Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Windows won't boot after running Avast boot time scan -

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows won't boot after running Avast boot time scan - within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. After running a Avast boot time scan on a Aspire 7530 running Windows 7, the laptop is stuck in a


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



After running a Avast boot time scan on a Aspire 7530 running Windows 7, the laptop is stuck in a startup repair loop which cant be fixed. Cannot get into safe mode either.

Problem details from the failed startup repair - OsVersionMismatch.
Recovery options using the windows installation disk gave me an error I was using a version of recovery tools that was not compatible with my version of Windows.

Using the command prompt I have tried chkdsk /r but it says the disc is write protected.

Next I ran diskpart and cleared the write protection on C drive

Tried chkdsk /r again - this is what I got...

X:\Sources>chkdsk r/
The type of file system is NTFS
Cannot lock the current drive
Windows cannot run disk checking on this volume because it is write protected.

The problem details from the failed startup repair read as follows.

Problem signature:
Problem event name: StartupRepairOffline
Problem signature01: 0.0.0.0
Problem signature02: 6.1.7600.16385
Problem signature03: unknown
Problem signature04: 36
Problem signature05: AutoFailover
Problem signature06: 1
Problem signature07: OsVersionMismatch
OS Version 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
LocalID 1033

Any help is appreciated.

__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:40 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



bump.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	startup repair error.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	166.8 KB
ID:	122931  

__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:58 AM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Which disk did you use? Which Version of Windows 7 do you have 64bit or 32bit? You can only use a 32bit repair disk if you have Windows 7 32bit and visa versa.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for your reply.

The results I've posted were from a Vista installation 32 bit disk. The startup repair detected win 7 OS, but the laptop originally ran Vista so I'm guessing the laptop is a few years old now.

I'd already tried repairing the laptop using a win7 repair disk I made from another laptop, a 32 bit Advent laptop.

I've since noticed on the laptop CPU sticker (AMD Turion X2) the number "64" so I made a 64 bit repair disk (Advent version) but got much the same results which I've included below.

I can get to the command prompt, notepad and ChkDsk options if that's any help.

I also ran a windows memory test and it passed. I'm now trying the same test using Memtest just in case.

Problem signature:
Problem event name: StartupRepairOffline
Problem signature01: 0.0.0.0
Problem signature02: 6.1.7600.16385
Problem signature03: unknown
Problem signature04: 30
Problem signature05: External Media
Problem signature06: 1
Problem signature07: OsVersionMismatch
OS Version 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
LocalID 1033
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:37 AM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


From the Repair option command prompt try running

chkdsk /r

also the repair options including System Restore
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for getting back to me.

Running chkdsk /r from the command prompt....

"The type of the file system is NTFS.

Cannot lock current drive.

Windows cannot run disk checking on this volume because it is write protected"


And from System Restore....

"No restore points have been created on your computer system drive"
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:10 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



bump.
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:27 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Anymore suggestions please?
I have up to date backups and all the installation discs, so re-installing Vista is an option I have if all else fails - however, I would really like to know what the root of the problem is or at least get some idea to what's happened to my operating system (if it still exists!) before resorting to this.
Thank you.
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 03:27 AM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,906
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, I am confused by this post. Do you have windows Seven? Are you accessing the RE (repair your computer) from a seven OS disk...What has Vista to do with this?

If you run the cmd chkdsk/r from the x sources prompt you are trying to do a chkdsk on the RE VM Ram drive this is not going to effect your OS drive at all.

Why would you run diskpart? Makes no sense at all the Ram drive is meant to be read only by design.

Are you able to boot to the RE (repair your computer) using a seven OS disk, if so first try a "Startup repair" if this fails you can try a chkdsk. I would only run with the "F" parameter at this stage. Select command prompt at the x sources prompt type:-

chkdsk C:/f (press enter) After this restart your computer.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:37 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Hi jenae,

Thanks for posting


Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, I am confused by this post. Do you have windows Seven? Are you accessing the RE (repair your computer) from a seven OS disk...What has Vista to do with this?

I have W7 installed on this laptop, but at the start of the repair attempt I did not have a W7 OS disk, so I used a Vista installation disc to get to the command line.



If you run the cmd chkdsk/r from the x sources prompt you are trying to do a chkdsk on the RE VM Ram drive this is not going to effect your OS drive at all.

Why would you run diskpart? Makes no sense at all the Ram drive is meant to be read only by design.

Didn't realise this was the ram drive


Are you able to boot to the RE (repair your computer) using a seven OS disk, if so first try a "Startup repair"

Yes I can get to the "startup repair" option using a W7 recovery disk I made, but the repair failed

if this fails you can try a chkdsk. I would only run with the "F" parameter at this stage. Select command prompt at the x sources prompt type:-

chkdsk C:/f (press enter) After this restart your computer.

After entering the F parameter I got the following message

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Chkdsk may run if this volume is dismounted first.
ALL OPEN HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID.
Would you like to force a dismount of this volume? <Y/N>

Not sure what to do - should I choose the yes option?
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 02:50 PM   #11
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,906
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi, the volume should not be in use, this is in RE isn't it? You are typing this from cmd prompt x sources?

Repeat the process and at cmd prompt "X sources>" type:-

bcdedit | find "osdevice" (press enter) type exactly as here.

Should return:-

osdevice partition X: (where X: is the drive letter)

Change your chkdsk drive letter to whatever this cmd returns.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 04:39 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Hi jenae,

I can't get this command to run, have I made a typo?

FYI I thought I'd let you know that I'm using a W7 recovery disk to access the RE and not the W7 OS disk.

This is the recovery disk Windows prompts you to prepare when you setup a new PC for the first time. Would this make any difference to the test results?

Thanks again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bcdedit cmd error.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	165.7 KB
ID:	123129  
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:42 PM   #13
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,906
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.



Hi,

Quote:
After entering the F parameter I got the following message

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Chkdsk may run if this volume is dismounted first.
ALL OPEN HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID.
Would you like to force a dismount of this volume? <Y/N>

Not sure what to do - should I choose the yes option?
Press Y.
__________________

jenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:26 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Hi jenae,
The chkdsk "f" completed.
I rebooted the laptop, the recovery program ran, the laptop did not boot into windows.
Thanks for your help so far
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:08 AM   #15
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Go back to the Windows 7 RE (Using the repair disk)
Go back to Command Prompt
type in

Code:
 
CHKDSK C: /R
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:12 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Hi,
No luck I'm afraid, still stuck in a startup repair loop and the laptop won't boot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	chkdsk r 1.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	239.7 KB
ID:	123191   Click image for larger version

Name:	chkdsk r 2.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	200.6 KB
ID:	123192  
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:21 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



bump.
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 03:19 AM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,668
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Download the ISO image for Seatools in my signature. Burn the image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. Boot off of the newly created CD in the troubled computer and run the Short and the Long tests on the drive. This may solve your problem, but if either test fails, the HDD needs to be Replaced.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:09 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Hi,

I ran SeaTools but it did not detect a HD, what does this message mean please?

The picture attached is the SeaTools log file from the command line using the W7 recovery disc.

Log direct from the SeaTools program :
Volume in drive C is TURBODSK
File not found
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SeaTools Result.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	123256   Click image for larger version

Name:	SeaTools Log.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	65.7 KB
ID:	123257  
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 12:10 PM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,668
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Download Drive Fitness from my signature. Burn with IMGBurn and boot off of that disc.

spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 08:33 PM
Computer 'stalling' frequently. Graphics card may have a problem, as well.
After solving a previous issue with my system where everything would completely freeze after about 5 minutes of the computer being on by going into MSConfig and unchecking all of the unnecessary automatic start-up programs... I've run into another, but less fatal issue. My computer has been...
FreakshowGamer Windows XP Support 10 07-25-2011 03:02 PM
Please help I think I may have spyware/malware/virus & possible keylogger?
Hi there My other half was using my laptop yesterday (just regular web surfing) nothing untoward and she called out to me and said you have 30 viruses on your computer do you want me to remove them. Me thinks say what so I come out and have a look and notice - what seem's to be a dodgy...
scottietwenty3 Resolved HJT Threads 50 06-22-2011 11:42 PM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts