Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] windows 7 'not genuine'; post gParted partition resize.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] windows 7 'not genuine'; post gParted partition resize. within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi! Where to start... I have a 500gb HDD that was in 2 partitions, 1 was xp, and i made


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2010, 08:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
OS: windows 7



Hi!
Where to start...
I have a 500gb HDD that was in 2 partitions, 1 was xp, and i made a 100gb one to try out win7 on. I never went back to xp, and decided to resize the partitions.

Using gParted, and this tutorial:
(http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...sta-partition/)
I resized the xp partition to 55gb and gave the remainder to win7.
In the tutorial, a step is described as a common error, where upon boot of win7 you get an error and have to repair using an installation disk (which i assuing is because the partitions drive letter is changed, my win7 went from E: to D:)

This seemed to go ok, and my HDD passed the HDD test as described in the tutorial.
When presented with the login screen, details went in fine, but upon loginin in i was told windows was "preparing my desktop," maybe it said prefrences...

Anyway, my desktop now looks like this!
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/1001/win7problem.png

Had to task manager my way here, and am sitting scratching my head...
Any ideas?
Thanks!

Mark.

__________________
theelous3 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:16 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,751
OS: Windows 98se/2000/XP/Vista/7/8 Pro/Linux(various)



Hi theelous3

Quick-fix try: if you haven't yet rebooted, do so -- if possible, with a live connection to the Internet.

See if that does it (it should re-validate automatically in the background)
Best of luck
. . . Gary

__________________
OldGrayGary is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
OS: windows 7



Hi Gary, Im just back from a reboot.
Same thing.

New bit of info though!
When I go to advanced startup options for the win7 install, "repair" is an option at the top. When I choose it, I am presented with that same error:
http://www.howtogeek.com/wp-content/...08/image48.png

It's as if I hadn't done it at all.
When I went to safe mode, pretty much the same story. Prepared my "desktop" and gave me nothing but a blank safe mode backround, leaving me to try and taskmanager around again.

Going to try system restore from cmd.

Thanks again.
__________________
theelous3 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:39 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,751
OS: Windows 98se/2000/XP/Vista/7/8 Pro/Linux(various)



Hi again


Here's another quick-fix for systems that get a blank-screen after the partition work (I'll assume that CheckDisk ran after your first restart after the resize, right?)

(This fix was reported by jason-g on the social.microsoft.com forums)

Hit control-shift-esc to start Task Manager and run regedit
Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\MountedDevices
Right click on 'MountedDevices'
choose Export
Save to c:\
Select all the data inside on the right hand pane except the first one
Right click and choose Delete
Reboot

[Do not delete the key itself!]

The data in the key will automatically regenerate.

Best of luck
. . . Gary
__________________
OldGrayGary is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
OS: windows 7



I'm getting a "the device is not ready" error when I try to run regedit, same thing for rstrui.exe (system restore)
Going to try it in safe mode.
PS: when I ran rstrui.exe in safe mode, I was told that system restore was turned off...
So sick of seeing the mobo logo screen! lol

Thanks again Gary, will update in a min.
__________________
theelous3 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 09:08 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
OS: windows 7



Nah, no dice :-(
I was quite hopefull with that one :-P
Anything else in your bag of tricks?

Best go to sleep, 4am...
Which reminds me, if you're bored: http://www.ted.com/talks/rives_on_4_a_m.html

All the best,
Mark.
__________________
theelous3 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 09:38 PM   #7
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,751
OS: Windows 98se/2000/XP/Vista/7/8 Pro/Linux(various)



Hi again


Hmm. I didn't expect the "device not ready" message. Tell you what -- if Windows 7 didn't automatically run chkdsk yet, see if starting a run of it manually helps. Try pressing F8 at startup to get to the Safe Mode menu, but select Repair My Computer, and then Command Prompt, and then enter chkdsk /r for the partition you wish to check.

See if that helps
. . . Gary


late note --- if you want, you can try the Registry edit in Safe Mode, too.
__________________
OldGrayGary is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 08:08 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
OS: windows 7



It already automaticaly ran chkdsk for both C: and D:
I did that reg fix in safe mode, to which i said "no dice."

Looks like I'm going to have to re-install.
Need to get to work! :-P

Going out for a bit first, so if any more fixes come along by all means post em and I'll try em. I'll update the thread if it works, or if I'm reinstalling so you can close this sucker down.

Thanks again Gary.

Mark.
__________________
theelous3 is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 12:48 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
OS: windows 7



As no new info came in, I have reinstalled.
Close thread at your discression.

Thanks,
Mark.
__________________
theelous3 is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:26 PM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,751
OS: Windows 98se/2000/XP/Vista/7/8 Pro/Linux(various)



Hi Mark


Glad that your reinstall went OK. Sorry that the quick-fixes didn't save you from the extra work. If I come across a solution that works for a larger portion of systems with that symptom, I'll add a post here. So far, for the blank-screen systems, the Registry edit and reinstalling do seem to be the most common.

Never a dull moment with computers!
. . . Gary
__________________
OldGrayGary is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 01:03 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
i MaRk i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere isolated from society...
Posts: 1,278
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1 (More in "My System")

My System


ya, Regedit is what i had to do to change drive letters.

You could also try to use "diskpart" through cmd on the cd, but the process is long and complicated, because it uses the drive letters seen from a different point of view (i think it would be 7s in your case) because XP's drive is C: (to its own self) and is D: from 7s POV (point of view)......

you just have to really know what you are doing for the diskpart method to work.

and sadly, i can't find out how to edit the registry offline unless you install another Windows OS....

Just to explain how this (usually) happens is that when you have two partitions (w/ OSs) and you want to get rid of the one on the first partitons (ie- Vista) and keep the one on the second partition (ie- Win.7) Here is a diagram:

-Drive 0, Partition 1:
Windows Vista

-Drive 0, Partition 2
Windows 7

Well to each OS, its self is "C:", So Win.7 (somewhere very deep in the core) is "thinking like this:

-0,1 (Drive 0, Partition 1) is D:
-0,2 (Drive 0, Partition 2) is me, C:

So, when Vista is deleted Windows 7 is now 0,1 Meaning, that since 7 "thinks" 0,1 is D: it marks itself as D: Windows core loads up fine, but since some other essential programs start to use drive letters instead of "drive, partition" format. Well now these programs are looking for C: when the programs (and your copy of 7 is on "D:") these programs can't find other files. Then the big killer comes in, WGA (Windows Genuine Advantage) starts to make sure the copy of Windows is legal by looking at files and making sure that things are in the right spot, but it can't..... the right spot is C:..... But there is no C:.

At least i thinks thats what happens

__________________
Is your PC running slow?.............MSE_(Microsoft Security Essentials).............Repairing Windows Vista/7 Boot.............BSOD Posting Instructions
This message is composed of 100% recycled sub-atomic particles. No trees were harmed in the posting of this message. However, billions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.
i MaRk i is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts