Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, i just did a clean install of Windows 7 32-bit from a Windows 7 Upgrade disc. everything i read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2011, 05:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



Hi, i just did a clean install of Windows 7 32-bit from a Windows 7 Upgrade disc. everything i read in formus said i could do this even though i do not have the original Vista OS disc. Anyways I got the clean install but can not connect you the internet? troubleshooter says Windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter. if you have a network adapter, you will need to reinstall. i see no network adapter in devive manager? i also do not have this pc set up so i can get wireless. any suggestions?

__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 05:50 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,535
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


What brand and model of computer is it?

You need to go to the manufacturers' website and get the network drivers. You'll have to do this on another computer.

__________________
Daifne is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:02 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



also my network connection window has nothing? i know i have a network adaptor installed since i have it plugged in and have been using it for the last year or more.
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



it was a custom build
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



if i open it up will the card tell me the make on it?
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:05 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 Professional



I've had this problem during a fresh install as well thanks to the system overwriting some motherboard network drivers.
I had to download a VERY crude driver. Thankfully, a random intel network ethernet adapter driver worked and at least showed me what I had.

If you know the network adapter that you say you have plugged in and have been using, get the drivers for it. Shouldn't be too much of a problem if you know what they are.

Opening it up may. Or at least give you a manufacturer.
__________________
CoronaryCrawdad is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:05 PM   #7
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,739
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by ok2play View Post
if i open it up will the card tell me the make on it?

It should . .
Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:12 PM   #8
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,535
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


What does the Device Manager say about it? Right click on Computer and select Properties. On the left, you will see a link to the Device Manager. It should be the first one.
__________________
Daifne is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:20 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



guess not? my network adaptor is part of my Foxconn mother board.
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:22 PM   #10
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,535
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Then go to the motherboard manufacturers' website. They should have the drivers there. You will need the exact model of you motherboard.
__________________
Daifne is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:25 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



i have no network adapter in device manager. let me put cover back on and look again. just said somthing about ethernet with caution triangle under unknow devices. then i looked at update drivers and looked at list on my computer but theres a hundred 100+ no idea what one to try and install?
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:26 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



where can i find exact model of my mother board?
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:28 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



foxconn n15235. ok let me get it back up and search website.
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:30 PM   #14
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,535
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Did you get any documentation from the person who built your machine?

Otherwise, run CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting and look on the Motherboard tab.
__________________
Daifne is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:53 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



says foxconn model:661 7mj
Chipset: sis 661fx Rev 11
Southbrige:sis 964 Rev 36
LPCIO: ITE IT8712
Bios: Phoenix Technologies
Version:6.00 PG
Date: 4/24/2007
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 07:08 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



looking in some other forums this looks like a good idea. he said:Go intot he device manager and lead the Driver Wizard to the Windows.old folder and see if it can find drivers

i recall when doing install it said saving windows file to windos.old but how do i find from device manager?
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 08:36 PM   #17
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,605
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by ok2play View Post
says foxconn model:661 7mj
Chipset: sis 661fx Rev 11
Southbrige:sis 964 Rev 36
LPCIO: ITE IT8712
Bios: Phoenix Technologies
Version:6.00 PG
Date: 4/24/2007
mobo - Foxconn - Products: Motherboard - Socket 775 - 661FX7MJ-RS

Specs -
Code:
Processor: Intel® Pentium® D, Pentium® 4 processor, Socket T (LGA775) 
Chipset: SiS 661FX + 964 
Front Side Bus: 800 / 533 MHz 
Memory: Support Max. 2GB Single Channel 400MHz / 333MHz / 266MHz DDR x2 DIMMs 
VGA on Die: Integrated 
Expansion Slots: 1x AGP 8X, 3 x PCI slots 
IDE: 2 x ATA 133 
Serial ATA(SATA)/RAID: 2 x Serial ATA with RAID 0, 1, JBOD 
Audio: 5.1 channel, Realtek ALC653 (AC’97 interface) 
LAN: 10 / 100M LAN, Broadcom AC131KML 
Clicking "drivers" under "related links" takes me - Foxconn Support - Download

But it lists Intel on board NIC & no support for Windows 7 -
Code:
Version: 1.16.00.00      Updated: 04/26/06 
O/S Support: Windows 98, Windows XP 32, Windows Server 2003, Windows XP 64  
Description: Intel on board LAN driver for 32 bit. 
Look in windows.old - \windows\system32\drivers

Broadcom drivers usually begin with letter B or K -

http://sysnative.com/0x1/DriverReference.html#B
http://sysnative.com/0x1/DriverReference.html#K

Intel - usually letter E - http://sysnative.com/0x1/DriverReference.html#E

You should run Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...pgrade-advisor

I don't know the reason for the Broadcom/ Intel discrepancy.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 12:07 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



wow, you rock!!! i just spent 5 hours going through forums with no luck. thank you very much!!!!
__________________
ok2play is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 12:17 AM   #19
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,605
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Thank you . . . but what was the outcome, if I may ask? :)

Intel or Broadcom?

Did you find the drivers in Windows.old folder?

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 07:49 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 16
OS: windows 7 32-bit



Intel. once you gave me the correct foxconn website i for some reason cound not find? i just downloaded: 661FX7MJ-RS ( Submitted: 04/26/06 | Download: 3523 Times ) Motherboards : Socket 775 : Motherboards Drivers : On-Board LAN Drivers

I have no C;/Windows.old since i did a clean install but had these driver problem went back and did a second clean install and formated and then deleted all partitions. reason why i'm havingmy next isure is i did the clean insatall with Windows 7 home premium UPGRADE media. so seeing as how you are microsft maybe you could help me gey my key activated? do i need call and get a new one assigned?

__________________
ok2play is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless lan adapter - "Media disconnected" [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
Dear All, I kindly need your support to understand what kind of trouble I'm into. I am not able to connect wifi network on my new HP Probook 4320s (with 802.11 b/g/n standards), running Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit. I found many thread on this forums..applied still and not solved.. I'm using...
sirpavel Networking Support 4 06-14-2011 12:06 PM
New browser tabs opening and directing to attack sites.
Hi there, I'm not sure how I did this, but I've infected my computer with trojans / malware. I ran updated and ran both AVG and then Malwarebytes and they each found and succesfully cleaned some trojan infections. But they didn't fix everything. When I google something and click on a link, I...
malleusmalefic Inactive Malware Help Topics 10 03-19-2011 04:38 AM
DirectX Error [moved from Vista/7]
I've been told to run dxdiag, but when I do it says Error: Could not load dxdiagn.dll I've also downloaded DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer. However, when I attempt to install direct x, this appears: An internal system error occured. Please refer to DXerror.log and DirectX.log in...
eiliant BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-07-2011 01:29 AM
I cannot download files like QuiikTime, iTunes, Norton, etc
UNLESS SPECIFICALLY INSTRUCTED, DO NOT POST THIS LOG. IF REQUESTED, ZIP IT UP & ATTACH IT DDS (Ver_10-12-12.02) Microsoft Windows XP Professional Boot Device: \Device\HarddiskVolume2 Install Date: 12/24/2010 5:34:32 PM System Uptime: 1/25/2011 10:07:58 AM (1 hours ago) Motherboard: Intel...
kagyen Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 02-01-2011 11:19 AM
Random popups and site redirecting virus
Hello, I'm new to the forum and my problem is that I'm being redirected to unwanted sites like Tazinga or Binkx. I'm running Windows XP and my laptop is about 7 years old. Any help would be great! Here are the Hijack specc UNLESS SPECIFICALLY INSTRUCTED, DO NOT POST THIS LOG. IF REQUESTED,...
Hexamus Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 01-11-2011 07:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts