Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

Startup repair can not repair this computer automatically

This is a discussion on Startup repair can not repair this computer automatically within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've been running Win 7 x64 for about three weeks now. I just recently started re-installing all my old software


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2009, 12:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 55
OS: Win7 Pro x64 / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32-bit) / XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via MSN to DSage Send a message via Yahoo to DSage

I've been running Win 7 x64 for about three weeks now. I just recently started re-installing all my old software I had on my vista system before. I do a restart and it would not load or repair, most annoyingly thing is when I go to system restore I have lots of restore points available but i'm unable to select any of them to click the next button which remains greyed out in the status section it says "you must enable system protection on this drive" for the local disk C:. As far as i know, this can only be enable once you've logged into windows.

I have tried booting from a CD and get the same results.

Under Problem Details:-
Problem event name: StartupRepairOffline
problem signature 01: 6.1.7600.16385
problem signature 02: 6.1.7600.16385
problem signature 03: unknown
problem signature 04: 21215624
problem signature 05: autoFailover
problem signature 06: 7
problem signature 07: BadDriver
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033



Help is MUCH appreciated!

__________________
DSage is offline  
Old 11-25-2009, 01:24 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



Hit the F8 Key when booting to go to the Advanced Boot options. Hit the allow Low Resolution and Disable Automatic Restart. If that doesn't work then try the Repair your Computer option.

__________________
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 11-25-2009, 02:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 55
OS: Win7 Pro x64 / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32-bit) / XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via MSN to DSage Send a message via Yahoo to DSage

I've already tried Repair. Doesnt work. And neither do the other two options.
__________________
DSage is offline  
Old 11-25-2009, 03:16 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,850
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



mistake on post ignore
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 07:42 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 55
OS: Win7 Pro x64 / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32-bit) / XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via MSN to DSage Send a message via Yahoo to DSage

bump :)
__________________
DSage is offline  
Old 11-27-2009, 04:25 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft MVP
 
usasma's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeastern CT, USA
Posts: 7,450
OS: Win7



Test the hard drive: http://www.carrona.org/hddiag.html
Most issues of this sort can be traced back to a hardware issue.
If the hard drive passes the diagnostic, then it's either use the restore points (which you can't) or format and reinstall the system.
__________________
John Carrona, Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Driver Reference Table ` ` BSOD Index
usasma is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 07:31 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 55
OS: Win7 Pro x64 / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32-bit) / XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via MSN to DSage Send a message via Yahoo to DSage

I cant login let alone test the hard drive from a link. Thanks for the help anyway. Guess I'll have to do a clean install.
__________________
DSage is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 08:06 AM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft MVP
 
usasma's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeastern CT, USA
Posts: 7,450
OS: Win7



The hard drive tests are created on a bootable CD/DVD.
So you make the bootable CD, then you boot from the CD when it's in your drive.
Windows is not required.

__________________
John Carrona, Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Driver Reference Table ` ` BSOD Index
usasma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts