Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support

[SOLVED] Windows 7 NIC shuts off randomly

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows 7 NIC shuts off randomly within the Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I'm sitting in the Windows 7 RC x64 and out of no where, my computer reads no network access


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2009, 10:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, ArchLinux x86_64

My System


So I'm sitting in the Windows 7 RC x64 and out of no where, my computer reads no network access and stops every type of network-based thing I was doing. The only way to get network access back is to go into Device Manager and find the device and Disable/Enable it.

I'm using on board ethernet on my "EVGA 780i" and using nVidia's latest drivers.

Suggestions?

__________________
SquidLord is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:38 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 3,805
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

I've had so many problems with my 790i Ultra... Most likely related.

My problems happened in Vista, so it's not just a Windows 7 problem. I forget how I got around it, to be completely honest. I believe I uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers.

__________________
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:47 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



If you go to device manager > right click on it > Properties > power management tab > are any of the things checkmarked
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 02:05 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, ArchLinux x86_64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by ShIzNiT1707 View Post
I've had so many problems with my 790i Ultra... Most likely related.

My problems happened in Vista, so it's not just a Windows 7 problem. I forget how I got around it, to be completely honest. I believe I uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers.
I've never had any problems in Vista with this board; now after installing nVidia's, crap hit the fan. It ran better with the standard drivers Win7 gave it, lol.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tosh9i View Post
If you go to device manager > right click on it > Properties > power management tab > are any of the things checkmarked
Two things are checked:
1) Allow the computer to turn this device off to save power.
2) Allow this device to wake the computer.

After looking at that, I want to assume it's #1 that's causing this. Though, it makes no sense considering it happens while it's in use.
__________________
SquidLord is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 02:12 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



Well, uncheck it and see what happens.
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 02:42 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 3,805
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquidLord View Post
Two things are checked:
1) Allow the computer to turn this device off to save power.
2) Allow this device to wake the computer.

After looking at that, I want to assume it's #1 that's causing this. Though, it makes no sense considering it happens while it's in use.
Neither of those should effect the operation of the NIC. Look in the Device Manager (right-click Computer>Manage>Device Manager) and look for Network adapters. Are there any exclamation symbols? If so, what for?

The problem is nVidia's networking controller driver for the 790i. Try uninstalling the nVidia drivers completely and see if the networking controller works then.
__________________
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 03:55 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, ArchLinux x86_64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by ShIzNiT1707 View Post
Neither of those should effect the operation of the NIC. Look in the Device Manager (right-click Computer>Manage>Device Manager) and look for Network adapters. Are there any exclamation symbols? If so, what for?

The problem is nVidia's networking controller driver for the 790i. Try uninstalling the nVidia drivers completely and see if the networking controller works then.
No exclamations, it's the only enabled networking device [as suggested for another issue with the networking icon not updating....didn't work, but hey...]

I think we have a mis-reading on our hands atm, I have the 780i, not the 790i, lol. I do understand what you're saying though. Since I've never really had to uninstall a driver before, I should do.....what exactly to accomplish this?
__________________
SquidLord is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 04:06 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 3,805
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

To uninstall the driver, go back to the Device Manager and right-click the driver that you want to uninstall, and click...uninstall. And yes, I did think you had the 790i. Thanks for correcting me; that could have been bad :)
__________________
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 04:45 PM   #9
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,368
OS: Windows 8.1, 8 ,7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Download the zip file, extract the batch script file to desktop. RIGHT-click on the batch script icon, select "Run as Administrator"

http://www.techsupportforum.com/atta...jcgriff2__.zip

2 notepads will open - zip them up and attach to your next post.

Please be sure you are connected to the Internet before running the batch script.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 05:18 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post
Hi -

Download the zip file, extract the batch script file to desktop. RIGHT-click on the batch script icon, select "Run as Administrator"

http://www.techsupportforum.com/atta...jcgriff2__.zip

2 notepads will open - zip them up and attach to your next post.

Please be sure you are connected to the Internet before running the batch script.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
Aren't you going to tell them what's inside of the zip? As far as anyone knows, it could be a virus. lol
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 07:04 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, ArchLinux x86_64

My System


lol, I think I'd like to know what's in it before I run it.
__________________
SquidLord is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 08:32 PM   #12
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,368
OS: Windows 8.1, 8 ,7 + Windbg :)



You can open a zip file w/o fear - especially one that is downloaded from this forum with my name on it. Several others this afternoon downloaded and ran the same file and hundreds ++ before that.

Inside you will find commands that will produce 2 notepads containing information which will hopefully help me +/or others solve this problem for you.

The choice is yours.

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 08:50 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, ArchLinux x86_64

My System


ok, here it is
Attached Files
File Type: zip netsh.zip (1.7 KB, 25 views)
__________________
SquidLord is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 05:45 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
roast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 157
OS: Windows 7 x64 7600, and Windows (notsotiny) 7 7600 x86 and x64 - Across 3 machines.

My System

Send a message via MSN to roast Send a message via Yahoo to roast

Theres a particular problem with the Networking drivers supplied by nVidia for Windows 7.
If you disable "Receive Side Scaling" in the device properties (device manager, properties of device, advanced tab) then this should resolve the problem.

Please post back and let us know if this works.

Thanks,
Mick.
__________________
roast is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 06:49 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 Build 7232



You sure you don't have an early build of Win 7 that promises to shut down every 2 hours?

-Mrvegas
__________________
MrVegas is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 07:13 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
roast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 157
OS: Windows 7 x64 7600, and Windows (notsotiny) 7 7600 x86 and x64 - Across 3 machines.

My System

Send a message via MSN to roast Send a message via Yahoo to roast

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVegas View Post
You sure you don't have an early build of Win 7 that promises to shut down every 2 hours?

-Mrvegas
In this case though, the NIC is shutting down, not the whole computer.

-Mick.
__________________
roast is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 07:49 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 Build 7232



Quote:
Originally Posted by roast View Post
In this case though, the NIC is shutting down, not the whole computer.

-Mick.
What network specific utilities are you running? Skype, Yahoo Instant Messenger, AIM, MapleStory, what?

When was the last time you run Malwarebytes on your computer?

-MrVegas
__________________
MrVegas is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 11:14 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 88
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, ArchLinux x86_64

My System


Ok, it's disabled. Now we wait.

The utilities I'm using are MSN, Steam, WoW, Dropbox, uTorrent, other online games, and the web browser. I've also never run Malwarebytes.
__________________
SquidLord is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:32 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
roast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 157
OS: Windows 7 x64 7600, and Windows (notsotiny) 7 7600 x86 and x64 - Across 3 machines.

My System

Send a message via MSN to roast Send a message via Yahoo to roast

Is this issue resolved?

-Mick.
__________________
roast is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:51 AM   #20
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,368
OS: Windows 8.1, 8 ,7 + Windbg :)



The files show that DHCP is not active and the LAN Wired Auto-config (dot3svc) is not running.

What is the Windows 7 build number (7000, 7100, etc...)?

jcgriff2

.

jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts