
I believe sttray.exe is a sigmatel audio driver. Try re-installing your audio drivers.

how do i do that? i have a dell inspiron 6400

windows vista home basic
__________________
chriswasky is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 10:31 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by betranu View Post
Welcome to TSF..
  1. Please download OTViewIt and save it to your desktop.
  2. Double click on OTViewIt.exe to run it.
  3. Click on the Run Scan button at the top left hand corner.
  4. OTViewIt will start running. When done, 2 Notepad files will open. Please post the contents of these 2 files in your next reply. 1 log per reply please.

where do i download that? and what do i do?
__________________
chriswasky is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 11:20 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
wadmancpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 172
OS: Windows 7 Pro 32 Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by chriswasky View Post
how do i do that? i have a dell inspiron 6400

windows vista home basic
For the driver: In the search bar in your start menu type: devmgmt.msc In the device manager menu find your sound device. Right click and select uninstall. Next, you need to download your new audio driver from dell- Welcome to Small Business Support
When searching for drivers it's best to enter your service tag number located on your pc. Instructions are on the site. When the driver file is downloaded just double click it and follow the instructions. Good luck!
__________________
wadmancpu is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 11:35 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by wadmancpu View Post
For the driver: In the search bar in your start menu type: devmgmt.msc In the device manager menu find your sound device. Right click and select uninstall. Next, you need to download your new audio driver from dell- Welcome to Small Business Support
When searching for drivers it's best to enter your service tag number located on your pc. Instructions are on the site. When the driver file is downloaded just double click it and follow the instructions. Good luck!

wont let me. the error comes up saying mmc. exe bad image
C:\Window\System32\ODBC32.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error. try installing the prgram agin using the original installation media or contact your system administrator or the software vendor for support.


i cant do anything lol
__________________
chriswasky is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 03:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
wadmancpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 172
OS: Windows 7 Pro 32 Bit



Try running the system file check tool:
* click Start
* click All Programs, then Accessories
* right click on the Command Prompt option,
* on the drop down menu which appears, click on the Run as Administrator option.

* If you haven’t disabled User Account Control (and you shouldn’t!) you will be asked for authorisation. Click the Continue button if you are the administrator or insert the administrator password.
2. Start the System File Checker
* In the Command Prompt window, type: sfc /scannow,
* press Enter.
* You’ll see “the system scan will begin”.
The scan may take some time and windows will repair/replace any corrupt or missing files. You will be asked to insert your Vista DVD if it’s needed.
Close the Command Prompt Window when the job is finished.
__________________
wadmancpu is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 07:27 PM   #9
CEM
TSF Enthusiast
 
CEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida / USA
Posts: 660
OS: win7 Professional x64


Send a message via MSN to CEM Send a message via Skype™ to CEM

  1. <LI itxtNodeId="55" itxtHarvested="0">Please download OTViewIt and save it to your desktop. <LI itxtNodeId="54" itxtHarvested="0">Double click on OTViewIt.exe to run it. <LI itxtNodeId="53" itxtHarvested="0">Click on the Run Scan button at the top left hand corner.
  2. OTViewIt will start running. When done, 2 Notepad files will open. Please post the contents of these 2 files in your next reply. 1 log per reply please
  3. For download Click on OTViewit in the first line.

__________________
Trust God and walk in His WAY
CEM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request for assistance cleaning up/out virus & bad image errors
Hi there. With the hope someone may be able to navigate me through a fix to restore this laptop to its pre "Windows XP Recovery" virus state, and the further hope I've not frustrated the solution process going too far ahead solo, here goes... My laptop is a newer Dell running Windows XP (I...
dagtagit Resolved HJT Threads 74 06-14-2011 05:40 PM
For Ried
Hi there is a attachment ark.zip with 'dds' and 'ark'. . DDS (Ver_11-05-19.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_13 Run by Owner at 22:01:08 on 2011-05-29 Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600.3.1252.1.1033.18.959.243 . AV: McAfee Anti-Virus and...
Nela09 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 78 06-09-2011 07:32 PM
[SOLVED] Bad Image Errors on start of Vista for me too, dangit
Hello most excellent army of tech lords (I use that gender unspecifically :pray:). I have been here before but it has been a very long time so I simply re-registered. I have the subject issue on a sorta' kinda' new Toshiba Satellite laptop loaded with Vista that I have not, repeat not,...
Iig Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 18 02-21-2011 01:55 PM
[SOLVED] Please help explain/identify Freezing - suspect GFX drivers
Hi all, I'm really at my witts end here - was about to RMA my N470SO as I'm constantly getting random hard freezes during MOH 2010. Borrowed exactly the same card from a friend - same issue - so doesn't appear to be a hardware (GFX anyway) fault. Good job I didnt sent it as RMA. Could any of...
trivstar Motherboards, Bios & CPU 10 02-14-2011 03:06 AM
Bad Image Error Windows XP
Hi I could really use some help...whenever I open an application or program an error message comes up saying Bad Image etc with whatever program I'm using. I tried using the dds scan thing or whatever but this error won't allow me to complete it. I have tried using ad-aware scan and spybot S&D and...
Vincentian Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 02-03-2011 09:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts